We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duval Serviced Apartments
Ranked #9 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B in Old Town”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was really impressed with the quality of the accommodations. The hotel is located on the north edge of the Old Town and very easy to reach by taxi (which are not allowed to enter the district) or public bus. The area felt very safe at night and although one night there were some street kids hanging around panhandling and playing music it wasn't intimidating. The neighborhood seemed very quiet--especially at night--although I was there in early April.

The rooms were very large (the photos don't quite capture this) and although I only stayed for two nights would be perfect for extended stays as each is outfitted with a mini kitchenette. The bathroom too had ample room for two people to get ready in the morning and had fixtures that were modern, clean and well-maintained.

I stayed in the Polish chamber which really was as nice as it looks on the website. The only downside was that it must be located directly above the smoking room of the cafe downstairs because there was a constant albeit faint smell of smoke in the room. I'd definitely go back but request a room on the upper floor.

Martin, who checked me in, did a great job of making me feel welcome and provided all the information I needed. Although there is no full time concierge the cafe operates most of the day and night in case questions or problems arise. I never had need to call the owner after hours.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
60
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here recently for one night after staying elsewhere in town. The apartments are in a great location, right in the old town just off the square and the barbican. Agnieszka the owner is fantastic .. very friendly and helpful througout our visit. The rooms start on the second floor (no elevator) and you will need to take the stairs. We were in the glass room which was much larger than I expected which was nice. The bed was also better than expected; not great, but not bad. We did not have breakfast on site instead decided to wander into town to hit a pastry shop instead. With a room on the front, the noise could be quite loud including at night there was alot of noise carrying over from the square. As well, at 6:30am there was construction starting right next door that was very loud (though not Duval's fault). Overall, this was a great place to stay if you are looking for something right in the old town square.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We just stayed at Duval for three nights and loved it. A great value, perfect location, excellent restaurant, delicious breakfasts prepared by Martin, and tastefully decorated rooms. I would definitely stay there again. And Warsaw was a pleasant surpise -- what a beautiful city! One of Europe's few undiscovered gems. Given its tragic past, its beauty and grandeur speaks volumes about the tenacity and talent of the Polish people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRIguySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

For everyone who understand the history of Warsaw Old Town, only viewing the website of "Duval Apartments", will be able to know how many tales the old house (building) is filled with.
In spite of within a few steps from the Old Town Square, the house is since 16th century's original building. If the square would be placed as great, the house "Duval" is to be said as a miracle.

I stayed in an authentic "Polish Chamber", could steep myself in nostalgic atomosphere, felt as if every details of interior were composing tales.
Opening the writing desk drawer, will be able to find a very old leather-bound photoalbum which has monochrome pictures of girl students' youthful days and so on. As I don't know which era's pictures exactly, still more imagination for tales on persons are never-ending even now.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank toshi-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Duval. We were family group travelling with 2 adult children and a 73 year old Grandmother and we all coped with the stairs. This is location , location , location - right in the heart of old town Warsaw - its atmosphere is magic. We had 2 apartments - right across from each other , they were very spacious and nicely decorated. Complimentary use of the laundry and free internet was great, A big thankyou to Martin who looked after us as if we were family. An added bonus was the delightful tea rooms in the intimate cellar area , and the coffee shop on the 1st floor. The Pizza restaraunt was right next door with mega pizzas - if you want a change from yummy Polish food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelia-emerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2010

5 Day Trip to Warsaw [May 2010]
By recommendation my husband and I stayed at the Duval Serviced Apartments, in the Polish Chamber.

We had pre-arranged to meet Marcin at the Apartments to hand over keys, etc. but due to one of our suitcases being lost at the Airport, our arrival was delayed. Feeling somewhat stressed, we were very glad to be greeted by Marcin at the taxi drop-off point and escorted to the Apartments.

The Polish Chamber is extremely spacious with good facilities and comfortable furnishings, particularly the firm bed. With maps, guide books, leaflets etc stored in the desk, it was like a mini tourist information centre! Even though the Chamber is housed at the front of the building, the daytime buzz of pedestrians ceased overnight and the street was quiet.

The Duval Apartments location is perfect for sightseeing around the Old Town and walking tours. The area offers a good choice of restaurants/bars and shops within walking distance. If you enjoy Italian food, we highly recommend the Italian Restaurant housed on the Ground Floor; the same area is used for residents’ breakfasts, which were delicious and substantial, prepared and served by Marcin.

Marcin was exceedingly helpful, with a warm friendly nature. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and his good command of the English language helped us tremendously. Marcin is a valuable asset to Duval Apartments

When we next visit Warsaw, we will definitely book accommodation [if possible] at Duval Serviced Apartments and will recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WarsawFirstTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

My fiance and I recently stayed for a long weekend at Duval. We have traveled extensively and stayed in many hotels and B&Bs, and we both agreed that Duval is one of our favorite places that we have stayed. Our experience was like being loaned the apartment of a stylish friend for the weekend, only with top notch service working quietly in the background. We stayed in the Glass room, which was every bit as chic as it looks on the website. The room was both larger and quieter than our apartment in Washington, DC!

Agnieszka and Martin went out of their way to provide us the best service and local advice. I arrived at Duval to be greeted with roses for my birthday, which Agnieszka had bought at the market at the request of my fiance. Agnieszka also arranged reservations at Stacja Rynek (which was delicious, of course). When we arrived at the restaurant, the waitress handed us a local tour guide that Agnieszka had left for us there, and specially placed a modern candle-cupid arrangement on our table (!!).

We loved the location in the Old Town near the town square; although touristy, the square was bustling with a Christmas market and filled with lights at night (see photos).

The building also has a restaurant and tea room, and so in the evening the smell of mulled wine greets you as you walk in the door. I can't say enough about our experience, we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Castle Inn
#26 of 126 in Warsaw
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Północne
Hotel Bellotto
Hotel Bellotto
#39 of 126 in Warsaw
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duval Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duval Serviced Apartments

Property: Duval Serviced Apartments
Address: Ul. Nowomiejska, 10, Warsaw 00-271, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Duval Serviced Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 17thC listed town house there are 4 romantic studios, comfortable and independent- just a few steps from Old Town Square. Superb location. Breakfasts available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Duval Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing