We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with early 20th Century charm, great food and lovely surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A hotel with early 20th Century charm, great food and lovely surroundings”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We travelled to Slovenia with a tour group and stayed there for 2 nights in mid-May. The room we stayed in was a lake view room but more like a suite, as it's quite roomy, it had a retro luxury feel and was also quite cosy. When you looked out the window then you saw Bled Lake, Castle and Island, so my partner was able to take night shots of the Castle from the balcony. We had buffet breakfast and 3-course set dinner at the hotel, the food was simple but absolutely delicious, the trout, the sea bass, the salad bar, the roasted vegetables, Pastrami (can be extremely hard to stop eating) , pickles (the best pickles we ever had, it tasted so fresh without additives) and the great dark cholcolate mousse!!! In the mornig, we took a walk along the lake and on our way back to the hotel, we found the cafe that has been famous for its original Bled cream cake! Of course we tried it and loved it!!! Because of Grand HotelToplice, we had a great overall impression of Slovenia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile_CC_CHIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    235
    100
    28
    8
See reviews for
134
409
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

While we enjoyed what was probably their best room - top floor, middle balcony, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and a sitting area, and the views of the lake could not have been better, we were disappointed. This is not 5 star accommodation compared to anywhere else we have travelled. The hotel is old and worn, service is variable and on the gruff side although they say they will do anything to help. There was one AC unit in our suite and it kept one bedroom and the living area cool while the second bedroom remained uncomfortably warm. Breakfast was just "there" compared to the other places we have stayed this week in Slovenia. We loved the rowing on the lake, enjoyed walking around the lake, found the area peaceful and serene. Will probably not return to this hotel though unless there are some major renovations to the facility and the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Toplice.
I regret if your stay hasn't met your expectations. We are not planning a major refurbishment of the hotel shortly (many guests like the hotel's old charm) but on the other hand I can assure you that we will pay more attention to our services.

On the other hand, I am pleased that you enjoyed in activities in Lake Bled and still kindly invite you to visit us again.
Sincerely yours,

SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Super location, old world charm, lovely balcony provides super views of the lake and the snow capped mountains.
For Bridge card game addicts, there is a "bridge Room'.
Delicious room service for a late nite dinner and a very good breakfast lay out.
Well equipped sauna and spa facilities

Room Tip: Do take the boat trip to the Church on the island centre of the lake, and the trek up to the Bled ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPHazarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It is true that this hotel has been around the block a few times. However, we believe that the charm and character of the Grand Hotel Toplice make up for any other shortcomings. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous, especially the front desk. The common areas, particularly the lounge, were a bit dated but truly elegant. To the extent breakfast is important to some, the breakfast was very good. Sitting in the main lounge, ordering a glass of wine and hearing from the waiter (Miran?) that he has worked there for 40 years and waited on celebrities and dignitaries from all over the world is what travel is all about. We did not have a view of the lake from our room, but it did not matter. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We loved our stay at the Grand Hotel Toplice.

Room Tip: If you don't or can't get a lake view room, the non-view rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the lake and benefits from fantastic views of the lake. Staff were friendly and helpful and check- in was smooth and fast. Our room was clean and well- appointed with tea and coffee, robes and slippers. Spacious room with comfy beds and good bathroom.

Breakfast was great with plenty if choice and got and cold options. All in all a great hotel, but be warned the pool is cold!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I cannot stress how disappointed I was in our stay at the Grand Hotel Toplice. My wife and I choose to spend a little more for the 5 star hotel on the lake and we wasted our money. The hotel is old and tired. The views from the restaurant and lounge are spectacular, but if you are on a mountainside room, you have no view, just a noisy road.

Instead of a relaxing few nights on the lake, we had to deal with incessant car noise echoing through our room that was so hot we had to have our doors open (no a/c on the mountain side). To add insult to injury, housekeeping started prior to 8am and spoke loudly in the halls... So much for rest.

On the positive side, the location is fabulous and the breakfast is generous. There are many options in Bled and I would certainly recommend you try a different accommodation. If you insist on staying at the Grand Hotel Toplice, insist on a lakeside room. As for me, I will never ever consider staying at this hotel again and would severely question whether to book with the chain. So disappointed...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4BiznFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Grand Hotel Toplice, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review; I regret if your stay hasn't met your expectations. However, I am pleased that you liked the location and breakfast. I apologize about the noise caused by the housekeeping staff – it shouldn't have happened. I will discuss this issue with the staff personally.

As far as the mountainside rooms are concerned, yes, there is a difference between them and the rooms facing the lake, therefore we offer different prices for them. Still, besides the location of the rooms all other services are the same. But view from the lakeside room is different, of course.
I still hope to be able to welcome you again and remain

Sincerely yours,
Sava Hotels Bled, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I first stayed in the Grand hotel de Bled in 2002 and I truly loved it! I recently went back and nothing had changed in all those years; Beautiful room with a fantastic view on the lake. Impeccable service, friendly concierges and waiters. Rates are very reasonable for such a high standing. I highly recommend this hotel if you pass by Bled.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the lake, it's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnBee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#11 of 24 in Bled
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing