We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sobering”

Mausoleum of Struggle and Martyrdom
Ranked #46 of 360 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newark, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sobering”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was unaware of this startling site in spite of repeated visits to Warsaw. A Canadian whose grandfather had survived the horrors of this place first told me about over pints one evening. I have since made a point of taking others whenever they visit me while in the city. It is hard to find the correct word to describe this place. "Museum" or "attraction" fall short and while the area open to the public is compact the resulting affect upon the visitor cannot be measured. The space is not a reconstruction as the Nazi's failed to destroy the building or attempt to hide their crimes. The stories of this place are told respectfully and succinctly while conveying the powerful, horrible realities of the ultimate abuse of power. All world citizens will benefit from a tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Psychprofpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    98
    27
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
571 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 881 helpful votes
“Museums covering torture and mass murder have a difficult task - this is an Excellent example of doing it right”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were surprised that this small museum would be so highly rated by trip advisor, concidering it's size and subject matter. So we thought we would make time to visit it - and are so glad we did.

The entrance is very unassuming - double doors in a government building. We had to double check we were in the right place. Entry fee is 6 zl - a small price.

Unlike some other museums (Warsaw Uprising) this museum doesn't try to overload you with multimedia experiences. On walking in there is a sombre black and white presentation telling the story of the ghastly crimes commited by the Gestapo on this site (The show was in English when we visited).

Then there is the opportunity to walk down a corridor with some computer based info on how WW2 progressed for the Poles and its implications for their freedoms.

Next a chance to walk down a corridor with the Cells where prisoners were held for torture - some cells contain shackles, beds etc etc... There is also the office of the Duty Gestapo Officer complete with torture impliments etc etc.

It is an incredibly difficult job for a museum to portray the gravity of crimes commited without making it a horror show or in some way glamourising it. This museum manages it - it Educates and leaves a very lasting impression. It does not make multimedia the attraction - it uses the multimedia to portray the agony and hopelessness of the inmates held and murdered here.

Its only a small museum - possinly a 40 min visit - but it is certainly worth the time. Highly reccomended for History and Non history buffs alike.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,104 reviews
649 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Museum that leaves a strong impression”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a small museum which will take about a half hour to view. Well worth seeing for historical purposes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Powerful small museum.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a small museum that could be overlooked. But should not be. The place is simple just a couple of cell blocks. But the crimes that occurred here were horrible. If you are looking to understand Warsaw during the war period this place is a must. Stop and view all the slide shows that is were you get the most information. I was moved and have a better understand of what life was like and happened to the people of Warsaw.

Not difficult to find. Cost 6pln adult and 4pln student.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank walkabout68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Disturbing but a must see!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We made the effort to find this little museum based in the former headquarters building of the gestapo. English presention was good and it really brought home what the Jewish people and other dissenters had to suffer at the hands of the Germans during the occupation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank millsg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mausoleum of Struggle and Martyrdom also viewed

 

Been to Mausoleum of Struggle and Martyrdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing