We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Langdon Hills, Basildon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Toplice for 1 week in July 2012. We had visited Lake Bled before and stayed in cheaper accommodation but this time we took our parents and decided to spoil ourselves. We had a wonderful week and whilst the hotel may not reach modern five star standards in some areas, it makes up for that in old charm.

The views are AMAZING and one can sit and stare for hours at the lake, the wee island, the church, the castle and feel quite at peace.

We ate in the Grand restaurant each evening and had a fresh salad buffet to start followed by a set three course meal which always changed and had five options for each course. The staff in the dining room were very friendly and helpful and always made us feel welcome. The house wine was lovely and yes I agree the mineral water was ridiculous at €7 per bottle but we soon caught on along with everyone else that their filtered tap water in a bottle ie their ‘house water’ was totally fine and FREE! The buffet Breakfast was also plentiful and on each table was a small menu where you could order fried eggs, omelettes, pancakes etc instead of having those at the buffet (at no extra charge)

I really enjoyed the fact that this hotel is the only one in the main centre to have its own private lido into the lake.....sitting on my lounger with a book and then having a cool off in the lake was lovely, without having to walk half way round the lake to find somewhere to swim or paying £10 to use the public lido below the castle. One criticism I have however about the lido is the children’s pool, or at least that’s what it looked like…it had been left to algae and did not look inviting AT ALL, cannot understand why this has been left to go grotty in this way….if it doesn’t get used, why not fill it in or add more decking to it....it really annoyed me!

As for Bled, well it’s a lovely place, just great for relaxing yet still enough going on to fill each day. There are plenty of coffee shops, bars and restaurants to choose from and one must try the infamous ‘Bled cake’ which is to die for!

The nearby lake of Bohinj (accessible by 30 min bus ride) is wonderful too and set in a more natural setting – well worth a trip!

But overall, a great stay at the Toplice….the views are worth it and if you like walking and beautiful scenery….this place ticks all the boxes.

We will return…

Room Tip: You must pay the extra for a lake view room, otherwise you will be looking at the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    239
    103
    28
    8
See reviews for
137
420
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel has views to suit everyone - lake, snow, mountains, castle, church and manages to stay friendly. The food was really very good and entertainment, such as a classical guitarist, was provided. Unlike some other hotels the 'free' wifi was actually free. I didn't try the health suite but friends were impressed. I was there over Christmas but I can imagine it would be really lovely in the summer and the hotel has its own diving boards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a delightful throw back to old Yugoslovia. It has wonderful stone exterior, and traditional interior that makes you feel like someone special. The breakfast buffet in the dining room overlook Lake Bled and the castle would be fantastic alone, but the spread was unlike any I have seen in Europe - truly expansive with no expense spared. After breakfast, the lake is accessible from a dock next door so you can head out to the island. Our room featured a balcony with seating, and soft down duvets for a great night's sleep. If you want to experience Slovenian living, you can't beat the Grand Hotel Toplice - even Donald Trump has been there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomclubireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel does not look 5* from the lake or roadside but once inside the hotel offers super public rooms and bedrooms.
The bedroom we had overlooked the lake and Castle Bled. The view could not be faulted. The bedroom/bathroom were well equipped and rather grandly furnished.
The meals were excellent and offered wide choice - even for vegetarians. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The downside for us was just a small one - the pool. This area is rather palatial but the pool was freezing. The steam rooms and saunas were strictly no swimwear and being British and rather old, we were rather loathe to wrap ourselves in the sheets provided!
The walk around the lake is a lovely one and takes about 2 hours at a leisurely pace.
No snow unfortunately at Christmas so rather disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaddeus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A very nice comfortable hotel with friendly staff, good food, comfortable beds, quiet and a view to die for if you have a lakeside view.
But with a third of the rooms being small with a tiny bathroom with only a corner shower, and no drinks available after midnight -- this is not 5*.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

For my husband and myself this was our seventh stay at The Toplice. On arrival we had been upgraded to a Suite which looked out over the lake towards the Castle. Our room was very clean and the bedlinen was change every third day.

For breakfast there was a choice of cold meats and cheese, a variety of bread, bacon, sausages, scrambled or boiled eggs and pancakes made to order which were very delicious.

The Resturant and Bar staff were very curteous and helpful and as we stayed for 11 nights they soon got to know us and our preferences. One of the highlights of our visit was the prize winning cocktail created by one of the barmen, Miro, who is a vice champion world classic cocktail maker.

We have visited Lake Bled 12 times over the last ten years and were very eager to visit in the autumn. We were not disappointed the trees around the lake were like a palette of colours.

This visit was to celebrate my husband's retirement. Thank you to the staff of The Toplice for helping to make this holiday memorable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Lake View room essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the third visit to this hotel. It is the best as far as I am concerned in the resort. Situated a short walk from the centre of Bled, it is also within easy reach of many walks around the resort. We enjoyed many walks around the lake. Rowing on the lake.. Free boat for an hour each day. The hotel views are to die for! If you stay there and have a lake view, your balcony and view from the balcony of the restaurant are hard to beat. The view over to castle Graz, which comes straight from a fairy tale is wonderful. We find that a lower floor is best. Some of the higher floors have smaller rooms and no balcony. It is worth speaking to reception on arrival if you have paid for lake view and balcony but land up without. Staff in the hotel are friendly and very helpful. One waitress remembered us from thirty years ago in another hotel! ( weare very ordinary couple who do not go out of the way to cause any fuss so this is surprising). We also found that the staff were keen to further their knowledge of English and also liked to chat when not too busy. The waitress we had mainly this year was a young lady who had just qualified as a lawyer so we had some interesting chats! we travelled with inghams... Do take advantage of the trips! We went on two. Ljubljana this was brilliant. The guide /driver was really good. We also went on the Julian Alps trip. Fabulous

Room Tip: Lower floors have a balcony. If a problem speak to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Bled
Golf Hotel Bled
#11 of 24 in Bled
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing