We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and trendy but unwelcoming and difficult to use”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New and trendy but unwelcoming and difficult to use”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This recently built hotel is in a business district near the Warsaw Airport - an area that's buzzing during the day but is dead at night.

The standard rooms are tiny and claustrophobic. The bed touches both walls and there is a small standing area next to the bed. There is no desk and chair so it's difficult to do work. You have to perch on the side of the bed to use a swinging table on a massive base next to the bed that also blocks access into and out of the bed. A strange design that I assume tries to be cool and space efficient but fails on practicality. Internet is included in the rate and works well. The bed mattress is open coil covered in foam. It's rather firm, and because of the foam is hot to sleep on. The bathroom is tiny with a small shower cubicle. The room was clean and fresh but very gloomy. There were no curtains...I eventually discovered switches for electric blinds (necessary as you would have to stand on the bed to close curtains).

Check in is supposed to be "self service" but a receptionist guides you through the laborious process - only for it to fail at the end because the machines can't read American Express cards. I was then checked in by the receptionist. Payment is up front on arrival (always a bad sign in my view). This means every other purchase has to be made at the point of consumption. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel - but it's for lunch times only. In the evenings a few snacks are available from a bar area. Food was limited - essentially Grilled Chicken or Salmon with Chips or Pasta. Cheap but very uninspiring. There is nothing else in the area apart from the Novotel across the street which has a full service restaurant in the evening and seems a whole lot more welcoming.

The price (Zloty 240/night) reflects the basic nature of the offering, but as long as you are selective there are similar rates available at much better hotels in Warsaw.

In conclusion - a bold attempt to be trendy and distinctive, but for me it was a difficult to use and rather disappointing. The small and dingy rooms would be normal in space strapped Japan, but seem out of place in Poland.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milosz S, Dyrektor generalny at Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Englishmanonholiday,

It is already quite a long time we had the pleasure to host you, but I hope there will be a chance in future for your return to Sound Garden Hotel.
Your review reminds us of how much we had to do to fulfill all our Guests needs, and thank to the detailed information you were so kind to share, we could upgrade our service.
Shortly:
- the check-in process is much easier now, additionally we already have your profile so it should take about 20 seconds to have the key to your room
- American Express cards are now accepted by the kiosks
- there is more information in the room referring to easiness of using it
- our restaurant serves wider choice of meals
Certainly we did not enlarge the Classic rooms, but please keep in mind to choose one our larger rooms while booking - the types called by us Mezzo and Grande, both including more space to leave and work.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Milosz Stanislawski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    173
    59
    19
    9
See reviews for
29
74
42
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and attended a company seminar / dinner in the hotel. The hotel was brand new, just opened and got many things right. There are a still a few rough edges, and some important deficiencies that need to be addressed.

Firstly the positive:

The rooms are nice and bed comfortable.
Staff mostly helpful and pleasant.
WiFi very good, fast and free.
Food served at the dinner and lunch were nice - nothing really fancy but standard buffet food to a good standard.
Breakfast in the reception simple but OK - good coffee. More choice of food would be welcome.
Conference / meeting room facilites are good.

Some of the rough edges:

My room had nowhere to hang clothes, a rail still not installed.
Lack of toileteries in the shower.
No spare toilet paper.
Room was not serviced / cleaned during my stay.
Check-in is supposed to be automated, but this did not work. Staff were helpful and got me a key quickly.
No bar or restaurant in the hotel.


More serious problems:

Breakfast arranged during the seminar was very late arriving, which was blamed on outside catering company. This is not acceptable, and catering company should be changed!

Check-out was not handled profesionally or smoothly. Huge queues building up, front desk appeared understaffed, angry customers and staff not handling the guest's obvious concern and frustration in a patient manner. I think this problem is linked with the automated check-in not working properly. I was promised an emailed invoice which I have not received yet and will now have to waste time chasing this up.


If the problems above can be addressed, then this could become an attractive option for accomodation close to the airport. If not, then it will no doubt struggle to attract customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoundGardenHotel, Manager at Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

WE would like to thank for visiting Sound Garden Hotel and providing us your valuable feedback.
We are very happy that you found many positive comments about our hotel, room and staff.
Your comment and advice gave us a lot of knowledge to improve certain areas and procedures to be more friendly for our Guests.
We hope you are still willing to visit us in the future, as we would like to have a chance to prove all our services work properly and on time.

With best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warsaw Airport
0.1 mi away
Novotel Warszawa Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Warsaw Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Warszawa Centrum
Ibis Warszawa Centrum
#34 of 124 in Warsaw
775 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Warszawa Reduta
1.7 mi away
Ibis Warszawa Reduta
Ibis Warszawa Reduta
#29 of 124 in Warsaw
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport

Property: Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport
Address: Zwirki i Wigury 18, Warsaw 02-092, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first SMART (Saving time, Music - designed, Affordable, Responsible for environment, Trend - setting) hotel in Warsaw. Our offer includes only the services hotel Guests really expect. We invite you to relax your body in our soothing bed, refresh under powerful rain-shower, boost your energy with the Sound Bar buffet and check the fastest internet connection among hotels in the City. Hotel offers breakfast from 6:30 until 9:30 during the week and from 7 until 10. A cost for breakfast is 50 PLN per one person, Convenient location between your office and the airport, quick self-check-in, and special Sound Garden Sound Selection will simply make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sound Garden Hotel Warsaw Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing