We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh my god!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
1 review
“oh my god!”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My partner and i went to lake bled to get married and we stayed at the hotel toplice.It was truly magical from start to finish.The wedding was everything and more than we had hoped for. Lake bled was winterwonderland, the hotel was beautiful,the staff were great,they couldnt do enough for us.I have not got a single complaint. My husband and i cant wait to go back on our first anniversary and wouldnt stay anywhere else other than Hotel Toplice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylounorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    230
    96
    25
    8
See reviews for
128
397
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

When it comes to accommodation, the Grand Hotel Toplice is the undisputed gem of Lake Bled. Albeit a bit pricey, its location can't be beat--the hotel rests firmly on the lakeshore opposite the imposing Bled Castle. Panoramic views abound and most major restaurants and attractions are within walking distance.

We were duly impressed by the breakfast buffet included in the price of our room. It offered unlimited fruit, pastries, pancakes (European style--think "French crepes"), cooked-to-order egg dishes, and more. A great way to start the morning.

The staff was accommodating, though a bit grudgingly at times. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a lakeview suite upon arrival, which we most appreciated (we had booked a standard lakeview room).

The decor was pleasant, our room was quiet, and our ensuite bathroom featured every amenity possible. One of the bulbs did burn out in our bedroom, however, and it seemed to take an act of Congress to get it changed. We never did manage to get it replaced during our stay after repeated requests.

Parking was a nightmare--very tight spaces on a busy road. If you weren't fortunate enough to secure a spot close to the hotel, you could end up walking quite a distance down a very narrow street.

The property's spa was average, but we enjoyed our visit. All in all, we had a pleasant 5-day stay. After seeing some of the other hotels, their decor and locations, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelitis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The hotel setting is beautiful and convenient, the best in Bled. The view from our lakeside room across to the castle was magical. The room was fine but not as large as we hoped. We discovered that some were much larger. But it had everything we wanted with a very smart bathroom. We turned down a suite because we preferred one larger room to two smaller ones. The hotel is traditional and comfortable. Food was always enjoyable. Service was very good and If we asked for information about anything it was given in a helpful way. Staff tended to be quiet and unobtrusive. Sometimes it would have been useful to have been given more information, e.g. There is no breakfast menu, but breakfasts are cooked to order when requested. We might not have known this if we had not seen bacon and egg being served to people. Wine is quite expensive, but the house wine is cheaper coming in two or three glass caraffes.

We can well understand why people keep returning to the hotel and to Bled itself, especially if your idea of a great holiday is comfort, peace and wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JofNinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We have just spent a wonderful week at the Grand Hotel Toplice in Bled.
Our lakeside room was excellent with comfortable adjustable beds and air conditioning. The only critcism was the shower, which was a spray attached to the bath taps and usually sprayed all over the floor.
The staff were extremely courteous and friendly and very helpful. It does help to attempt a please and thank you in Slovenian.
The food was wonderful with a good choice, and plenty of fruit and vegetables. The only criticism here would be the breakfast coffee which could have been hotter.
We particularly enjoyed the pianist playing every night at dinner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prune68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Location on the lake can't be bettered but 5 star it isn't. Service can be surly and some staff either poorly trained or couldn't care a less. If you book on a discounted website the chances are you will get a room at the back, overlooking the road - not the lake. Mattresses in non lake side rooms are thin foam over an upholstered base and haven't been changed since the hotel's last renovation in 2002. Lake side rooms, which carry a supplement have mattresses that can be adjsted to make them harder or softer. Conferences and wedding parties can monopolise the hotel. There is no outdoor pool but a cordoned off section in the lake, and a lovely sundeck with beds and umbrellas. The indoor pool is icy cold and filled with mineral water from nearby springs., very stimulating and skin softening. Saunas are mixed and guests requested to remove all clothes and given a large sheet for modesty. Lots of treatments on offer. An old-fashioned, old school hotel that attracts older people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Toplice in the last week in August 09 leaving on the 29th.

The hotel is located in the best position on the lake and takes in the best views which are without doubt its main attraction. The hotel is rated as 5 star however I would rate it more as a 4 star hotel. The interior of the hotel public rooms are well finished and reflect a bygone era.

We stayed in a suite with a lake view. The view from the room was outstanding and will stay with us for a long time to come. The hotel was quiet and whereas the suite we stayed in (412) was opposite the lift there was no noise. The furniture in the bedroom was a little tired but more than adequate. The double bed was two singles which had automatic air pumps so that you could adjust the firmness of the mattress which is a plus if you are fussy about how firm or soft you want your bed to be.

The breakfast in the hotel was good and there was a wide variety of options to choose from. We were half board and for the evening meals we had a choice of five different courses and were never stuck for choice. The food quality I would rate as good rather than excellent although there was nothing that I could complain about. Drinks in the bar are expensive as is wine and we were charged for jugs of tap water with our evening meal at 2.5 Euros a jug which is not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

The lido area outside the hotel is has sun lounging facilities and an area segregated for swimming. The water temperature in the week we were staying was a very comfortable 26 deg C. Also attached to the lido are a number of rowing boats which are free to residents for up to an hour a day which we enjoyed and used to visit the church on the island. A nice touch was that in the afternoon the hotel sent out baskets of fresh fruit for the residents on the lido.

We did not have explained to us where the facilities were and where dinner would be held etc. but when we asked for assistance this was always provided. The staff were courteous and polite but did not provide help or assistance unless this was asked for. I think this is more a cultural difference rather than any criticism of the staff.

The hotel is close to the centre of bled (less than 3 minutes walk) and we did get some noise on the Friday and Saturday nights from other facilities but this had died down before 10.00.

The hotel has a small fitness area which has a three machines (but no rowing machine). it aslo has a steam room and two saunas.

The hotel is part of a chain of hotels which include the Golf and the Park Hotels in Bled.

I would recommend this hotel without any reservation but it is more of a 4 star than a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandali82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Couple, 30s. Hotel is old world style, which is lovely. A lot of unused rooms near the main foyer, leave a feeling that hotel hasn't yet decided how to embrace a new era. Rooms are fantastic, well styled and realy comfortable. You definitely need to ask for a lake view though to avoid dissapointment. Very central location, 3 minutes walk from main hub. Only small complaints and these are tiny - breakfast variety and quality isn't in keeping with a 5 star hotel. Also spa treatments; while a big range on offer are more functional than relaxing, with attention to detail lacking, as a result they are slightly over priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shouldtravelmore-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing