We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay near Lake Bled”
Review of The Millhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Millhouse
Ranked #20 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best place to stay near Lake Bled”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We feel very fortunate to have stayed at the Millhouse. Luckily, we chose to stay slightly away from the center of Bled. The property is in a small village about 5 minutes drive from the main town. It is easy to find if you follow the directions that you will receive from the owners. Both Paul and Dorthe are so friendly and make you feel so at home. They have many, many recommendations for sightseeing and places to eat. We only wish that we could have stayed longer!!
The property has been totally renovated and is very clean, modern and comfortable. There is also a large kitchen, living area and gardens for use by all the guests and everything you need is provided for by your hosts. (Even British tea bags!!!).
We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone traveling to this area and we hope to get back one day!
The property

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Millhouse is a warm and friendly bed and breakfast owned by charming and knowledgeable hosts, Paul and Dorthe, who relish the opportunity to make your stay feel as if you at your own home. It is very clean and comfortable with terraces and patios as well as a lovely large communal area with an expansive and well equipped communal kitchen. They have bikes for riding and are a short distance from the river where you can take a charming and pastoral ride to Lake Bled through the forest , small villages and farms that is picturesque as a postcard where you end up at the Lake just at the Vila Bled,the former presidential residence.It was lovely to be near to Lake Bled but away from its bustle and crowds and be is such a lovely peaceful country setting.Paul both picked us up and returned us to the train station,as well as providing us with a lot of information about Slovenia and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moquijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We had booked here for one night only but what a welcome... Dorthe (the proprietor ) could not do enough for us! ! She took and collected us from the restaurant so that we could enjoy a drink! She recommended places and cooked a great breakfast ! The place is new and really fresh and modern with a communal kitchen and lounge area downstairs . It is a little out of the lake Etc but then we had a car!! We so recommend this! Nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This a very nice and very clean little pension. It's run by a very nice couple, both are very helpfull and can give you advice for many thinks around bled. The old millhouse is restaurated very recently and there is a lot of space for the guests to sit down and to relax in a large living room area. There also is a huge kitchen there you can cook if you you like. Also a very nice breakfast is offered for a very resonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Millhouse has a very warm and friendly environment because Paul and Dorthe are customer oriented managers. We had a experience of staying there for 6 nights. When we entered we had lost our luggage and received them on second day. They borrowed us clothes and everything that we needed. We have a very good feeling for staying there. In addition, Ribno is a very quite village with a very nice water to drink and clean air. So there is very good place to relax have a lot of beautiful sight seeings.
Mohammadreza and Zahra

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammadreza F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owners were very friendly, helpful, generous and welcoming without being in the least bit overbearing. Very nice people, and they gave us lots of brilliant advice about what to see, what to avoid, etc in the area.

The Millhouse really is a gorgeous place to stay. Our ensuite room was large, airy and spotlessly clean with a lovely little balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The communal areas of the house (kitchen, dining area, lounge and garden) are very impressive. The whole place feels sophisticated, stylish and high-end, but in a lovely relaxed way.

Don't worry that "it's not in Bled"... Bled town itself is nothing special - largely just big hotels and concrete. Ribno (the village just outside Bled where The Millhouse is located) is actually much nicer. It has two lovely restaurants and is set in beautiful countryside. It's only a 20-30 min walk to Lake Bled anyway, and you can borrow bikes from the Millhouse if you want to get there even quicker.

Some other brilliant things about the Millhouse:
-Two cats
-Lovely stream running through the garden
-Free wifi
-Communal fridge stacked with beer, milk etc where you just write your name and say what you've taken and work it out when you check out
-Great coffee making facilities - an espresso machine and cafetiere for you to use freely.


Absolutely loved it and will recommend it to everyone I know. It's seriously one of the best places I've ever stayed and is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongren, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Paul and Dorothe who own and run The Millhouse are two of the kindest most considerate people I have ever met while traveling. They have created a B&B that is one part hostel (shared living room, kitchen, refrigerators), one part garden villa (beautifully landscaped fruit and vegetable gardens in the back yard), and one part eco-lodge (energy coming from renewable sources including the stream that flows under the house. The atmosphere is comfortable and familiar and Paul and Dorothe bend over backwards to make sure their guests are well taken care of.

The Millhouse is a short bike ride from the lake. There are about a dozen bikes that are free for guests, and one of the highlights of my stay was riding to and exploring the lake. I also enjoyed the free wifi, comfortable beds, and transportation to and from the bus station provided by Paul at no charge.

I would recommend The Millhouse to anyone and everyone, even if you have to go out of your way to get there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skysharkdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#3 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ribno
Hotel Ribno
#1 of 1 in Ribno
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pension Mlino
Pension Mlino
#15 of 23 in Bled
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#2 of 23 in Bled
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Bled
Vila Bled
#8 of 23 in Bled
336 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jazz Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Property: The Millhouse
Address: Za Pizhem 8 | Ribno, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an old converted mill house, we offer self catering accommodation. The house is situated in Ribno, a quiet village 1.8km from Bled and the famous lake Bled. We have double/family rooms with en-suite bathrooms and shared bunk rooms, with shared bathrooms. All with comfortable custom made adult size beds and balconies. We provide all bedding and house towels. We have spacious communal areas which are ideal for separate travellers, families or larger groups, 16 seat minibus available. We have a big fully equipped kitchen for all to use with a 20 seat table, cosy lounge, laundry room, free bicycles, parking and Wi-Fi. We have a large garden with a small river running through. There is a large outdoor terrace with BBQ. In the village there is a local baker which also sells essentials, 4 bar/restaurants; larger supermarkets are available in Bled. Summer or Winter activities... walking, kayaking, biking, swimming, rafting, horse riding, ballooning, skydiving, golf, trophy trout fishing, great Skiing, climbing and more....Airport and local pickup.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Millhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing