We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Lunch”
Review of Polka Restauracja

Polka Restauracja
Ranked #233 of 2,532 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Xmas Lunch”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to 'Polka' restaurant for Christmas Day lunch after a nice walk along the amazingly decorated streets of Old Town. We'd just walked in without reservation. The restaurant looked busy but the waiter found us table for two in one of the rooms. The restaurant consists of many differently decorated rooms, all in traditional style. They had a warm, cosy, informal feel.
The restaurant serves mainly Polish traditional food but the menu choice offers a quite good variety of foods. But not much choice of vegetarian dishes compare with fish and meat.
For starters we had soups :red borsch and zur. We found them a bit too salty for our taste.
From the Xmas menu we ordered carp angel wings served with horseradish sauce- a really unusual fish dish in a delicious sauce, and roasted goose leg served with dumplings, cooked beetroots and cranberry sauce.
The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about ingredients and the how sauces were made.
We enjoyed our Xmas lunch at this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolek_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    186
    107
    65
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average restuarant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to eat here on our last night in Warsaw. The staff was helpful and the rooms were nicely decorated, however the food was average. The portions were very small and over priced. My husband ordered the bigos in a bread bowl which was cold and the bread was old. We actually left hungary which is very unusual in Poland. The meal was definately overpriced for the amount of food we received. Will not go back on our ned trip to Poland.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing food, ok atmosphere”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food here was delicious! The staff were very helpful too and the rooms are so pretty! The only thing lacking was atmosphere, lots of rooms instead of one main one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank escape_the_norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

There are all small different cozy rooms in this restaurant. We have chosen typical Polish dishes and they were very nice. About the costs I cannot say something since we were invited by Polish friends and as usual they don't allow you to pay!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank catharina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average meal, avoid to invite a group”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

By television and media M. Gessler is well known (she promotes medecin for stomach problems [I hope not to need after visit]) and I thought to invite a group. Three months before dinner I asked for a reservation. I got it with a chosen menu. Within one week the restaurant demanded more than 35 % prepaid! I accepted, because the place of the restaurants was near our hotel. The evening was good at all. Meal (fish, before local soup) was average. We felt like a tourist group quick serving and so on. The shock was the paying. we needed more than 45 minutes to got all our notes paid. Tragedy!!! Conclusion: Polka and gessler is not the place to remain in goog memory and not the place to go another time! Szkoda!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polka Restauracja also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Polka Restauracja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing