We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decaying Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Decaying Grandeur”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family had a few days here to experience a 'lake holiday'.
The hotel is in an amazing position on the lake and close to everything that Bled has to offer.
Our suite was large and had a lovely balcony overlooking the lake with gorgeous views to the castle and the island. The hotel is a little tired but has that 'decaying grandeur' feel of a hotel that would have been a superstar in the 50's!?!
Most of the staff were quite stuffy and not particularly interested in helping us.
The hotel has a lovely swimming area(lido?) which we enjoyed relaxing on, with cocktail in hand.
Our stay felt a little like a time warp but we thoroughly enjoyed our old fashioned lake experience.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    231
    96
    25
    8
See reviews for
128
398
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. We were a family of 4. We had one very large balcony RIGHT on the waters edge with a grand view of the castle and the island. We walked about 100 yards into the town each day. They have row boats that are free to their guests to take out on the lake. Also about 100 yards away was Hotel Golf, where we had swimming pool privileges. They have several pools as well as a 2 story waterslide. All the pools were indoor with a great view as they are located on the hillside. The Grand Toplice is a better hotel though if you're looking for a fabulous location and a hotel with character and history.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony and view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaxs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed here three times. It really is a 'must return to' hotel. Definitely 5 star. The only drawback, if one has a disability, is that the shower is always in the bath, and this can be dangerous. There is, however, a room with a step-in (step up) shower but the room is too small if you want to stay for a week. Beautiful lounge with magnificent views over the lake to the Castle. The dining room also has these wonderful views, and an outdoor area for dining al fresco. Easy walking around the lake, or there is a little train.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a Lake-view room. Better to book privately. The smallest room is allocated to T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is truely a Grand Hotel. it is positioned on the shore of Lake Bled with exceptionally beautiful views - from the Lake view side. Our suite was well apointed, The staff were very helpful and tried hard to please.
One disadvantage is that the hotel caters to tour groups. This leads to long waits at the lift and not efficient service at trheir resturant.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Lake Bled and the hotel - booked on the recommendation of my sister. Although initially disappointed with my room allocation - not the fault of the hotel rather my holiday company for providing the wrong reservation details they did everything they could to resolve the issue. We had a wonderful and comfortable room overlooking the lake and the views added to the romance of the holiday! The food was excellent, plenty of choice and excellent quality and the spa is very relaxing. The staff are very friendly and offer a great service. Our experince was made extra special as our niece was married at the church on the island and had her wedding breakfast in the Presidential Lounge at the hotel - all in all a tuly magical experience and I look forward to returning to the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: the lake view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from the beautiful Lake Bled, our daughter was married in the Registry office then we went over to the island to the 18th century church where they exchanged rings , we had the reception in a tiny room looking over the lake , the staff, food and wine were superb.
Half of the 40 guest stayed at the Hotel and were extremely happy with there rooms, the evening meals were of an excellent quality. Some staff appear to be sullen but my husband tried to speak Slovenian and this totally changed them, they were delighted.
Although they were all able to speak English.
We had the best time and the words "fairy tale wedding" was used a number of times, not one person who came to Lake Bled were disappointed by the hotel or surrounding beauty .
I loved the place

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view with seating area in the room, friends had room 110 it was huge and furnished lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 380Jackie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were staying at the hotel for one week and enjoyed it very much, the food was superb I am a fussy eater and vegetarian although I do eat some fish, I usually struggle to find something I like but actually looked forward to the evening meal every night and was not disappointed.The staff were all friendly and helpful in all area's. We were in a suite overlooking the lake and enjoyed sitting on our balcony taking in the lovely views, would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were lake side in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#11 of 23 in Bled
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#7 of 23 in Bled
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing