We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic lake views of Lake Bled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic lake views of Lake Bled”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Toplice in the last week in August 09 leaving on the 29th.

The hotel is located in the best position on the lake and takes in the best views which are without doubt its main attraction. The hotel is rated as 5 star however I would rate it more as a 4 star hotel. The interior of the hotel public rooms are well finished and reflect a bygone era.

We stayed in a suite with a lake view. The view from the room was outstanding and will stay with us for a long time to come. The hotel was quiet and whereas the suite we stayed in (412) was opposite the lift there was no noise. The furniture in the bedroom was a little tired but more than adequate. The double bed was two singles which had automatic air pumps so that you could adjust the firmness of the mattress which is a plus if you are fussy about how firm or soft you want your bed to be.

The breakfast in the hotel was good and there was a wide variety of options to choose from. We were half board and for the evening meals we had a choice of five different courses and were never stuck for choice. The food quality I would rate as good rather than excellent although there was nothing that I could complain about. Drinks in the bar are expensive as is wine and we were charged for jugs of tap water with our evening meal at 2.5 Euros a jug which is not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

The lido area outside the hotel is has sun lounging facilities and an area segregated for swimming. The water temperature in the week we were staying was a very comfortable 26 deg C. Also attached to the lido are a number of rowing boats which are free to residents for up to an hour a day which we enjoyed and used to visit the church on the island. A nice touch was that in the afternoon the hotel sent out baskets of fresh fruit for the residents on the lido.

We did not have explained to us where the facilities were and where dinner would be held etc. but when we asked for assistance this was always provided. The staff were courteous and polite but did not provide help or assistance unless this was asked for. I think this is more a cultural difference rather than any criticism of the staff.

The hotel is close to the centre of bled (less than 3 minutes walk) and we did get some noise on the Friday and Saturday nights from other facilities but this had died down before 10.00.

The hotel has a small fitness area which has a three machines (but no rowing machine). it aslo has a steam room and two saunas.

The hotel is part of a chain of hotels which include the Golf and the Park Hotels in Bled.

I would recommend this hotel without any reservation but it is more of a 4 star than a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandali82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    231
    96
    25
    8
See reviews for
128
398
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Couple, 30s. Hotel is old world style, which is lovely. A lot of unused rooms near the main foyer, leave a feeling that hotel hasn't yet decided how to embrace a new era. Rooms are fantastic, well styled and realy comfortable. You definitely need to ask for a lake view though to avoid dissapointment. Very central location, 3 minutes walk from main hub. Only small complaints and these are tiny - breakfast variety and quality isn't in keeping with a 5 star hotel. Also spa treatments; while a big range on offer are more functional than relaxing, with attention to detail lacking, as a result they are slightly over priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shouldtravelmore-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our two-night stay here. We booked one of the rooms with a lake view and balcony, and didn't regret it. What a joy to wake up to that glorious view, and relax on the balcony enjoying it. We had a two-room suite for my husband, myself, and our teenage daughters, and it worked well. The room was comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent. Just a couple of minor issues -- we had lunch in the hotel restaurant (Panorama) twice, and the service was extremely slow. It seems that they have big tour groups in to eat their cream cakes, and the groups are served much more quickly than hotel guests. The waiter actually forgot my daughter's entree, and I had to search him out to remind him to bring it. Also, there was an issue over the very limited parking. We were assigned a parking spot when we arrived, but the bellhop neglected to write our room number on the paper records they keep. As a result, when we returned from dinner that night, they refused to give us back our spot and we had to move a parking pylon at the very end of the lot to park our car.
However, other than these small issues we were pleased with our stay, and would return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I cannot even begin to wonder what it was that Manchester SB experienced at this hotel.

My mother - now well into her late 90s - first stayed at this hotel in 1962. She and I stayed there in the summers of 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, and 1981; in spring 1994, 1996, and 2009; for Christmas/New Year 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 - and we're booked again for Christmas/New Year 2009. Would we have used this hotel so often if it were anywhere near as bad as Manchester SB describes it? I think not.

The staff are friendly, helpful, painstaking and hard-working. There is a good variety of food, beginning the day with an ample buffet breakfast supplemented by individually cooked hot dishes. And despite what Manchester SB says there IS gourmet food available a la carte in the Juliana Restaurant.

If I have one criticism of the hotel it is, perhaps, that the manager is not quite as much in evidence as she might be but then she cannot be available 24/7.

A great hotel with excellent accommodation, excellent staff from a friendly nation, and always luring us back. We travel over 900 miles each way by car to be there. I think that may say a lot.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterSB
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Much is good about this hotel, from the superb views to the stylish lounges and very good leisure facilities but it is severely over rated. Where it really matters with service and food, it is no more than average. Food is certainly aimed at the package tour market rather than the gourmet! Service is rather hit and miss, particularly in the restaurant where a good head waiter is needed and in reception where Central European attitudes of being uncooperative prevail. Rooms can be very small and showers are more the norm than baths. Housekeeing is acceptable, no more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Friendly staff, excellent food. We had a lakeside suite, which was absolutely fabulous. This is a genuinely lovely, slow-paced town, and it's well worth spending some time here. The lake is beautiful, and every time we looked we seemed to see something new. I would recommend Grand Hotel Toplice and Lake Bled to everyone. I wish I knew about this place when I got married!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishcouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Having just moved from a disasterous 5* hotel in Piran/Portoroz we were very wary of what to expect here. Our fears were totally unfounded. This is a real gem. Great rooms great food great location, great staff....there was nothing negative. My faith in Slovenian hotels has been restored..
Located right on the edge of the lake there is no better place to be. It was a great 7 days.
We were b & b so we dined out every night and never had a bad experience. All the local restaurants are fantastic and the people so nice and helpful.
We travelled with a company called Holiday Options who were exceptionally good. They offered a night out to a local farm to taste the local food and shnapps tasting. DONT MISS IT. This farm actually produced all we had to eat and drink. It is a small family farm (about 12 cows and 3 pigs) and the wife talked us through how everything was made. A great evening out and yes we bout some shnapps as will you if you go..
We also went to the capital for a day ang a day to the other lak Bohinj.
The Hotel seems to cater a lot for weddings especially from Ireland. Dont let this put you off as there was plenty of room for everyone and it is a classy place...no drunks etc etc. to spoil yopur enjoyment. I would love to go back again and again. I can not speak highly enough of the Toplice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing