We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, service not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Warsaw
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights.

Bad:
There were no non smoking double rooms available when we checked in, so ended up with two singles that I asked to be pushed together. Not awful, but sleep was compromised and I ended up with a sore back.
Only one bathrobe, despite the room being a twin/double.
At checkout, three of us were waiting, with one person being served by two people, one of whom appeared to be supervising the other. After five minutes of waiting and the person in front, despite his pleas, still not being served, we left the room cards with the concierge. The poor man in front of us may still be there.

Good:
Beautiful clean rooms in a fantastic building. Decor was refurbished, and in touch with he building's historic roots. The bathroom was very nice too.
Location was perfect for exploring the old town and only 5 mins from the tube stop.
Great value for money.

Other:
Restoration work was ongoing so the bar was in a conference room. The work did not intrude on out stay.
Breakfast was expensive £20 p/p so we didn't try.

Conclusion:
Would recommend to friends who want to explore, but room situation and service takes it to only 4*.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMerdienBristol, General Manager at Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write and share your comments regarding your recent visit with us.
I am very happy to learn you enjoy the newly refurbished interiors as well as the location of the hotel that make us indeed very attractive place to stay in Warsaw.
We are now approaching to the end of the general refurbishment of the interiors to ensure that our guests receive the highest standard of service we are renown for worldwide.
At the same time thank you for brining your concerns to our attention. Please accept sincere apologies on the behalf of the team and myself for any inconveniences you might encounter. I highly appreciate your support as our goal is the highest quality of service and utmost care for our guests and customers we normally strive for and we are known worldwide.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Yours Sincerely,

Michael Goerdt,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

I liked the Hotel, especially the building from outside/ when lit at night looks amazing. It's a sight on its own.
Room was excellent, very comfortable bed, nice size, although standard room. Nice bathroom, all very new. quiet. Small problem in bathroom was attended immediately. There is small renovation ongoing (bar is renovated)- with the new bar it should be another big plus.
Spa/ pool nice but little small.
Breakfast is maybe the only aspect why I gave 4 star rating- I would have expected more food quality and attention from the staff there (in 3 days I was never asked if i wanted another coffee for example).
Concierge very helpful with recommendations.
Overall a very pleasant experience from A to Z.

Room Tip: tried only standard, suite should be outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Centrally located, has all attributes of a five star hotel. caring staff, perfect quality service, food is very good too. Plus hotel is located in the heart of the old city, a short walk to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleevskidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Poland is a very budget-friendly country. If you have a reason to be in Warsaw, the Hotel Meridien Bristol is in a great location in the center of town and near Old Town, and has lovely rooms and a good restaurant. Beautiful bed-linens, great concierge service, lovely-looking exterior. Poland itself, now that is another story!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

did not stay in the Hotel. Had dinner with local friends. Very impressive.
service was excellent, intensive wine list. Traditional Polish dish + Fusion.

Easy to access and very close to all attractions.
Amazing historical building to admire.

Althought i did not stay in that hotel, must be a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Bristol is in an excellent location, only a short walk from Warsaw's Old Town, and immediately next to the Presidential Palace.

The Art Deco style makes you feel like you're stepping back in time, while still enjoying modern luxury.

The rooms are very comfortable, and the staff is very professional and friendly. The service in the hotel bar is very good, but keep in mind you will pay significantly more for drinks than you would if you step and out walk a few blocks away, to the Old Town.

The hotel breakfast is very good.

From Frederic Chopin Airport, the hotel is a 20 - 30 minute taxi ride depending on traffic. Most taxis accept credit cards, so you don't need to worry about exchanging currency right away.

If you're interested in a unique dining experience, there is a very popular Polish restaurant set in a converted hotel kitchen right across the street from The Bristol. I'm sure the hotel staff would be happy to guide you there; reservations recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrudyTurcotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Bristol has been my hotel of choice in Warsaw for many years and will remain so for its location and excellent service. But the brand new decor in the rooms, shiny 'glamour' of a kind the French call 'clinquant', made me think of an overenthusiastic facelift on a very old lady.

Part of the charm of the 'old' decor was that each room was unique. One felt as if one was staying in a lovely home, not just an impersonal hotel.

Now the rooms are virtually identical, built to a bland, globalised template we see the world over. The rooms certainly needed refreshing for the 21st century, but not gutting, Perhaps the management could consider reinstating some 'heritage' rooms that capture the soul of Warsaw's most famous hotel for those who enjoy hotels that are different wherever they go, and offer 'world traveller' rooms to those who like predictability and uniformity without any surprises.

I do hope the cafe isn't going to fall under the decor surgeon's knife next.

Still, the place has much to recommend it -- not least the excellent staff -- and remains very comfortable. I will be back even if I no longer get the warmth of experiencing a home-from-home in Warsaw.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Śródmieście Południowe
H15 Boutique
H15 Boutique
#1 of 127 in Warsaw
729 reviews
Polonia Palace Hotel
#4 of 127 in Warsaw
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście Północne
InterContinental Warszawa
Warsaw Marriott Hotel
#16 of 127 in Warsaw
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Warsaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Warsaw

Address: Ul. Krakowskie Przedmiescie 42/44, Warsaw 00-325, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Warsaw
#4 Business Hotel in Warsaw
#7 Luxury Hotel in Warsaw
#8 Romantic Hotel in Warsaw
Price Range: $127 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Warsaw 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol boasts even more incomparable beauty, being a prestigious blend of history and contemporary luxury. Our exquisite 168 guest rooms and 38 suites reflect the engaging mix of comfort and discreet elegance defined by subtle soothing colors, state-of-the-art technology, majestic high ceilings, and charming views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Warsaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bristol, Warsaw Hotel Warsaw
Le Meridien Warsaw
Warsaw Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing