We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A (not so little) gem!”
Review of Gromada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gromada Hotel
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Warsaw
Reviewed December 26, 2012

OK - the surroundings aren't pretty but you can't beat this hotel for location and price.

Positives:
A speedy check-in. One signature and a few keystrokes on the computer and that was it! Way to go! A few minutes walk from the Palace of Culture. Has a small restaurant downstairs (which at first appearance resembles a children's playroom!) and a good-priced bar that serves hot snacks and cold beer/vodka and operates very generous opening hours! Very friendly barstaff but found the restaurant staff a bit cool. No problem with the Warsaw winter - hotel is over-heated! Thankfully, room radiators can be turned off. Didn't notice any air-con though so might be stifling in summer. Nice big lobby (all the better for checking-in tour groups). Free Wi-Fi and a choice of smoking accomodation. OK sized room/bathroom for a capital city. Very patient room service staff - room was always serviced daily no matter what time we vacated it. (Not always a given in some hotels!) Excellent price for airport transfer (when booked at Reception).Great, mad Indian restaurant nearby ("Bollywood") - has karaoke. Has to be seen/heard to be believed!

Negatives:
Wi-Fi access code had to renewed daily. You have to line up at Reception every day for a brand new code - a real bind especially as Reception was woefully understaffed (and husband was keen to keep up with the sporting action at home). Hotel is very popular with tour/conference groups (hence big lobby!). Lots of noise at night from so-called adults letting off steam. Hotel is large. We kept finding new wings and corridors. It is spread over two blocks so there was lots of door-banging, shouting and noisy suitcase wheels trundling along corridors. Only one elevator - very, very slow! No tea/coffee making facilties in room. No fridge either. TV choice was limited. Only one English language channel - Euronews.

Despite thes gripes, we enjoyed our stay. Definitely worth 4 stars. Just wished that they would allow Wi-Fi access for length of stay. Oh and a free city map would be nice too.

Room Tip: The new wing is quieter as you are away from the generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 907 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

and not in a good way. Unless you stay in the more expensive, new part you are subject to dated decor and old budget furniture and fittings. Bathrooms are pretty shocking as well. Only stayed there for one night and thanked God it was only for one night. Don't know how they got their 3 star rating as I stayed in a one star hotel in Warsaw before that boasted much higher standard than this! Avoid like a plague!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartadePolonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ENRIQUE S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I took my 80 year old grandma on trip to Warsaw and we stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November. I think we were in the old part of the hotel (not across the walkway) and I had no complaints about the room. The rooms are of a decent size, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom, with baths, was a little dated but absolutely fine.

The breakfast is brilliant- cooked bacon, sausage, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, cereal, croissants, including some polish food, and goes on until really quite late 10.30/11 (I'm a vegetarian and still felt there was plenty for me to choose from)- couldn't have asked for more.

The location's also great, me and my grandma walked everywhere from the hotel- to all the major attractions, and also to the train station- the stations a bit of jaunt, maybe 20 minutes, but is do-able with cases on wheels.

The staff were lovely and helped with any info I asked for. Similar to other reviews I can say that the free wifi worked in the reception area but didn't quite reach the room.

I have no complaints whatsoever about this hotel, it is big, but personable, in a good location, and is priced accordingly- I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent two nights here last week. I stayed in a room in the old original building rather than the new block that appears in the photographs. The room was tired and and very out of date. The radiator was boxed in and I was not able to turn the heat down. The two beds had old mattresses and I could feel every spring. I did not sleep much rhe first night because of the mattrress and the noise from the street outside. There is only one lift and at busy times it was easier to use the stairs. The staff in the breakfast room could learn to smile, especially the lady that wants to see your room key before you enter.
The best thing about the hotel is the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GXtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of November as a couple on a city break, the hotel is huge but we found the service to be friendly and personable. At around £30 per person per night including a good breakfast, we found this hotel to be excellent value for money. The room was a little tired but clean and tidy, we found the beds comfortable. The breakfast really set you up for a days sightseeing, with a hot cooked and continental breakfast available.

All the major sights were within walking distance, and we found a couple of nice bars very close to the hotel for a nightcap, I would stay here again if we visited Warsaw again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My first time in Poland, I visited Warsaw for a week from 29 Sept. hotel was very central & easy to get to most places even by walking. Rooms were serviced well. Breakfast was very good. Wi-fi in room was impossible but in reception area was good, not sure if it was my room location. You get code & password everyday to connect. I was glad that I chose this hotel for my first visit & would stay there again, if I go to Warsaw.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SureshG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Północne
Hotel Mazowiecki
Hotel Mazowiecki
#63 of 129 in Warsaw
122 reviews
Hetman Hotel
#41 of 129 in Warsaw
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Północne
Royal Route Residence
Royal Route Residence
#60 of 129 in Warsaw
122 reviews
Metropol Hotel
#32 of 129 in Warsaw
1,295 reviews
Ujazdów
Holiday Inn Warsaw City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gromada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gromada Hotel

Address: ul. plac Powstancow Warszawy 2, Warsaw 00-030, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw > Śródmieście Północne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Warsaw
#10 Spa Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range: $62 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gromada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gromada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gromada Warszawa Warsaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing