We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for hostel , but reception stuff could be more efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw
Ranked #111 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Warsaw
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The location is excellent (20 min. to walk to the city center and main railway station ), the rooms and other facilities were clean, the overall staff was nice and friendly, however the reception was not very prompt and efficient. The lockers for private belongings had no keys (the offered excuse was –“someone probably just forgot to return it, so it is nothing we can do about it”) , the laundry was not done on time (“sorry, we had a problems with the washing mashing”) and etc.

Conclusion – good place for the easy –going backpackers who looking for place just to sleep overnight, but probably not good enough for other kind of travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

First impressions were immediately bad, there was a really nasty smell of drains in the reception area but as my room seemed OK I thought I may as well stay so as not to lose my deposit/first nights fee and I didn't want to spend my holiday looking for somewhere else to stay, that's not why I go on holiday.
Unfortunately, my room (Room A on the first floor,a private double room) was directly above the reception and the smell very quickly built up once I closed the window that was open when I first arrived.
This left me with the dilemma of enduring the smell or sleeping in the cold with the added benefit of the smell of smoke from people smoking outside the main entrance. I went for the option of shivering through the night.
The kitchen was Ok but it's quite small for the size of the hostel with only one fridge and cooker.
The bathrooms were reasonable but I could see them being inadequate if the hostel was full.
With all this combined I did my best to stay out of the place.
The final insult came as I was packing my bag to leave on Sunday. When I knelt down to pick up something that fell under the bed I found, along with other detritus, 2 used condoms! Pretty disgusting you have to admit!

This place only gets 2 stars because the reception staff were reasonably friendly and the WiFi was free.

I very much doubt I'll visit again.

Room Tip: Chose one somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nathan's Villa is a nice hostel located in the centre of Warsaw. It took me some time to get there, as the place is quite tucked away and therefore (at least for me and some taxi drivers) pretty hard to find.

Once inside it's quite nice, very friendly staff and okay rooms. The bathroom is really modern and nice, but it seemed to me that it did not get cleaned daily/properly.

The kitchen is also very nice and modern, also a bit messy but I hold sloppy guests accountable for that:)

Overall I have had a very nice stay at this hostel. I met some lovely people, the staff was cool, it's cheap and it's located near a couple of milkbars so I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AiaSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having booked at under £10/head for a stag do we came here expecting the worst and were pleasantly surprised. In terms of location the square opposite provides a variety of restaurants while the town centre and bus/train stations are within easy walking distance. The clubbing district is a little further away but there are frequent and inexpensive taxis running to and from so this wasn't really an issue either.

The hostel itself was very clean, the staff polite and friendly and particularly helpful both in working out how to release a member of our party from prison and looking after our valuables while we were there. The beds were pretty comfy and there were various large areas to chill out, all the residents we met were very friendly. Use of the hostel computers was quick and easy but not really necessary due to the free wifi and abundance of plugs for phone charging, not that you need internet for christ's sake, you're in poland, go and enjoy the dirt cheap vodka!

All in all a great hostel that served to host an even greater trip - Warstour 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in both the one is Warsaw and Krakow. Warsaw one is nicer but both are nice. We really like it here. We were in the main building. It was about a 15 minute walk from the central train station and the 'ghostbuster building". You will know it when you see it. Tallest, nicest building around. Or watch the movie. Turn down the street that Novotel is on and walk until you get to the street that the hostel is on. Ghostbuster building will be to your back. Novotel will be on your left. If you arrive at the Zarcony station and you will if you are on Eurolines bus, you have to get a bus to the central (Take the pedestrian tunnel to the other side of the road to catch bus) but get off right after the ghostbuster building (next stop after central station). Back to the hostel. We had a really nice time there. It is big with lots of common spaces with comfy couches. REALLY clean. Beds comfy. Dorms set up with nice big lockers. There was a light, shelf and plug next to each bed. Really cool! The kitchen is the best we have seen in a hostel in a long time. Stainless steel appliances, two fridges, big eating area. Just watch your toes on the board in between the kitchen and dining room. Got me twice! The staff was really nice and spoke perfect English. We had to have something mailed to the American Express office and the girl called them for me to verify. Free wi-fi worked well but only in the kitchen/dining and common room next to the kitchen. They also had free computers downstairs. We had a late night bus and they stored our bags and let us hang out downstairs using their wi-fi all day. The showers were pretty nice. However, the lock on the one nearest the kitchen was either broken or I couldn't figure it out. I think the showers on the floor below the kitchen were nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

MAYBE YOU THINK that you can’t go to Hell before you die. Wrong. Nathan’s Hostel in Warsaw would be an excellent place to sample it beforehand.

We took a flatlet in this hostel for a week.

Our room had:
(i) intermittent hot water;
(ii) satellite receiver not working;
(iii) toilet seat broken (fixed later);
(iv) insects eating our bedclothes;
(v) no wardrobe (or towel rail in bathroom);
(vi) Our room faced into an echoing courtyard. Directly opposite is a school, so kids playing during the day.

Now the really bad news:

It appears that our flatlet was designed for school teachers whilst looking after their flock. Every few days, this hostel has an intake of about 30-50 school kids on 2 day tours of Warsaw, but they only had 2 teachers per group and these teachers slept on a different floor.

On our floor, to our left were 2 small rooms, into which they crammed SIX 9/10 year old girls IN EACH ONE. To our right, the communal loo/showers they had to use. Result: total pandemonium. All the girls, totally unsupervised, completely out of control, shouting and screaming all night long, running up and down the corridor past our room to get to the toilet and slamming doors. Impossible to sleep under such conditions.

The room was totally unsuitable for letting out to private individuals such as ourselves whilst rioting schoolkids next door.

Room Tip: Best avoided, at least in Block D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewc304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Manager, General Manager at Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Andrew,
Your room was thoroughly inspected after you departure by a qualified company, as we take any 'bug issue' very seriously- we found nothing of the sort. There we no bugs nor moths- not sure how to explain tiny holes in your garments- faulty washing machine perhaps?

As for a school group- all I can do is to apologise one more time, as we did while you were still our guest.
The group went out for a dinner, the food didn't agree with them. Quite a few kids had a food poisoning- two on your floor were the most extreme cases. Teachers were overwhelmed by the number of sick kids. As you already know, as we informed you the next day, we actually had to call an ambulance, so they could get professional help.
It was just an unbelievably bad luck that all this happened during your stay- I can imagine that the whole Warsaw experience would be shadowed by sleepless nights.

I've been running this Hostel for over years now, I am very passionate about the business and satisfied guests are my top priority. Your review was like a knife in a heart really...

I can assure you, and anyone reading this, that all problems mentioned were taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

WiFi in the second building is terrible!! I brought my own notebook and I had big troubles to connect with the wifi. When I finally did (after an hour of clicking "refresh" and changing tons of stuffs in the settings) it was really slow. In the reception desk they told my if I can't connect with WiFi I can use the computers in the building A (where the reception desk is).... yeaaah right. I brought my own computer (which is quite heavy) not because I like to travel with it and to play solitaire!!
To say something good - the rooms are really nice - but come on! One shower for 10 people?
Stuff is also frendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in Building A where (according to the stuff) WiFi is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Manager, General Manager at Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello, I'm very happy to report that, based on our guests suggestion, we recently added two new WiFi routers, so there shouldn't be any more problems with our WiFi :)
best regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Południowe
Novotel Warszawa Centrum
Ibis Warszawa Centrum
#37 of 127 in Warsaw
837 reviews
Śródmieście Południowe
H15 Boutique
H15 Boutique
#1 of 127 in Warsaw
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warsaw Marriott Hotel
#16 of 127 in Warsaw
2,765 reviews
Polonia Palace Hotel
#4 of 127 in Warsaw
2,796 reviews
Hotel Aramis
#53 of 127 in Warsaw
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw

Address: Ul. Piekna 24/26, Warsaw 00-549, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 317 Specialty Lodging in Warsaw
Hotel Class:2 star — Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel is situated in the city centre, yet stands in a beautiful, quiet courtyard, just 15 minutes walk from Warszawa Centralna (the main train station).Cheap and friendly bars and restaurants await you in our neighbourhood.We're located next to the U.S. Embassy, British Consulate, Lazienki Royal Park.Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw is the city's first backpacker friendly hostel.As our guest you will receive every night:FREE coffee and tea all around the clockFREE Internet (also WIFI)FREE locker, shelf and a reading lamp in your dormFREE use of safeFREE use of storage roomFREE tourism and transportation infoThe third Nathan's Villa is a truly masterpiece. Hostel sets a warm and friendly atmosphere. Our variety of common rooms and fully loaded kitchen offer all necessary amenities to the traveller. We have 4 common rooms, Our tv offers you over 500 channels in all the shows' original languages. There is free high speed internet access with PC's equipped with firewire/USB connections and CD burners for easy storage of your digital pictures.The hostel is centrally heated in the winter and it has 24 hour hot water. All of our staff speaks perfect English and when you want to experience the local culture we have all the information you will need to visit Warsaw's best sites.We sell books, phone cards, snacks and sodas on the spot. We accept credit cards (VISA Master Card and Visa Electron) .There is no smoking inside the hostel.We are open year round, and we’re NOT a big dorm summer hostel.There are 19 rooms spread over three floors. 95 beds can accommodate groups as well as single travellers. We offer private double and twin rooms as well as dorms with 4, 5,6,8, 10 and 12 beds.We provide you with excellent quality for the low price, but please remember WE'RE NOT A HOTEL.This is a Hostel with many people meeting and socialising together and that means that they can make noise sometimes =) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan's Villa Hostel Warsaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing