We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but needs work”
Review of Castle Hostel 1004

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hostel 1004
Ranked #2 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

With a great view of Bled from the second level terrace, excellent location, and friendly and helpful staff, Castle 1004 has the potential to be a great hostel. Unfortunately there were a couple of factors that let it down.

Unlike other hostels I have stayed at, many of the guests do not clean up after using the kitchen. As a result, it's a huge mess in the morning, with no clean dishes or bench space. This makes it difficult for early risers to make breakfast. The fridge is very full and it seems that much of the room is taken up by old food from past guests. Perhaps writing names and check-out dates on food would help?

The common area and terrace are close to the dorms and there were a number of nights when I was woken up by loud guests. Also, I was disappointed that I didn't have a locker in my room. There are, however lockers in the other dorms. The hot water ran out early every day I stayed. :(

That being said, the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The hostel also has a great vibe. It is very close to the supermarket, castle, restaurants, and bus station. I would love to see this hostel improve.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyJR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 258 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The kitchen, lounge and terrace were all great, the view was amazing! The staff were very friendly and would do anything for you! They put on free trips to the gauge which was cool. Definitely needs a sign cos finding was a nightmare but theyve just moved so I think theyre getting to that! Would go again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabeln93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to this hostel twice now and will be back for sure again. Made some cool friends within this hostel including the staff who are really helpful. The terrace is amazing and overlooks Bled and the bedroom and shower facilities are amazing. Cant recommend this hostel enough, you are sure to feel most welcomed!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

my buddy and I stay there for 2 nights and we got there without a reservation. The owner tried very hard to accommodate us, and even called different hostels in the meantime. Luckily we were able to stay there. it's very clean there and a housekeeper comes in everyday. The owner is extremely helpful and assisted us in planning trips, suggested places to go out, and even got us transportation out of Bled.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaron220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Amazing staff and amazing facilities, the terrace has the best view and a good vibe. The rooms are spacious and all the furniture is all pretty much brand new. The kitchens and showers are extremely well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkpkpk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here but my friend did, the staff were amazing- told me I was always welcome an made me an honorary member :) it is very social with a gorgeous deck and a full kitchen. Definitely recommend staying here, and wish I had!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at castel 1004 by chance after a bit of a last minute booking disaster, and it worked out superbly. The staff were immediately welcoming and patient, gave us good eating recommendations and offered a range of activities/tours. They found me a different place to stay when they were fully booked too.
The kitchen/bathroom facilities were great, had everything you need in a hostel, and the deck was a great place to drink/hang out.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
477 reviews
2.8 mi away
1A Adventure hostel
1A Adventure hostel
#7 of 93 in Bled
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jazz Rooms & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Garni Pension Pibernik
0.6 mi away
Garden House Bled
Garden House Bled
#16 of 93 in Bled
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hostel 1004? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hostel 1004

Address: Grajska cesta 22, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Bled
Price Range: $21 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hostel 1004 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing