We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just chocolate heaven”

E. Wedel Chocolate Lounge Staroswiecki Sklep
Ranked #2 of 59 Dessert in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For more than 160 years we have been doing whatever possible to make customers associate E.Wedel with the best that one can find in chocolate. We relate back to the tradition which says that works made with the hands of masters are unique. More chocolaterias have been opened since 2004. Each of them offers the magic of chocolate and unique atmosphere. Try the exceptional drinking chocolates and other sweets, including a variety of desserts as well as hand-made pralines, all produced with passion and under the vigilant eye of Janusz Profus, the Chocolate Maestro.
Pernes-les-Fontaines, France
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“More than just chocolate heaven”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family and I had lunch here and the French baguettes we had were amazing!! We tried the salmon, the turkey and the cheese options and they were superb. It was good to see that the standard is as good for the food selection as for the chocolate. My husband also enjoyed his salmon salad.. The waitress was friendly as usual and spoke great English. Always a pleasure eating here and a definite must for all our foreign visitors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arumlillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    173
    48
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best cakes in Warsaw”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very good cakes.
Nice wooden furniture
You may say it is pricey if you are from eastern Europe too, but for me it was reasonable.
 Sachertorte here is really the best cake in this country and it comes with fuge quantity of raspberrry sauce ( see my photo)

I would stay here every day every hours.
this company was established 1845...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Hot Chocolate in the World!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Somewhere in between your best memory of real homemade milk hotchocolate and a chocolate fondue is the heaven of either dark, milk, or bittersweet Wedel Hot Chocolate. I have traveled the world and always taste the chocolate of every country. But Polish Wedel chocolate is the best I've ever tasted. The cafe has an authentic old world pre-war charm. Although the wait staff customer service could step out of the past and crack a smile once a year, but I don't think it's going to happen in the next 4 years. We'll see. Buying the chocolate here will be about 3-5pln more than if you buy it in a store or even airport, but the experience of choosing behind the luxurious glass covered treasures, I guess is almost worth it..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MDGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must for Chocolate Lovers”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Read about this place on TA & went there. We were not disappointed. The drinks were great & the prices good. We liked the place so much that we went back. The only downside was that the price of the identical bars of Chocolate were more expensive in here than in a supermarket. I thought it would be the other way around, So make sure you buy the bars of Chocolate at the supermarket.Apart from this we could not fault this place & would recommend it. It is great to pop into after a day of sightseeing as you can just sit down & relax whilst enjoying the delicious drinks on offer in a very beautiful setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EVA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK - a little pricy”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Didn't see what the big fuss was about. Our drinks were too strong and the taste of cocoa was over the top. We couldn't finish our alcoholic-chocolate drinks. Simply too much dark chocolate. Maybe we ordered the wrong thing??

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BR1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E. Wedel Chocolate Lounge Staroswiecki Sklep also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to E. Wedel Chocolate Lounge Staroswiecki Sklep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing