We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toplice
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not 5 stars.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas and did enjoy our stay. The hotel is in a wonderful position right on the lake and the views across the lake from the balcony of our room were stunning. Staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was nice enough but not 5 star quality. The only criticism we had is that the hotel is in desperate need of a renovation and for the price, does not represent value for money. We learned from a video in the castle that the hotel was completely renovated in the 1920's and it feels like it has not been touched since. The hotel has a wonderfully spacious tea room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the lake. It would be an amazing place to while away the hours if it wasn't for the old uncomfortable furniture and rather cold atmosphere (a bit like your grandparents' "good room"!). The rooms have a similar feel. Ours had two single beds pushed together and no modern comforts such as Wi-Fi (there is Wi-Fi in the reception area only). Not what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The spa centre was a little disappointing also. It's advertised as a thermal pool but the water is cold which is not what you want in December. At the end of the day, a very nice hotel but not 5 stars as it is currently priced and advertised. lIdeally we would have given it 3.5 stars which is a shame because the hotel has so much potential.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a lake view. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0nBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    240
    103
    28
    8
See reviews for
139
420
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spent christmas holiday with my wife at the Grand Hotel Toplice. We arrived on 24 December and booked the christmas dinner at the restaurant on site. This was a quiet and memorable event, with very friendly staff, good wine and very decent food. The breakfast buffet during our stay was equally good. As to the room, even though we oversaw booking lake view, staff upgraded us because we were staying for several nights. The room itself had gorgeous view over the lake, castle and church. Only drawback was the spa/ gym area; the indoor pool was supposed to have thermal water, but was in my view too cold for a swim in December. Also, there was no dedicated gym area, which meant for instance a lack of weights.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citruschill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We feel that this is the nicest hotel in Lake Bled and after walking all around the town and the lake we were so happy we stayed here!

The hotel is historic and has a lot of old world charm and character while still being up to date and clean with modern amenities.

This is the only hotel actually on the lake in Bled and we were happy we paid the little money more for a lake-view room. It was very romantic to sip drinks and snacks we bought in town while sitting on our balcony in the comfortable chairs (there is a table too).

The included breakfast was very tasty and we also ate dinner in one of the restaurants which was very nice. If you ask ahead of time, they will reserve you a table by the window but all tables have a lovely view of the lake.

There is a nice lounge with free wireless internet and a classic bar with beautiful etched glass windows - both overlooking the lake.

The concierge was very helpful in reserving us the best window table at the Castle Bled restaurant for lunch the next day (definitely recommend eating there for the great hilltop view over the lake)

Overall, we thought that this was the nicest hotel in Lake Bled and we were very happy we chose to stay here.

Room Tip: Lake view room! Pay the little extra money. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenstarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel drips elegance and yet is very welcoming. It is located right on the lake. Offers wonderful views. It is an 80 year old Five Star hotel that is clean and well equipped. All rooms have been refurbished but they have maintained the old style charm. Rate includes breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Food very good. They serve an elegant Tea in the afternoon to guests. The front room with large windows looking over the lake is simply lovely. The pool, sauna, steam room are all inclusive in the room rate. We took advantage of their spa facilities and had a wonderful massage. A bit too cold to swim in the lake (September) but the opportunity is there. How nice to walk out of the hotel to the pathway that leads all the way around the hotel. And the views are just sensational and inspiring.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet lakeside room on upper levels. Includes balcony with table and chairs. They may cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Older 5* hotel according to local classification - more a 4* in international scale. Beautiful view of lake Bled and the Bled castle and Pilgrimage Church on the island in the lake from verandas of suite. Room spacious with traditional style furniture. Modern bathroom. Pool area is very good with excellent views of the lake also during swims. Area also includes workout machines.

Room Tip: Request room lake front. Back rooms are smaller and to a traffic road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Lake Bled is a lovely area and this is a great hotel. If you're lucky to have a lake view, you'll see the famous Bled castle, which is lit up at night and the Island on the Lake and Pilgrimage Church; also the lovely Julian Alps. There's a dock with comfy loungers for sunbathing. Lake was very refreshing on a hot day. There's a walking path that goes completely around the lake. The hotel is older and quaint. Everything works well. Room was comfortable with all the amenities. Bathroom is modern! The buffet breakfast was plentiful and you can order eggs as you like them. Eat on the balcony by the lake. We only had one dinner there but the quality, taste and presentation were all very very good. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

we recentley stayed at the hotel for a wedding unfortunately the bride's costume jewelry appeared to be missing before the wedding.The hotel manager was called and also the police.
On retuning home the jewelry was found. We would like to apologise to the hotel for any inconvienence and embarrassment caused.Apart from this we throughly enjoyed our stay.
The wedding day held at the Panaroma restaurant was outstanding along with the staff.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel go for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#10 of 24 in Bled
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Bled
Golf Hotel Bled
#11 of 24 in Bled
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toplice

Property: Grand Hotel Toplice
Address: Cesta svobode 12, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bled
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bled
#3 Business Hotel in Bled
#7 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Toplice 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Grand Hotel Toplice boasts a rich history, offering traditional style and sumptuous comfort for the guests' enjoyment and relaxation. The Grand Hotel Toplice has hosted a number of eminent guests; today, it is frequented by people looking for the most elegant accommodation by Lake Bled, as well as golfers and conference guests. On top of that, Grand Hotel Toplice is a very popular choice for weddings and large scale celebrations. The hotel features a private beach and boathouse in addition to a thermal swimming pool and select wellness services. Grand Hotel Toplice is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing