We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for families with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savica Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
europe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent for families with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were at the hotel for the New Years Eve , for 5 days and it was an excellent experience .This was our third of fourth stay at this hotel and every time we are nicely surprised with the good service. The rooms a big and comfortable, the family room option is an excellent choice for families with a bit older children. The mini club is interesting, with really enthusiastic personnel.Food was also very nice , the dinner was served at the hotel Golf and also very tasteful. Pools at the hotel Golf are clean and big, it is a pity there is just one slide, but still entertaining enough for kids. Bled is enchanting and very pleasant place. I would highly recommend both Savica and Bled as a holiday location.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice.Ask for a lake view.Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    134
    61
    7
    10
See reviews for
221
61
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west wales
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We, 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 6 years) stayed at the Savica between the 12th and 19th January 2013. We had two joined rooms on the 5th floor. The rooms were quiet, spacious, spotlessly clean with plently of room for bulky ski kit. We had two bathrooms and two mini bars to store some drinks and chocolates! The room was very warm, great for drying the clothes after all the snow we had both in Bled and on the mountains. This was a bit of a downfall in the mornings when we had to open the window to cool down! It was great that the children had their own space because it allowed us to stay up later watching the British cable tv relaxing with some wine bought in the nearby supermarket.
The only downfall about the room is the fact that there was no kettle provided. Having read this on a previous review, we took a little travel kettle and t bags with us. We then took a glass of milk after breakfast and kept in in the mini bar.
Breakfast was served in a small room however there were not many guests so the place was never full. There was choice of breads and cereals and some warm bacon, sausages and pancackes. We never left the room hungry. no toaster!)
The evening meal was served in the nearby Golf hotel. There was plenty of choice was a variety of starters, main and puddings.My fussy daughter found that there were times that she didn't like any of the choices so the staff brought out some pasta. The staff were very helpful both here and in the Savica.
The pool area in the Gof was amazing. There were about 7 pools including a slide and an outdoor pool which was amazing to swim in, with the snow lying around the edge! Towels were provided with towel cards obtained from the Savica. Hairdryers were provided in the pool area and in hotel bathrooms as well as shower gel/ shampoo.
The hotel was centrally located and only a few minutes walk from a cheap supermarket, shops and few bars.
Bled itself was beautiful and if were were not skiing we would have found plenty to do even in the several feet of snow. This hotel was excellent value for money. We would return again!
We travelled with Crystal Ski who organised the bus to and from Vogel every day. This took about 30 minutes but it was a relaxing scenic trip.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor. It was just outside the lift so this could be heard in the background and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weloveholidays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel is renowated few years ago. It is clean and friendly atmosphere. Dinner is very near in hotel Golf and food is very good. There is lot of activities for children. Breakfast room is little small but simpatic.
Stuff is friendly

Room Tip: You have to ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbajozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A great place to stay for families, travellers without children would be better suited to the Golf Hotel across the road. Our triple room was comfortable, modern, clean and had all amenities plus a large balcony with a great view of the mountain. Ironing service was available which proved very useful as the reason for our trip was a family wedding and we needed clothes pressing and for a minimal charge the maid took care of this for us. The HB was excellent, breakfast served in the Hotel, buffet style and was excellent - offered everything you could want. Dinner was served in the Golf Hotel across the road and also had a huge choice, again buffet style. Service in every sector was amazing, friendly and polite. We also used the spa at the Golf Hotel without charge, the swimming pools are brilliant and there is a life guard on duty too. The bauty spa was very good and I also used the hair salon which I found incredibily cheap and was suprised at their high standard and technique. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the second time we chose to spend few days during school break in hotel Savica and definitely we will come back.
This is a family friendly hotel. Hotel is in a very good shape, it was refurbished few years ago. there is a slight plumbing problem, but we did not mind.
Rooms are sized and equipped the same as 4star hotels, Only you will not get all those kits for free (tooth brush, body lotions....). But you will get a hand soap, shower gel and shampoo.
Animation during school breaks is really good. Kids enjoyed it a lot.
Lots of guest came back this year again - we met 5 families, who spent holidays there last year at the same time as us.
Breakfast is organised in hotel Savica. Sometimes it gets crowded and in this case you are allowed to go to Hotel Golf next door (4 star hotel) where you also have your dinner.
Wellness Živa in hotel Golf is very good and clean.
Lake Bled/Bled centre is 5 minutes walk.
Bled is Slovene diamond. It is also in top 100 places to get married. There are plenty thing to see and do besides visiting island, castle, and vintgar...
This is a very good choice for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is without a doubt the best 3* hotel I've stayed at anywhere in Europe. It won a TripAdvisor Award for Excellence this year and I'm not surprised.

Finding hotels that cater for families with young children is a challenge. We spent a lot of time trying to find one in Bled and were typically quoted over 600Euro for 3 nights because all of the 4* hotels could not fit a family into their standard or double rooms. Thus, Superior Suite or bust.

The Savica touts itself as a "family-friendly" hotel and it most certainly ticks all the boxes. We got a huge room (or should I say two as our "room" comprised two adjoining rooms) for less than 100Euro per night. The rooms are newly refurbished and they've done a wonderful job. Modern bathrooms (one for us with shower & one for the kids with a bath), neutral decor' and in our case a decent view of Bled Castle.

The kids (3 and 5) each had their own single beds and a second TV in their room. The hotel provides potty's, porta-cots etc at no charge. Just outside our room was a small soft play area which the kids loved. No sat-TV, just the usual international news channels but this is no problem as there's plenty to do. No Wi-Fi either, but there is in-room internet via cable which can be obtained from reception. Fine if you want to hook-up a laptop, but no good for smartphone or tablet users.

There is no kettle in the room but the reception staff were happy to provide hot water, milk etc night and day for no charge. Indeed, all three reception staff we dealt with were excellent.

The hotel is only 3* because it has no restaurant, room service etc. However, guests at the hotel receive access to all the facilities (including restaurant, wellness centre, fantastic swimming pools) at the 4* Hotel Golf. The Hotel Golf is owned by the same company but guests there pay considerably more and from what I witnessed the service isn't as good as at the Savica.

Our kids loved the Activity Club, though it only runs for about one-and-a-half hours per day (except Monday's). You can get the schedule as a PDF on the Savica website. The Kids Activity Room is only open during the advertised hours. Zaki the Swan was loved by the kids but he isn't around that much. Still, this is a hotel - not Butlins or Disneyland.

The hotel offers a babysitting service and charges 18EURO per hour. Its through an external company. However, we asked the kids club supervisor and she agreed to look after our for 5EURO per hour. This gave my wife and I the chance to get out for a couple of hours kid free.

For families with young children this is the best hotel I've stayed at that's not part of a family holiday resort of some kind. There were also plenty of other guests without children. From what I can see they put families on some floors and guests without children on others (where practicable).

We were so comfortable here and enjoyed Bled so much that we decided to stay an extra night. The kids loved it and we had the most relaxing and carefree stay I can remember. Even if you don't have children this is definately worth a look. You'll save lots of money due to the 3* rating but will still have access to the 4* facilitities of the Hotel Golf.

I've stayed at three other hotels in Bled (all 4*) on previous visits and the Savica beats them all on value for money and service. Its a stone's throw from the Lake and a 2 minute walk to all the shops, cafes and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for an adjoining room. These are actually two rooms in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukevdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Based on earlier reviews, we expected a nice room, friendly staff and activities for the kids while we stayed at this hotel. Instead, the staff was not friendly at all, and there were no activities for the kids aside from a "Meet the Swan" in the lobby one evening. They advertise playrooms, but they don't tell you that these are not open for you to use! Perhaps they offer more in the summer. The room was large enough for our family, which was great, but it it very dated and didn't feel clean. They brought us a diaper pail for our baby (unsolicited) which was nice, but it had lots of brown smudges on it....yuck! When I booked the room, it stated a large double, bunk beds, and a sitting area. instead, it was a large double and a pull out couch.
We chose this hotel due to their advertised family friendliness, but we did not find that to be the case. If we went back to Bled, we would stay somewhere else.
No wifi except in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwscrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Savica Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your reply regarding your stay at the Family Hotel Savica.
I was very surprised when reading it. We do receive many guests' comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff; also the rooms couldn't be dated as they were made in 2008. Besides, our animation programme is carefully chosen and attracts many guests to visit the hotel several times a year.

Maybe you expected our central playroom to be open for guests' use but we only use it with the members of our animation team. We do offer other playrooms in another floor of the hotel for individual use.

I hope you visited some attractions of Bled and certainly hope also that you visit us again. I feel sorry because you didn't find your stay comfortable and believe that your experience would be much better next time.

Sincerely yours,
SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#9 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kompas Hotel Bled
Kompas Hotel Bled
#11 of 24 in Bled
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savica Hotel

Property: Savica Hotel
Address: Cankarjeva cesta 6, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Spa Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new three-star Savica Hotel is not only the first Slovenian family-friendly hotel, but also satisfies the needs of all those guests seeking high-quality affordable accommodation in Bled. The Savica Hotel features 90 hotel rooms and 14 apartments with kitchenette. The rooms and apartments are equipped with cable TV, telephone, mini bar and safe. All units are air-conditioned and most of them have balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savica Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing