We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful traditional polish food with hip and modern style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Przegryz

Przegryz
Ranked #354 of 2,462 Restaurants in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Polish, European, International, Soups, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Śródmieście Południowe
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional polish food with hip and modern style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ate here on the recommendation of the young owners/managers of our very modern and hip bed and breakfast in Warsaw. I'm glad we did. Like the place we were staying, this is a traditional style polish place presented in a modern and very hip way. it specializes in pierogi, the little Polish dumplings that define traditional Polish comfort food. They are homemade here, and filled with the most delicious fillings imaginable -- meat, or vegetarian, or even vegan. You can also get traditional Polish soups and other goodies, and fabulous specials like the one we had -- roast goose! It's quite a small place, with an upstairs area you have to climb a tiny spiral metal staircase to reach. Worth looking for down a side street in a part of Warsaw that somehow escaped destruction when the Nazis decimated the rest of the City.

As for how to actually pronounce the name of this place, Przegryz -- don't ask.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I wish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I wish I lived walking distance from it. I would go there like to grandma kitchen... It is just a place where maybe there won't be enough variety, maybe it won't make every palate happy, but definitly it will all be very well made, with care and honesty. Simply GOOD. I absolutely recommend soups, hot and cold. Salads are nice. Staff is friendly, sometimes little slow... I like the no rush atmosphere, books, games etc. Funny interiors. Feeling good in there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simple-refined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I eat here every time I am in Warsaw. Sometimes several times per visit. Great and varied menu, good selection of Polish traditional dishes. As far as I can tell, everything is home made from scratch. In the summer try blueberry pierogi, yum. In winter, house (called Najsztub's/owner's name) chicken soup and meat pierogi. Duck or goose anytime. My relatives rave about the fish.
Great value, nice ambiance, friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of polish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great polish traditional food as well as selection of pastas, meats etc. Great for lunch or dinner with friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not easy to get my excellent review !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am very cautious when giving excellent reviews. Everything have to be in harmony and food ust not be exceptionally tasty, but also surprise from to time with original flavour.

"Przegryz" has it all. The food there is among the best in Warsaw. Everything I ate there had very strong and unique taste. From soups (unmatched broth and tomato soup) through second dishes (home taste cutlets, highest quality traditional Polish dumplings) to desserts.

In addition it has great, central location and very original, disobliging interior. All this makes it perfect restaurant to take visitors to taste Poland, meet with your friends or go with family for lunch. To be onest I completeley do not understand, why it is so raf in Trip Advisor ranking. WHen you compare it with ranked 1 in Warsaw Restauracja Różana, not only food tastes better but also there is far better value for money. UNless you like posch restaurants or have special occassion, I would deinitely choose "Przegryz".

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Przegryz also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Przegryz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing