We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving & emotional experience”

Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski)
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.25*
and up
Private Tour: Warsaw's Jewish Heritage by Retro Fiat
Ranked #25 of 346 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1799-1806, this scenic and nostalgic cemetery features marble and sandstone tombstones called masebas, which reveal delicately carved symbols and ornaments, and the symbolic grave of the famous writer and teacher Janusz Korczak (1878-1942) who died in the gas chambers of Aushwitz.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moving & emotional experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After visiting the sites Jewish Ghetto and Mila 18--both reduced to rubble in WW2--it was amazing to find this massive historic cemetery still standing. The acres of tombstones take your breath away. We were there on a sunny fall day; the shadows and falling leaves gave the cemetery a solemn beauty. We couldn't help but meditate on the generations that had called Warsaw home for centuries but whose bloodlines ended in the concentrations camps. We did not mind the entry fee; the small Jewish community left in Warsaw certainly cannot maintain the cemetery on their own.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    97
    25
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“like a course of history”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

every tomb is a unique story, but if you are familiar with the polish jewry history, better come with a guide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bestsZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Moving experience but it's inappropriate to pay to visit a cemetery”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's probably best to come here with a guide (like we did) if you want to hear something meaningful about some of the people that are burried here.
It was quite a surprise for us when we were asked to bought tickets in order to get inside. although the price was cheap it felt wrong that they are charging visitors of a cemetery!
It's quite shocikng to look at the fence of the cemetery because it's made of remains of dirfferent headstones that was found after world war II while the Nazis used those tombstones for roads and sidewalks..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelTelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“moving”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we visited this cemetary during corpus christie and it is amazing to see the candles and how much the polish believe in religion compared to the westerners..
well worth visiting during the evening..
it`s amazing how many graves are tended to for years after a death, not just ignored as most of us british do. i almost felt like i should become religious..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_monaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Definitely worth seeing, but be prepared to pay to visit. It was a shock to us, especially since we are Jewish and visiting the graves of your ancestors is a mitzvah. My daughter was very upset by the fact that they actually sold tickets as if it were a circus or a zoo. I understand the need for funds to upkeep the place, but there are other ways to raise the funds. I would not have minded giving twice the amount if they had a donation box explaining that the funds were needed for the upkeep. As is, the place is overgrown with weeds, there are hours posted, but no guarantee that the cemetery will be open. We had to make three trips before we finally got to go in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragon4Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski) also viewed

 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Jewish Cemetery (Cmentarz Zydowski)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing