We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, charming rooms...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chmielna Guest House
Ranked #35 of 298 Specialty Lodging in Warsaw
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, charming rooms...”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We only stayed for two nights in Chmielna Guesthouse, Warsaw, yet the stay was very satisfactory. Check-in is a bit complicated as you need to visit the reception at the hostel around the corner first which is nearly 4 floors high with no elevator, so watch out for the luggage. But to please you, staff is very friendly, gave maps, directions, and suggestions.
Located near the liveliest street of Warsaw, the hostel was easily accessible from everywhere you want; the airport, the train station and the main city attractions. The bus stop is right in front of the hostel. Yet because the Nowy Swiat is so busy and always alive, you might sometimes get annoyed from the noise coming from downstairs, especially there is a bar downstairs so you can hear polish teens shouting & drunk till 1:00 a.m.
The hostel only offers a few rooms, so make sure you book in advance to find a place. Each of the rooms has a unique character, each named after a different world major city, with the colors, furniture and the decorations that match with it. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and comfortable. We were staying in rooms with private bathrooms, which were also very clean. There is a living room that all rooms share, where you can watch TV, work on your laptop (free WiFi), read books, eat/drink, etc. There is also a fully-equipped kitchen where you can make yourself free tea and coffee. We have not included breakfast in our package, so I cannot say anything about the food.
Overall a very nice place to stay and move from, although a bit pricy for a hostel, but it is not something specific, as it seems there is a lack in cheap hostels in Warsaw. We would love to go back if we ever went to Warsaw again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSEIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
36
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Check-in is a bit complicated as you need to visit the reception at the hostel around the corner first. After receiving the keys you can go to the right location at Chmielna.

It is actually a very big apartment with about 8 separate single/double rooms incl. or excl. bathroom. There is shared bathroom, kitchen and living room making very nice and friendly atmosphere.

Rooms and sheets are clean. My room called Hvar is perfect for 1 person but 2 persons would also feel ok.
Inexpensive and really very well located.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed here with friends in the summer of 2010. The bedroom, shared space, and bathrooms were clean, comfortable, and attractive. After a day of sight seeing, it felt like you were coming home! The staff was very accommodating, we asked for the breakfast package one morning, and had a beautiful breakfast prepared for us. Now I admit it is strange for a "B&B" not to have breakfast included - this goes against the basic premise of B&B (Bed and Breakfast) establishments, so the name of this place is deceiving. Did the owners not understand the connotation and denotation of the term when they named the place? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bed_and_breakfast

It was a perfect home base for sight seeing... we walked everywhere without any problems. Staff gave maps, directions, and suggestions.

Downside? 1) Having to get the key from the hostel. I don't know what I do if I were travelling alone as I would not want to leave heavy bags unattended! And 2) It was not convienient for taxi pick up/drop off on certain days of the week. When leaving the B&B we had to drag all of our heavy luggage down the street and hope we could flag down a taxi which was rather uncomfortable and inconvient. 3) Street noise was an issue - on a hot night when the window had to be opened, I wouldn't have slept a week if not for ear plugs!

If I knew heavy luggage would not be an issue, if I had earplugs, and if I was okay with the idea that a B&B did not include breakast unless I requested and paid extra, I would stay here again as the accommodation and staff were lovely.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ladywanderlust_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The B&B is really nice and very well situated. I also liked the common kitchen, although I didn't really appreciate when my sandwich was stolen... My complaints have to do with getting the key from the Hostel nearby. I really didn't like having to leave my bag at the bottom of the stairs (I couldn't figure out how to lock it so I left it behind a door) and the stairwell smelled horrible! Had to deal with the twice, on coming and going as there is a key deposit. Also, my room in the B&B was the Cannes room. Very cute but it also smelled a bit, from what I don't know and it was very noisy at night because of the pedestrian mall below. Would I stay there again, probably not. I'd check out some other place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Chmielna St B&B is in a great location, just off the very stylish Nowy Swiat, and perfect for the traveller who likes the privacy of their own room, yet also enjoys the company of other travellers occasionally. These guest rooms provide just that... the bedrooms, though not large, are clean and comfortable and the two bathrooms meant that there was always one available to use. The style is quirky in that each room has its own theme, named after a city. The shared lounge area and kitchen provide all the amenities - huge plasma screen TV for those so inclined, dining table, Polish travel books, WiFi (strong reliable connection) and even a laptop for those who didn't bring their own and want to use the free internet...
The only downside is having to check in around the corner at New World St Hostel (27 Nowy Swiat), where you must walk up three flights of stairs (definitely leave heavy luggage at the bottom!). Then there are two flights at Chmielna St (no lift), so tricky if you're lugging heavy bags on your own. But the staff at New World St Hostel are very friendly and helpful and brought my heavy case up the 3 flights to leave it in the storeroom while I visited Cracow. They're also a wealth of local information and happy to give travel tips, whatever your interest...
One other thing to note would be the noise from the street - I like to sleep with the window open and am not bothered by street noise outside, but light sleepers may find it not so peaceful as there are cafes and bars nearby and the rubbish trucks come by early in the morning!
I stayed five nights and I'd definitely return to Chmielna St B&B. I'd also recommend it as a great cosy base from which to explore Warsaw, close to the Old Town, plenty of public transport, and numerous cafes, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig-and-Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and felt very much at home. The kitchen and lounge are great and the staff were very helpful. The location is especially good as its off Nowy Swiat, which is a pedestrian mall on Sundays. There is a lof of life in the street and downstairs is a bakery which makes the famous polish donut called paczek.....or more than one...paczki. They are delicious and are made fresh. The smell from the bakery fills the stair well...which is kind of nice.

There is free wireless as well as a laptop in the lounge that is available. Good price, clean place would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensadowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Basic, but very atmospheric rooms, impeccable cleanliness and reasonable prices (not exactly cheap but doubles don't get any cheaper in central Warsaw). Very central location, convenient for sightseeing but not bad also for transport (train station and bus to the airport). To be recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warsaw hotels
Hotel Chmielna
#64 of 126 in Warsaw
71 reviews
Zgoda Apartments Hotel
#44 of 126 in Warsaw
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patchwork Design Hostel
#6 of 298 in Warsaw
204 reviews
Apple Inn
#2 of 75 in Warsaw
72 reviews
Śródmieście Północne
SleepWell Apartments Ordynacka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chmielna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chmielna Guest House

Property: Chmielna Guest House
Address: ul. Chmielna 13, Warsaw 00-021, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Mazovia Province > Warsaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 298 Specialty Lodging in Warsaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chmielna Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chmielna Guest House has an unbeatable location in the very centre of Warsaw, a stone's throw away from Nowy Swiat - the most beautiful and symbolic street of Warsaw. It offers a comfortable, peaceful and elegant atmosphere. Chmielna Guest House has seven uniquely designed rooms, each with their own style and character, aptly named after specific cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Chmielna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing