We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveler rating
488
304
134
38
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
488
304
134
38
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diving board lake view elegant hotel old world charm five star hotel public rooms indoor pool junior suite lakeside room rowing boat bled castle reception staff fabulous location hotel guests bled cream cake half board buffet breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 978 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019

The location is excellent - the best location on Lake Bled. We had a lake view room and the view was hard to beat. There is only a footpath between the hotel and the lake, with the main road running behind the hotel. The shops and the bus station are a short walk away.
All the staff were excellent, quite simply they could not have been better. Our room was a good size with plenty of furniture and storage. We did use the air conditioning - no problem.
The breakfast was excellent - lots to choose from.
We thought that the hotel gave the appearance of character and quality - some people may prefer modern - which was fine for us.

Room tip: Lake view costs more but worth it
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busylizzieEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlemenKrusec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear busylizzieEastbourne,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind words are highly appreciated, especially your recognition towards our team. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hotel Toplice, for another memorable experience.

Best regards,

Klemen Krušec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

This is our second visit to this hotel and restaurant, it has absolutely magnificent view of lake Bled. Must come here. If you come to Slovenia, visit to lake Nled is a must and is not complete without having food or drinks at this hotel. Absolutely super feelings. Eat what you want but the view and ambience is great.
We did not book any rooms. We came to enjoy super grand view of lake and ambience.

Room tip: EST view in lake Bled for sure.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nikhilshah04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlemenKrusec, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nikhilshah04,

It is always a great pleasure to read a review with 5* and even more so a review of a returning guest. We are truly grateful for your kind and generous feedback and are happy to hear that the hotel and the Restaurant Julijana again impressed you and lived up to your expectations.

Saying that, please allow me to point out a specific culinary product we are offering at the hotel which is considered a very unique experience and might interest you for your future visit.
It is called the Chef’s table and it gives you the possibility to interact with our head chef Simon in his kitchen where he prepares a very special 6-course, menu of his own choice and offers a very thorough and immersive experience in a 5* kitchen. The menu is complimented with excellent wines chosen by our sommelier. Upfront bookings are mandatory.

Looking forward to your next arrival.

Best regards,

Klemen Krušec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

BevanMelb is right - except at least he was offered a different room when the air conditioning was not working. I stayed in the hotel as part of a tour group, and we were just told that the air conditioning did not work in all the rooms on that side of the building, almost with a shrug. One of our party paid to upgrade to a lake view room and was then kept awake for much of the night by a wedding party downstairs. I was allocated a single room which was small, particularly the wardrobe - it had just 3 coat hangers, and that's all there was room for. Weirdly, the quilt was smaller than the bed. As others have noted, the place is outdated and verging on shabby, Breakfast was ok, but there was no bacon and the scrambled eggs were sub par. The whole impression is of a place that just doesn't care about the guests, and is trying to get by on past grandeur and its (admittedly wonderful) location.

Room tip: Make sure the air conditioning is working and there are no evening functions planned before you accept a room.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank susanlilian2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

We experienced two rooms at this hotel, the first was the basic room type that was very small, right on top of the road with dark, brown, very old-fashioned decor. Horrible. When the air-conditioning was not working they offered to upgrade us to the only room left available which was the Lake View Suite. The decor was very similar, but with lots of windows facing the lake and a big balcony it felt brighter and more bearable - but for a suite it was still in very poor condition, with the fabric on the lounge not matching from one side to the other.... It feels like there is no care.

Having said that, the rooms were both very clean and the beds whilst firm, were comfortable. The location is also quite good if you want to be close to town - the lake is easy to walk around in about 90 minutes, so there is no problem with staying anywhere....

The breakfast was also not great - the selection was pretty poor and the buffet not very well maintained.

Service was generally professional, but not always friendly.

We wouldn’t go back, despite the fact that they handled our air-conditioning issue extremely well.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BevanMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Excellent Hotel. Perfect location. Right on Lake Bled. Unbelievable view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and many choices. Service was good and prompt. Would definitely return!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMC22DMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews