We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving piece of art work”

Jewish Ghetto Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.92*
and up
Warsaw Sightseeing Tour with English Speaking Guide
Ranked #15 of 340 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Moving piece of art work”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This bass relief and sculpture is very poignant and moving. Each of the two sides is different. Enjoyed best if you have a guide to explain it to you. Among the best things we saw in Warsaw.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dgfromnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    224
    58
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
361 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A Fine Memorial to Suh a Sad Event”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Located adjacent to the new Jewish Museum that just opened this beautiful sculpture successfully captures the travails but the ultimate triumph of the human sppirit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“Very Emotional place no matter where you are from”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

When my wife & I travelled to Poland, and a pretty little town called Oswiecim, just nearby we visited a terrible place.
My beautiful wife collected a lovely smooth rock from the ground where we visited.
I collect rocks from all places we have travelled and this was going to be a very special rock from our trip, based on the history this small item had seen and endured since the Nazi's built hell on earth we all know as Auschwitz.
This small rock if could speak, would tell hundreds of thousands of stories, hopes, dreams, sadness and sorrow. Also this small rock would have seen and bore witness to some of the worlds most unbelievable atrocities, unspeakable acts of terror, violence, humiliation and also cowardes & courage.
WOW
What a thing I have just placed in my pocket!

This troubled me to the point of not wanting to keep this in my pocket, however we both needed to never forget what we have now witnessed and needed to remember every time we picked up or looked at this wonderful little rock.

UNTIL:


We were brought to this most stunningly beautiful Jewish Ghetto Memorial.
Without saying a word to each other, my wife gestured at the monument, and I knew exactly what we both wanted and needed to do with this little rock.

The day we arrived, it was sub zero temperatures, very icy and snowing.
I made the journey to the upper step of the memorial, grabbed the little rock from my pocket, and placed it alongside others that adorned the steps of this magnificent piece of architecture.
The feelings of sadness, happiness, relief, sorry all flooded through me as I placed this stone.

A truly amazing feeling at a truly amazing memorial.

Ensure you get a local tour guide to show you all about this monument, as well as everything else that happened in this beautiful town.

A MUST see before traveling to Warsaw is Adrian Broadie in "The Pianist" If history is your thing, this movie is a must see for all who will travel to Warsaw.

Please be careful as this monument when wet, or icy, is totally void of any type of traction and slippery beyond imagination.

However I survived.
Millions who this memorial is dedicated to did not.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very moving”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stopped at this beautiful memorial on our recent holiday - whatever your views/religion/politics of the 2nd World War, I defy anyone not to be totally moved by the experience of just being in this place - it is extremely humbling, and more so when we were told that there are now only 1% of Jewish people now living in Warsaw.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wished there was more to see but nonetheless don't miss it if you are a history buff.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Don't expect too much. Very little was preserved given the tumultuous times but a gallant effort. You need to be interested in history to get the most out of this. A good guide is important otherwise you won't be able to place the right context on this if you come from outside Europe/have no European/Jewish ties.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ubermum_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Ghetto Memorial also viewed

 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Jewish Ghetto Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing