We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be afraid to stay here.”
Review of Hera

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warsaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hera
Ranked #45 of 81 Warsaw B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The corridors are tall and dark with stained carpets which does give a slightly forbidding air, but if you're not expecting to spend long periods of time wandering the hallways then this shouldn't be a problem. The guest house gives the impression of part dormitory, because apparently it is but I suffered no problems with noise or any other disturbances.

I was actually very happy with the room itself. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. I actually got quite a lot of work done, which was good. The only other place in the hotel in which you are likely to spend time is the bar/restaurant. They have some cheap meals, which aren't great but certainly not terrible either. Breakfast is quite a disappointment, especially if you're going to stay for any appreciable length of time. Just some ham and boring bread with some dried cucumber slices, a lettuce leaf, wedge of tomato and jam. On weekends you get a boiled egg too!

The staff, to quote another reviewer are a bit 'civil-service'. The bar staff were okay, but the reception staff were slow and give the impression that they really couldn't care less. Sometimes, they weren't even there.

If you're in Warsaw for a luxurious holiday, then this is not the place for you. However, if you're offered a place by the University of Warsaw on a business visit like I was, then you shouldn't suffer too greatly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glibblag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

July '13, stayed for a week and very content here. Clean, comfortable, good simple breakfasts, bar / restaurant serves good meals, free wifi. Staff a bit civil-service, well it is a Uni-run place, very helpful and professional. On main bus routes incl 180 tourist route, and handy connection to Chopin Airport bus 175. Easily recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidMac646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived in Hera as students in september 2011. They did not have a room ready for us, so they gave us a room in the guest house section, which was far better than the rooms in dorm (upstairs) but, it was SUPER cold! The carpet stinks, the room was too small and if we did not bring our very warm blankets with us, we would definitely catch cold.
But the WORST part is the the dorm. I am writing this review, for those students who are coming to Warsaw, as University of Warsaw students, with lots of hopes and dreams. its a disaster. So, plz think about renting a flat as soon as you can. The toilets are disgusting, the showers are dirty. only 3 showers for about 40 rooms!! there is always big line waiting to use toilet! the kitchen is awful, too small with only an electric stove with just 3 places, which is most of the time occupied and supper dirty!
there was two fridge, each at one end of the corridor and most of the time fulllll!!
we escaped as soon as we found a place to rent! it was a nightmare!!
The smell of the burned food or the spices used by other students is mostly in the whole floor.
The staffs are not helpful and most of the time can not speak English at all!

The location is quit good, close to several buss stops and a very nice park. this is the only bright side of this

Room Tip: The rooms in the guest house are very cold, so the more they are closer to the main entrance, the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We enjoyed the stay at Hotel Alka ,the rooms are cozy , we suggest to have room floor with carpet atleast during winter .

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank damalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Don’t look for a web page or an email address as the Hotel Hera has neither. You'll need to phone reception to bag a room here. It's not a term-time student residence exactly, but rather offers no frills digs to those visiting the University of Warsaw: At these rates, you'll be glad to hear you don't have to be one of them. For a single booked for June 2010 cost yours truly less than £70 for three nights stay. And the last was cheaper than the other two because it was into the weekend!
While you can't walk to the Hera from downtown, buses are frequent. Catch the 131 outside the front of the Novotel near Centralny Train station and get off at Spacenowa-it takes about ten minutes –you’ll see the Hyatt Regency. The three storey Hera is on Belwederska Street just over the road.
This is an embassy district: Sweden's, Great Britain's and Russia's are all nearby. In addition, the exquisite Belvedere Palace and Lazienki Park with its royal Summer palace are minutes walk away. In fact when you're staying at the Hera, it's almost like having Poland's most deluxe back garden-complete with peacocks- right behind you.
Most rooms have w.c and a large sink but two shower cubicles and a bath are across the hall if you’re billeted on the ground floor. It can smell a tad musty and yes, some of the furniture looks very, very tired. However, it's not without character, the bed is very comfortable and you’ll have both a telly and a phone at your disposal. Soap and cute looking towels are provided but you'll have to bring your own shower hat, other toiletries and hair dryer.
There's also a kiosk-type shop in the lobby
Breakfast is included in the rate. Don't expect to refuel with cooked fare- this is quite a basic repast. Stern notices taped under the coffee urn inform guests they are limited to two rolls, two hot drinks and one fruit juice tops. Whatever you do, don't forget to bring your breakfast card.....
Unlike the rooms, the licensed hotel restaurant has had a very recent refurbishment and offers evening meals. That's another selling point as there seem to be a dearth of budget eateries close by in this neighborhood. It is also difficult to imagine the Belvedere in Lazienki Park holding a Happy Hour as does the Hera in the late afternoon.
Sure, Hotel Hera isn't particularly photogenic and can at times exude a rather er, forbidding air from the front door, through Reception and right along its vast corridors. That said, looking around the vast, pedestrian-unfriendly expanses of Warsaw's skyscraping New Town, there's very little to inspire in terms of often very costly, super-generic alternatives. If you are on a tight budget and/or flying solo but just cannot face the thought of checking into a hostel dormitory this might just be the gaff for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fidelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Do you have any communist nostalgias? No? Are you traveling with an extremely tight budget?No again?Then forget Hera, or you are going to regret the trip. For me, the choice had only one reason: the low price.
It was far better than I expected, even if, from the outside, the building looked rather creepy. The huge irony is that just in front of Hera is Hyatt, with a modern and neat facade:)))
So, what did I get for my money? a big,reconditioned, quiet room and a bathroom with a wc and a sink. The showers were on the hall (only two, for a huge number of rooms, but fortunately the hotel was mostly empty). The bed was great and clean,but for the rest...old furniture, a nice, decorative lamp on a table (not working) and a stained rug on the floor(covering the otherwise clean and nice wooden floor). The strange smell the room had in the beginning went away quickly after I opened the window - I think the room staid unoccupied for a long time.In the room there was also a small TV(receiving only 3-4 polish channels). They cleaned my room every day. Breakfast was included, It was served in a nice, cozy restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel. Breakfast was continental and it consisted in some pieces of good salami, a cheese cube, butter, jam, bred (very good, black and with seeds) coffee (I've drunk worse and with a far higher price) and a glass of orange juice. Everything was eatable.I had to give up temporarily to my vegetarianism, in order to avoid starvation(in Poland almost everything is with meat).
About the staff: at the reception, the ladies knew a little bit of English, enough to give you the necessary indications. But in the restaurant...only polish...rather frustrating...
Another good thing with Hera is that there are buses connecting the hotel with the central area just in front of it or around the corner, so the position is ok ( some 6-7 stops until the University).
Conclusion: Hera is an option if you travel with a very low budget. You can pay much more for the same conditions, or worse(I had a lot of such experiences in the past). I enjoyed the stay and liked Warsaw. But if I'll come again and not for a professional purpose,I`ll avoid Hera...just because it remembers me to much of the dusty and gloomy communist world of my youth. I'll let the photos to tell more about Hera.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank corinaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amg9355563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Południowe
H15 Boutique
H15 Boutique
#1 of 129 in Warsaw
741 reviews
Ibis Warszawa Centrum
#35 of 129 in Warsaw
851 reviews
Warsaw Marriott Hotel
#16 of 129 in Warsaw
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Południowe
Novotel Warszawa Centrum
Polonia Palace Hotel
#4 of 129 in Warsaw
2,854 reviews
Hotel Aramis
#61 of 129 in Warsaw
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera

Address: Ul. Belwederska 26/30, Warsaw 00-594, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw > Ujazdów
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Warsaw
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hera Guest House Hotel Warsaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing