We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, old grandure. I miss her.”
Review of Europejski Hotel

Europejski Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Europejski Hotel
Ranked #100 of 124 Hotels in Warsaw
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tired, old grandure. I miss her.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We (my Polish girlfriend and I) stayed here twice in December 2003. The location is most excellent, right across from the Bristol and on the Royal Route. It really can't get much better for tourists in Warsaw.

Sadly the hotel could get better. She was old and tired, in desperate need of attention. There were, um, ladies in the lobby. The rooms were of an older, more formal time in Poland. Pre-war. From our room we could see pock marks on the building across the street. When we asked, we were told they were from the Uprising. I'll never forget.

Sadly the hotel is closed and who knows what will become of her. I miss her tired elegance but I stay in a modern hotel now when in Warsaw.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Europejski in June, 2013 and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel, as well as the service. The breakfast was excellent. This hotel was great value for the money. The location is good also, close to the railway station and across the street from the old town.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Stayed here for one night after taking my partner on a tour of my relatives homeland, taking in Zakopane & the Tatra's, Krakow, and Mazovia regions, and ending in Warsaw. I'm glad it was for one night only as it was a total disappointment and not worth the money we paid which was a considerable sum for a standard double.

The hotel was very dated and had that 'just got over Communism' desperate feel to it. The corridors were dark and sombre with rooms lined up in endless rows as in a dormitory. Our room itself was very basic with bulky furniture & not much room to move around in. The bathroom was atrocious, the suite (consisting of just basic toilet and bath without shower facility) was rusting in places and unclean. The bed, however, proved quite comfy and the sheets appeared fresh (but then Poles are known for their exquisite linens!)

The one element the hotel had going for it was indeed its location, as other reviewers have noted. In one direction, you have the fabulous Royal Route (Krakowskie Przedmiescie) leading to the Old Town, in the opposite direction you have Nowy Swiat (New Quarter). Other attractions close by included the Saxon Gardens, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, and the smart boutiques of chic Chmielna Street. Generally however, would not go back to this hotel, would not recommend, and could not WAIT to get out of there!

**Please note this review is based on experiences some years back**

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baba-Waga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2006

Stayed here in May of 2004 after reading some good reviews on the hotel. During our previous visit to Warsaw we stayed at the Grand, but got tired of the walk to the Old Town. We were excited about the hotel because of the location, but were horribly disspointed.
It was dirty, old, smelly, loud, and the water was dripping in the bathroom. There was a terrible, hand held shower which requires the user to practically sit on the tub floor to use. And after seeing the room you would be hard pressed to have any of your body parts touch the tub floor.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessca9658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a week long holiday in Poland and it was by far and away the worst hotel we stayed in during our trip. As mentioned by previous reviewers the location is near perfect, it's really close to the sights of the old town, and also to all the good quality restaurants on the Royal Way. There is a bus stop almost outside the hotel which both the airport bus and the bus out to Wilanow stop at and of course the building itself is interesting, but they seem to be the hotels only real selling points.

The room we had was a reasonable size and had a fridge which was an added bonus, but the beds were so soft, the base actually noticeably dipped when you sat on it, so it really wasn't a comfortable nights sleep, every time I moved I thought I might roll out. The duvet cover had a big circular hole in it on the top by design, exposing the duvet itself, which was quite disconcerting as you don't know if they wash the duvets every time they change the bedding. The bathroom was a good size and well lit, but I'm only 5ft 4" and I couldn't stand upright under the hand held shower, the pipe wasn't long enough, washing my hair involved crouching and so if you are less mobile this could be quite difficult. We did book a really cheap deal through one of the online websites, so perhaps if we'd booked directly with the hotel we might have faired better.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the hotel is due to change hands to a French chain in August, so all these issues may well get addressed.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank womanintokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2005

Great value and nice facility, contacted hotel directly for a rate, better than online bargains. Actually reserved second room at the desk for my daughter. Dinner room was empty, but it was early afternoon on Sunday when we arrived. Rooms were clean and spacious, mini bar stocked well. No A/C if that's a concern. If you can't appreciate this place, don't leave Paris.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audifanatic2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washiington dc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Rereading the other reviews now that we've returned I really have to question the previous reviewers! This place was SO depressing. The outside while architecturally interesting is sooty and dark--the inside is communist era bleak. Our room had flickering fluorescent lights and two inadequate lamps. The linens were a mess--pillow cases too small for the pillows, old style duvet covers with the big hole on the back (so the duvet kept escaping). The hand held shower nozzle had no shower bracket and the toilet was ancient (no water in the bowl, barely flushed, stinky) with a wobbly plastic seat.

Breakfast was just adequate. Items were not refilled and the coffee carafes were all half full and tepid.

The staff are all very upset over a recent merger with another hotel chain (protest banners hang on all sides of the hotel). This may explain some of the service problems but does not explain away the utterly tired and tattered facilities. I'd steer well clear of this one.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyjoe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Północne
Hotel Harenda
Hotel Harenda
#68 of 124 in Warsaw
118 reviews
Castle Inn
#27 of 124 in Warsaw
494 reviews
Śródmieście Północne
Hotel Mazowiecki
Hotel Mazowiecki
#62 of 124 in Warsaw
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Północne
Royal Route Residence
Royal Route Residence
#51 of 124 in Warsaw
114 reviews
Śródmieście Północne
Hotel Bellotto
Hotel Bellotto
#41 of 124 in Warsaw
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europejski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europejski Hotel

Property: Europejski Hotel
Address: Krakowskie Przedmiescie 13, Warsaw 00-071, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw > Śródmieście Północne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 124 Hotels in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Europejski Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 4-story Hotel, Warsaw's oldest, originally established in 1856. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Europejski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europejski Hotel Warsaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing