We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel, caffe and restaurant by the lake”
Review of Vila Preseren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Preseren
Ranked #14 of 62 Bled B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice spot to endulge yourself with a snack, coffe, dessert or a nice meal with a superb view of Bled lake. Affordable prices, good service, good variety of choices. If you like it you can book a room as well, for it is a cosy romantic hotel as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful setting right on Lake Bled with amazing views and wonderful food. We started with coffee then returned after exploring and enjoyed a late lunch then stayed and watched the New Year's Eve torchlight procession around the lake. Reasonable prices and Very friendly staff. Just PERFECT! We plan to return and stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

As others have mentioned it is very difficult to check in here, with the waiters seemingly too busy to be bothered. It is a lovely location right on the lake though, but when we were there the middle of September there were still lots of crowds. The room was fine, but very small. I wished the view of the lake had been better from the balcony. A good breakfast was included in the price of the room. Had a/c which was very important because the windows needed to be closed because of the music and noise from the bar downstairs. Very nice dining room for dinner and good food. Nice outdoor deck for lunch, but as mentioned, very crowded during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monarchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived in Slovenia on a Friday evening and took a shuttle to the Vila Preseren.

When we arrived there was no area to check in and the staff seemed totally dis-interested in us, so we were kind of left standing around wandering what to do.

The room itself was really nice, but the shower did leak over the floor.
Bed was very comfortable.

In the morning the breakfast was really nice, and Petra the waitress was fantastic. In fact not only during breakfast, but also on our last day when she let us put our bags in the back room. She was very friendly.

We did intend to go for dinner on the Saturday night at the restaurant, however the staff basically treated us like we were a problem rather than customers. This was quite disapointing.

We ended up going back to a fantasic pub up the road, who greated us like long lost friends!
Would recommend Gostilna Planincu for dinner. The meals were massive and good value for money. Staff were helpful and really nice.

All in all, the location was amazing and I would stay again, but I wouldnt be expecting amazing service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Andrea79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Main benefit of Vila Preseren is location and restaurant. If I ever visit Bled again, I would definitely eat and spend some time here, but I would avoid sleeping here. As someone wrote, it is opposite of luxury. It hasn't been renovated, I think, since Yugoslavia existed, it is not very clean, old shabby windows, old furniture, dust in the closet (I wouldn't put my clothes in there for anything). I definitely expected more luxury. Plus, we were supposed to have some view, but only thing we could see from our balcony was restaurant roof. Lack of gust services is minus as well, because if you need something you have to go down to the restaurant and catch some of the waiters that are flying around (and restaurant is busy all the time).

On the other side, for the restaurant, I have just compliments - great atmosphere, great food, heavenly cakes and coffes, rich breakfast, in the evening live music (one night it was band, next one guy playing piano) they even have huge fountain generated from the lake with light show. I really really enjoyed nights in this restaurant. Waiters are arrogant on the first sight, but when you get to know them and talk to them, they're much nicer.

Room Tip: Only upper floor have lake view, rooms on the 1st floor look over restaurant roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2strawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Location is what really sells this one - Lake Bled literally lapping at your toes as you eat in the hotel's handsome restaurant, lulled by its distinctive fountains and looking up the water to the island and the castle. The restaurant (which is where you pick your breakfast from) is top notch; we got engaged while staying here and had that all important high-stakes first dinner as husband and wife to be, and it did not disappoint. Their version of local cream slice is excellent.

Slight disappointments are the rooms and the staff. Our room was small, unimaginativelt fitted out from the ikea catalogue, with a slightly dated bathroom. Though the silver toilet seat was cool. Bed was comfy though and air con great, which is just as well as the neighbourhood is lively. I think the lakeside suites are probably more like it, but our budget didn't stretch that far. Staff were a mixed bag; though friendly, the busy restaurant is their priority so be prepared to wait like a lemon in there when wanting to check in, pay, get breakfast etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Right on the shore of Lake Bled, a lovely small hotel, once home to a local poet who wrote of the beauty of this place. With its location a stone's throw away from the lake, coupled with the restaurant and bar underneath, with its terrace onto the lake front. A wonderful place to stay.

Great for a weekend or even as a base to travel from, air con in the room too which helps on the warm stuffy evenings in Slovenia. Great location just below Bled castle and near to all the local amenities.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#6 of 24 in Bled
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#7 of 24 in Bled
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kompas Hotel Bled
Kompas Hotel Bled
#14 of 24 in Bled
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Preseren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Preseren

Address: Veslashka promenada 14, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Bled
Price Range: $72 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Preseren 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Preseren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Preseren Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing