We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Strategically located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Polonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Strategically located hotel”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Despite my extensive travel experience where i have experienced various good hotels, i would say this is one of my best stays ever. The rooms at the hotel are king sized. The staff are polite as if truly addressing a royalty. The breakfast spread was again great with lots of choices. The hotel is strategically located at the centre and main attractions are just a walk away. The gym experience was again one of the best which i have experienced in a hotel. A must stay hotel when visiting Warsaw.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,708
    744
    99
    35
    11
See reviews for
319
1,023
178
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The first thing to mention is the excellent service. We were two adults and one 1,5 year old and they did everything to give us an easy vacation. All of our special needs were delivered immediately: at check-in and check-out, cleaning, and in the restaurant. The staff was one step ahead of the tired parents in the restaurant, which served perfect breakfast and buffet dinner as well. Of course the room was quite spacious and comfortable, even luxorious and the hotel was perfectly located. However, the service was the thing in which they eent well over our expectations.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peentri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in the Polonia Palace for four nights in September 2013, prior to (and as part of) an Odysseys Unlimited tour of eastern Europe.

While one could nitpick on some minor issues, we cannot rate this classy hotel at less than five stars. First and foremost, the room was quiet, so we slept well. This may be due in part to the fact that we dealt directly with the hotel in reserving our room (because we checked in two days prior to the official date of the tour), and were thus able to request an inside room on an upper floor. (We had a room on the 6th floor, overlooking an interior well of the building.) It needs to be noted that the Polonia Palace is right on the intersection of two extremely busy four-plus-lane boulevards (Al. Jerozolimskie and Marszał Kowska), and an outside room overlooking one of these boulevards might be expected to be noisy. So we would repeat the recommendations found elsewhere on this site, to request an inside room on an upper floor. We had a standard room, and that was ample in size for us; we saw no need to pay for a superior room.

All of the front desk staff and bellmen were friendly and professional, and spoke excellent English. The breakfast bar, included in our room rate, was very good, including the range of items typical of upscale European hotels. This includes eggs cooked to order by a short-order chef, although on our first morning, the chef had a little trouble with the “easy” part of “fried eggs over easy”. The breakfast bar selection might have been a shade less elegant than the breakfast bars at several of our other five-star hotels on this Odysseys tour, but this fact doesn’t mean that the Polonia Palace doesn’t deserve a five-star rating in its own right.

The location of the hotel is good. Its location at a major intersection could be bad if your room faced the busy boulevards, but it’s good when you want to hop a tram to various Warsaw tourist sights. Actually, most sights are in what we would consider walking distance – a mile or so – and we wound up taking the tram only once, to the Uprising Museum. Warsaw’s classic Old Town is just over one mile away, up Nowy Świat Street – and a walk up Nowy Świat is a good component of any Warsaw tour anyway.

Perhaps our biggest complaint about this hotel is that one cannot get WiFi in the rooms unless one pays an extra fee. WiFi is available at no cost in the lobby, but it is slow, and the password changes every hour. So if you have a device such as a tablet that depends upon WiFi, you have to get the new password from the receptionist each time you log in. The slowness of the WiFi system often made e-mail service dicey – the e-mail sometimes wouldn’t get sent during the time that we were willing to spend sitting in the lobby. And, with no room WiFi, uploading digital photos to the Cloud – a slow process, at least on my iPad in their lobby – is not practical, unless one wants to sit in the lobby for an extended period. But on the positive side, the Polonia does have two computer terminals in their business center that are available to guests at no charge and that, of course, have excellent internet connection. We never had trouble getting access to those terminals.

Another issue is that – contrary to the Polonia’s claims in their list of amenities – our room had no in-room safe. (Ours was not the only room with this problem.) The Polonia does offer complimentary safes for guests in a room beside the front desk, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating in giving you access to these safes. But we were not comfortable going to the front desk a couple times a day to get things in and out of these hotel safes – as we would have done with an in-room safe – so we only deposited those valuables that we felt we could do without for our full 4-day stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChapelHillBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of an Odyssey Unlimited tour. Our hotel room was very large.
The rooms were clean and the service was very good. The breakfast was excellent. By far the best on our tour of eastern Europe. The hotel is in a great location near many shops. It is within walking distance of a large park and even to Old Town, if you have the endurance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggestPhilliesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a weekend away here in December 2013. Hotel Polonia Palace was amazing; we walked into the large lobby area which was really grand and beautiful.

We did not book breakfast in advance, and when we arrived that offered it as 50% discount.

The location is great, almost opposite the main train station and also bus stops opposite too.

We could not fault the hotel, would definitely stay again. The hotel is in the centre, business centre, but the old town is about 20 minutes walk, but you may just as well hop on a bus which stops outside virtually. The only thing is Bojangles bar advertises 50% happy hour before 8pm, but actually it is just 50% off 3 small pages, and does not even include any wine. A little disappointed no live music in the Piano bar on a saturday night; but on the Friday night it was fabulous. Breakfasts were fabulous, even had prosecco!

From the airport, buy a ticket in the airport hall to use the shuttle bus which takes you to Modlin train station, and then the train run roughly hourly right into the centre of Warsaw. Cost was 15 Polish Zlotty. Very reliable and bus seems to be at the train station to coincide with the flight times. Most people seem to do this.

There was a small restaurant called Petitt something (cant remember second word), but on the way to the old town walking from the hotel, super lovely place where locals frequent; excellent breakfast, and excellent cakes too. Open from 7am til late at night.

We did not find any other bars or venues playing live music, so the hotel was where we ended up.

There was an italian restaurant in the old town (had to queue to get in) and looked nothing special, plastic seats and tables.. but full of locals - called Trattoria Rucola - fabulous food, again full of locals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Warsaw, where we stayed at the Polonia Palace. We booked it as part of a deal with British Airways. I had however read good reports of it on Trip Advisor.

However, it exceeded our expectations.

From the start, the hotel staff were polite, helpful and friendly - and they all spoke English. The lovely receptionist gave us a free upgrade from a standard room to something a bit better, and we were asked if we wanted a city view or a quieter room at the side. We went from the city view. A charming, helpful porter took our luggage and showed us the way, and we were delighted when we saw our room as it had a superb view of the floodlit Palace of Culture and Science which was opposite. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a well supplied bathroom and mini-bar (which we didn't use, but the fridge was useful to store the complmentary water in).

Every day fresh water was left by the bed, along with a big chocolate coin to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the hotel; a very nice touch. The room and bathroom were cleaned daily to a very good standard, with fresh towels supplied and toiletries topped up.

Some people have mentioned that rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy. Well, it is a busy street out there, with cars and buses and trams, but the rooms are double glazed and we did not find it a problem. It may be more of one in summer when you have windows open, but not in winter. We preferred to be able to look out at the city landscape anyway.

Breakfasts were, as others have mentioned, magnificent. There was a vast array of cold ham, cheese and fish, fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereal, yoghurt, pastries, bread, a hot buffet with sausage, beans and bacon, and best of all, a chef who would cook you an omlette to order while you watched. The chef was very efficient, and even if there was a short queue of people, you were not kept waiting long, and in any case it was worth it to have such a freshly cooked breakfast.

We did not eat in the restuarant, but we had a couple of drinks in the bar. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we did not find the bar prices too expensive. Again, the service was impeccable. What I liked was that every member of staff called guests "Sir" or "Madam", and was unfailingly polite at all times.

The hotel is very well placed. We walked everywhere, but the hotel is convenient for all modes of transport, including the train; being about 5 minutes walk from the central station. The old town is 15-20 minutes walk away, or you can take a tram or bus from right outside the hotel. As for places to eat, you are spolied for choice with a huge selection of cafes, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance (including a marvellous Italian place in the side street next to the hotel!). There is also a shopping centre which includes, er, Marks and Spencer almost next door, and another massive shopping mall next to the station.

The hotel is a 15-20 minute taxi journey from Warsaw Chopin airport, or I understand that there is a bus. We took a taxi, using the rank right outside the arrivals hall, ignoring the touts who lurk inside. We also used one of the taxi firms recommended by signs within the airport. The cost of our journey was 30 zlotys, so under £7. We asked the hotel to order us a taxi to go back to the airport, and this arrived promptly; however it was not one of the "recommended" firms and he charged us 60 zlotys!! We did not feel inclined to argue, because compared with the UK this is still cheap; but in future I would tell the hotel that we know the fare should be 30-40 zlotys so the driver should not try to charge us more. We could have used a car provided by the hotel, which was offered at a cost of 80 zlotys.

Some people have commented upon the charge for Wi-fi in your room. I agree that is annoying when you are used to wi-fi/internet connection on demand at home, but there is free wi-fi (code provided by hotel reception) in the main lobby so this is not much of an issue. We found it quite pleasant to check emails etc for an hour in the lobby....,because the hotel kindly provided complimentary mulled wine between 6 and 8pm, so we could sip that in front of the fantastic Christmas tree they had and feel quite festive! There is also a free business centre (password provided by reception) if you need more facilities. We were able to use this to check in online and print our boarding passes for our flight home, which was helpful.

The only teeny-tiny complaint I have is that the tea provided at breakfast was dreadful. The water just was not hot enough, but it is a very minor issue when compared with the excellent service we received elsewhere.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. It has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, in terms of comfort and service. The staff are to be commended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the city view, side ones may be quieter but there won't be much to see, so take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuatrumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

In 10 years of travelling this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

The room was big enough for us to lay our things out, there was a bar fridge (we ignored the minibar and stored our own snacks in it), a nice big bathroom, hanging space for all our clothes and a safe for valuables. As others have said, for breakfast you could have almost anything - fruit, cereal, meats, hot food including personally cooked omelettes, seafood (herrings and smoked salmon) etc. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were far too soft - so I just folded mine in half - problem solved.

There are two shopping centres nearby, as well as public transport (local subways, trams plus the main train station) and dinner options in addition to the hotel restaurant and bar. As for noise - both inside and out - it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Południowe
Novotel Warszawa Centrum
Śródmieście Południowe
H15 Boutique
H15 Boutique
#1 of 124 in Warsaw
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#2 of 124 in Warsaw
654 reviews
Śródmieście Południowe
Mercure Warsaw Grand
Mercure Warsaw Grand
#13 of 124 in Warsaw
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polonia Palace Hotel

Property: Polonia Palace Hotel
Address: Aleje Jerozolimskie 45, Warsaw 00-692, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Warsaw
#5 Luxury Hotel in Warsaw
#9 Romantic Hotel in Warsaw
#10 Business Hotel in Warsaw
#11 Family Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Polonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polonia Palace Hotel is a grand Warsaw hotel of distinction combining tradition with modernity and beauty with comfort. 206 elegant rooms and suites (3 rooms for disabled guests) equipped with WLAN awaits you at our Warsaw hotel. Accommodation options include a variety of rooms, suites and the exclusive English Apartment featuring a unique view of Warsaw with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Polonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polonia Palace Warsaw
Hotel Polonia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing