We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic ballet”

Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera
Ranked #53 of 330 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera is Poland's leading opera, ballet and concert venue, where rich tradition and a clear vision for the future meet. Offering each season a host of first-rate productions - many developed in co-production with international partners - the opera house contributes significantly to the richness of Poland's cultural life. The Teatr Wielki's building, erected in the first half of the 19th century according to a design by Italian architect Antonio Corazzi, was a haven for Polish culture and heritage at a time when the country was under foreign occupation from 1772 to 1918. After a short spell of Poland's independence, the Teatr Wielki was turned into rubble as Warsaw succumbed to German forces at the onset of World War II. Rebuilt from ruins, the opera house reopened just over 50 years ago, in 1965, and is currently home to the Polish National Opera, Polish National Ballet, and Opera Gallery. It is a place where the universal idea of synthesis of the arts has been consistently put in action, providing audiences with superb works by leading contemporary artists to see and savour. Being a thoroughly modern institution, it draws from the synergy of various ideas, goals, and aspirations.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Saw the Polish National Ballet perform The Rite of Spring to celebrate the centenary of Nijinsky's original choreography. There were also two other choreographies to the same music. I must say, I preferred Maurice Bejart's version.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank trishwnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    34
    16
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not overwhelming but worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

A big elegant hall at the center of Warsaw. I liked the building from the outside very much. However, I didn't find the inside very special or impressing, neither the structure nor the decoration.
Very elegant and well designed, of course, that's why it worth a visit, but I missed the factor that would make it overwhelming, like "La Scala" in Milan or "Palau de la Musica" in Barcelona.
Unfortunately, the acoustics is no comfort, as it's very "dry", means that the sound disappears in a blink of an eye without leaving any resonance behind.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Halka at the Warsaw Opera”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Opera House is a big imposing old building a little way from the old town, the actual auditorium is more modern inside. There was a tiny cafe where I couldn't get a seat to sit down after I'd bought my coffee. Big free cloakroom but queues for small toilets, same as everywhere.
Had bought a ticket online which I collected just before, but it wasn't the actual seat I'd selected. Not ultra posh, but everyone well turned out, so felt a little too casually dressed.
Chaos on leaving, as it was raining/snowing, but managed to get a taxi to get me away.
Opera itself was underwhelming - many of the singers seemed second rate, and the production and acting were old fashioned. The whole thing lacked portrayal of emotion and didn't engage you. Good orchestra though and some moving chorus pieces in the second half.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby2007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A "must see" in Warsaw!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been to several shows here - both opera and ballet. It is a facility you must see. The communists always liked their "arts," so it has an historical feel to it. Since it was rebuilt during that era, they allowed it to be rebuilt as an historical museum-type building. Go see something there! I take students to Poland and we always go there!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank N. J. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Its a big opera house, its interior its very unique and impresive, its very beautifull, its worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank albavsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera also viewed

 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing