We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for your money”
Review of Restro

Restro
Ranked #130 of 2,610 Restaurants in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good value for your money”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Regardless of whether you are in need of a quick good-quality lunch or just want to relax with a tasty dinner, Restro is a good option for you. This is not a classy place and the menu is quite limited, but what you get is really good and well worth the money spent. The limited selection available guarantees the freshness of the food and a speedy service. The menu is available also in English. Try the cold beetroot soup with goat cheese and roasted pumpkin seeds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite lunchplace if you want a treat”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Best lunches in the city center, value for money is top notch. Fresh food with sophisticated touch, yet simple and tasty. Lovely and fast service - waiters are patient and attentive. It's really crowded around lunchtime but the idea of serving 3 lunch sets to choose from makes it pretty good organized. They serve a green healthy option as well so even if you're on a diet, you'll have something yummy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food in a completely unexpected place”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I first visited the place over a year ago and have returned several times but only today that I've seen my friend review it - I got myself to write some good words.
In short I agree with the reviews posted by other people. Indeed, it is a small place that must have attracted a really talented chef who is allowed to show his/her skills.
At lunch-time they are packed and no wonder since the prices are OK and the set menu changes every day. At dinner all is fine as well- just once something burned in the kitchen and the smell was really strong. It was in winter so opening the windows was not an option. But out of my several visits it only happened once and the food we were served was not the one that burned :-) but as usual was worth the praise.
Finally, let me mention their weekend lunch set menu- called here 'brunch'. No matter what you call it- it consists of a set of starters (consisting of 2-3 small portions of different dishes), a soup, the main course, the dessert - not to forget the aperitif. Today - it was an Italian aperol drink - good choice for a summer day. Such weekend set I would rather call a Gourmet Menu than brunch but who cares about the name when the taste, size and presentation are welcoming as is the price - really competitive for Warsaw.
All in all, even if not the easiest to find - do make an effort to spot it. No regrets- guaranteed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbz
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Locally found foods = a "green" menu that changes with the seasons!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are working in Warsaw for two months. We happened upon this gem walking back from the Uprising Museum. It is tucked away on a smaller street & in a very unassuming structure, so we marked it on our map in order to help our taxi driver find it next time (because, as we discovered, it is quite a walk to our hotel from the museum via Restro, so it'll be a taxi after work next time).

The food is tender; juicy; colorful; and flavored with unexpected seasonings for a delightful change from the same standard recipes that are found most everywhere.

The portions are sized right, not overwhelming; because, food that is flavorful and full of varied textures, does not need huge portions in order to satisfy. So, if you look at it that way, it's good for the waistline, as well.

Looked at another way, Restro is also easier on the environment because they use seasonal food that is found locally. This makes them "greener" than other establishments by minimizing the amount of processed oil it takes to get ingredients to the restaurant, and minimizing the amount of exhaust fumes put in the air. Plus it keeps the menu varied.

Oh! Almost forgot: the prices are very reasonable, especially as the food was prepared & presented as if one was dining in a high-end restaurant. And they cater; if I lived here & were planning an event, I'd hire them.

So Restro is a win, win, win, win, WIN in many ways. It's been a couple weeks; if off work in time, we'll be there tonight.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem in the middle of the central business district”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Modernistic eco-friendly decor hides really innovative cuisine at very reasonable prices. We were there for dinner, but I am told this place is swamped during lunch time, so plan accordingly. Try their soups and salads.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restro also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Restro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing