We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bitt boring”

Warsaw History Museum
Ranked #133 of 346 things to do in Warsaw
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Occupying almost an entire side of Old Town, this history museum covers every aspect of Warsaw's life and culture from its beginnings as an important trade center in the mid-fourteenth century to present day.
Moskow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice but a bitt boring”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hi,

The Museum was in really nice building and I liked it inside. I am not so much into the history. My boyfriend wanted visit it. I was quite surprise that it is really interesting. We took Permanent exhibition. A lot of interesting new information for me. Only thing I would say is terrible roads in Poland with a lot of holes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darjinoska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like a Tardis”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This has a lot more in it than you might think when you go in the front door. It is in fact the whole of that side of the square, and well packed with exhibits from various times in Warsaw's history. You need more time than you might think to do it justice.

Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavaur, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The museum is only partially open as most of it is being renovated. We were able to visit the ground floor which has covers the medieval period. It's reasonably interesting but probably not worth more than a 30 minute visit. The film, as another reviewer mentioned, does give an idea of the devastation Warsaw experienced during the war but doesn't seem to give much information about it's general history. From a Jewish perspective, the ghetto uprising, although mentioned, seems to be largely glossed over and the history of the vibrant Polish Jewish Warsaw community seemed to be hardly touched on. The general impression we got was that this was a communist era film which has not been updated. Hopefully the renovated museum, once opened, will be more interesting and provide a more suitable film.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank antonneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, FL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“12 noon NAZI film is worthwhile”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The museum is located on a corner of the Old Town Square. The museum is closed for renovation but at 12 noon they show a film on the Nazi's destruction of Warsaw in 1944. It is about 25 minutes long, very graphic and you will gain an appreciation on what a monumental task rebuilding
the square just outside the museum's door.
A word of note: my wife & I ate two meals in The Old Town. On both occasions, we were overcharged. After explaining the error, corrections were made. On one occasion, I got the feeling, that
over-charging was routine! I regret having to report this; just be alert.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
409 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Confusing layout”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I also found this museum slightly disappointing. The layout is very confusing and it is difficult to find which way to go. I thought the film would have been about a brief history of Warsaw and not just the Uprising.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warsaw History Museum also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Warsaw History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing