We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best :-))”

E. Wedel Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #2 of 57 Dessert in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
scotland uk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simply the best :-))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Totally loved this place. The chocolate and the chocolate drinks are too die for. Felt very special in this place. Please go, you want regret it :-))

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    165
    48
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poland's oldest and best Chocolateur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wanted to buy chocolates for friends and family back in Australia and someone recommended checking E Wedel out. We were amazed with the grandeur of the place and the whole setting. Its a old 19th century building which used to be Emili Wedel's house. Now transformed into a restaurant, the place still reminds one of the aristocratic 19th century setting. Also, full marks to the cappuccino they serve and the chocolate layer cake. Hundreds of different chocolates to chose from, we came back with our hands full. It is a Warsaw institution, must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharadmhta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not sure what I can say that hasn't already been said but I must point out that I had the best cappucino of my life there. Well okay, 3 of them, all equally wonderful. Then of course there is the endless selection of chocolate treats....

The staff were maybe a little inexperienced but were charming, professional and friendly during each of our 3 visits. Considering how many customers they have through there, this was great to see.

For a true chocolate delight, visit E. Wedel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticalAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liquid chocolate heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

There's nothing like a delicious cup of hot chocolate on a cold winter's day and when it's -15C outside then being inside Wedel's is the best place to be for that chocolate. It was the run up to Easter when I was there and they had some specials which I tried and they were divine. I visited the place three times in my week in Warsaw and each time tried a different flavour which never disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanislawFrontczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
679 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Liquid chocolate - how can there be anything bad about that?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes, I went for the liquid gold. But hadn't had lunch yet so had a quiche (small, but enough) and a beer to wash it down with. And sat in the old-fashioned interior and watched people and read a book. It was pretty full at 2pm on a Monday afternoon, too, but I never felt rushed or pushed. THEN it was time for my chocolate. It was all that and more. While I wanted to try the "bitter" dark, I stuck with the traditional and it was fabulous. I have to say, I was a bit disappointed to learn ahead of time that Cadbury had bought Wedel (I do really enjoy Cadbury, the old style, but haven't had much in the past few years), but the interior felt purely Wedel and I was so happy. So....the chairs aren't the most comfortable, but I was there for 2 hours and it was just fine. All that and only $12. That's $12 US. There are some uniquely wrapped chocolate bars in the store that I haven't seen in a grocery or drugstore, plus the fancy items you'd expect in the direct outlet. Stop in and see what's there. You'll find something yummy - but try to have some liquid chocolate to melt your insides.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E. Wedel Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to E. Wedel Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing