We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families and Bargain Hunters”
Review of Savica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savica Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Bled
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for Families and Bargain Hunters”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is without a doubt the best 3* hotel I've stayed at anywhere in Europe. It won a TripAdvisor Award for Excellence this year and I'm not surprised.

Finding hotels that cater for families with young children is a challenge. We spent a lot of time trying to find one in Bled and were typically quoted over 600Euro for 3 nights because all of the 4* hotels could not fit a family into their standard or double rooms. Thus, Superior Suite or bust.

The Savica touts itself as a "family-friendly" hotel and it most certainly ticks all the boxes. We got a huge room (or should I say two as our "room" comprised two adjoining rooms) for less than 100Euro per night. The rooms are newly refurbished and they've done a wonderful job. Modern bathrooms (one for us with shower & one for the kids with a bath), neutral decor' and in our case a decent view of Bled Castle.

The kids (3 and 5) each had their own single beds and a second TV in their room. The hotel provides potty's, porta-cots etc at no charge. Just outside our room was a small soft play area which the kids loved. No sat-TV, just the usual international news channels but this is no problem as there's plenty to do. No Wi-Fi either, but there is in-room internet via cable which can be obtained from reception. Fine if you want to hook-up a laptop, but no good for smartphone or tablet users.

There is no kettle in the room but the reception staff were happy to provide hot water, milk etc night and day for no charge. Indeed, all three reception staff we dealt with were excellent.

The hotel is only 3* because it has no restaurant, room service etc. However, guests at the hotel receive access to all the facilities (including restaurant, wellness centre, fantastic swimming pools) at the 4* Hotel Golf. The Hotel Golf is owned by the same company but guests there pay considerably more and from what I witnessed the service isn't as good as at the Savica.

Our kids loved the Activity Club, though it only runs for about one-and-a-half hours per day (except Monday's). You can get the schedule as a PDF on the Savica website. The Kids Activity Room is only open during the advertised hours. Zaki the Swan was loved by the kids but he isn't around that much. Still, this is a hotel - not Butlins or Disneyland.

The hotel offers a babysitting service and charges 18EURO per hour. Its through an external company. However, we asked the kids club supervisor and she agreed to look after our for 5EURO per hour. This gave my wife and I the chance to get out for a couple of hours kid free.

For families with young children this is the best hotel I've stayed at that's not part of a family holiday resort of some kind. There were also plenty of other guests without children. From what I can see they put families on some floors and guests without children on others (where practicable).

We were so comfortable here and enjoyed Bled so much that we decided to stay an extra night. The kids loved it and we had the most relaxing and carefree stay I can remember. Even if you don't have children this is definately worth a look. You'll save lots of money due to the 3* rating but will still have access to the 4* facilitities of the Hotel Golf.

I've stayed at three other hotels in Bled (all 4*) on previous visits and the Savica beats them all on value for money and service. Its a stone's throw from the Lake and a 2 minute walk to all the shops, cafes and restaurants. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for an adjoining room. These are actually two rooms in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukevdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    137
    65
    7
    10
See reviews for
224
66
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Based on earlier reviews, we expected a nice room, friendly staff and activities for the kids while we stayed at this hotel. Instead, the staff was not friendly at all, and there were no activities for the kids aside from a "Meet the Swan" in the lobby one evening. They advertise playrooms, but they don't tell you that these are not open for you to use! Perhaps they offer more in the summer. The room was large enough for our family, which was great, but it it very dated and didn't feel clean. They brought us a diaper pail for our baby (unsolicited) which was nice, but it had lots of brown smudges on it....yuck! When I booked the room, it stated a large double, bunk beds, and a sitting area. instead, it was a large double and a pull out couch.
We chose this hotel due to their advertised family friendliness, but we did not find that to be the case. If we went back to Bled, we would stay somewhere else.
No wifi except in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwscrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Savica Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your reply regarding your stay at the Family Hotel Savica.
I was very surprised when reading it. We do receive many guests' comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff; also the rooms couldn't be dated as they were made in 2008. Besides, our animation programme is carefully chosen and attracts many guests to visit the hotel several times a year.

Maybe you expected our central playroom to be open for guests' use but we only use it with the members of our animation team. We do offer other playrooms in another floor of the hotel for individual use.

I hope you visited some attractions of Bled and certainly hope also that you visit us again. I feel sorry because you didn't find your stay comfortable and believe that your experience would be much better next time.

Sincerely yours,
SAVA HOTELS BLED
Fedja Pobegajlo, Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel looks great, with special attention for a family with young kids. Big, nice and very clean rooms, very good service, pool access nearby in another hotel, 1 minute walk. Excellent choice in Bled!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for just one night (unfortunately) at the Hotel Savica in Bled. We were really impressed with this hotel. The service was very good, we had a last-minute request which they accommodated without a hassle. The family suite room with two adjoining rooms was a great size for our family of four. Really great value for the spacious rooms. The views were absolutely amazing and really made us wish we had been there longer! The complex has a great indoor pool that my 5 year old really enjoyed. There was lots of kids activities and the hotel is very much geared towards families, although for the value I think anyone would enjoy it. Finally, the location is perfect, just a short walk down to the lake. We had great time walking around the lake and up to the castle and then back to the shore for some fantastic Bled cream cake!

If there was one issue I had it was that there were trash bins in the hallway that were quite smelly. They happened to be close to our room so every time we came to our room, I could smell them. I would think they could put them somewhere more discreet. Otherwise though, an all in all great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margitarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here before and had a better room with a castle view this time, our room last time was fine also. Good for families with a kids club and free tickets for the local attractions. You can use the pool at the nearby Hotel Golf. Can get very busy at breakfast time, owing to the small breakfast room.

Room Tip: Book early and specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markymoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

As a family with two children, we took interconnected rooms and received a very fair price deal for it. The rooms were clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Our kids liked the coloring books and crayons they received as a welcome gift. The kids club and the lady who was playing with the kids were a very pleasant surprise for all of us - we still have some of the creations "born" there in our home as souvenirs. Although the hotel has 3-star category, it provides the 4-star category value and therefore I would recommend it as a "best-buy" for the visit to Bled.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiresolK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A friendly family hotel. Kids club for kids & great activities & facilites for kids. We had an interconnecting family room with two bathrooms & two plasma screams.

Location is near shopping centre & Lake Bled. I highly recommend this hotel for families with young children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsRPace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#10 of 23 in Bled
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#3 of 23 in Bled
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#12 of 23 in Bled
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#4 of 23 in Bled
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#2 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savica Hotel

Property: Savica Hotel
Address: Cankarjeva cesta 6, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bled
#7 Spa Hotel in Bled
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new three-star Savica Hotel is not only the first Slovenian family-friendly hotel, but also satisfies the needs of all those guests seeking high-quality affordable accommodation in Bled. The Savica Hotel features 90 hotel rooms and 14 apartments with kitchenette. The rooms and apartments are equipped with cable TV, telephone, mini bar and safe. All units are air-conditioned and most of them have balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savica Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing