We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disaster”
Review of Adventure Warsaw

Adventure Warsaw
Ranked #14 of 146 Tours in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventure Warsaw since 2009 discover Warsaw to foreign guests. During our tours by retro vans You will get an opportunity to touch the atmosphere of the unknown city. We discover local spirit of Praga district, pre-War Downtown, relicts of Communism and modern, green Powiśle area. Part of experience of polish culture and history is a visit in our Museum of Life under Communism. We can't avoid trying typical polish food having lunch in a milk bar. Variety of tours and activities, local passionate guides and staff open for new challenges - this is Adventure Warsaw.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked the Warsaw tour for our 13 hour layover last June. All of our prior communication was with Rafal and we were expecting to see him or Martha based on all of the excellent reviews we read before booking. Instead we got Michael, a 20-something guy that was (according to him) sleep deprived because he watched soccer (football) championship happening at that time in Warsaw. He drove us around town complaining on the lack of parking in the city and how he would have still be asleep if not for us and our tour. When we booked our tour we asked to hear about the history, the before and after the communists because we wanted our kids to have an opportunity to learn about a different culture. All we got was several attempts to see places that were a private property and access was denied, and some churches along the way. The communist history was marked by the building that was a gift from Soviet Union and the Jewish uprising was represented by the graffiti marked ruins of the last surviving structure of the ghetto and the one and only synagogue left in the city. Since we had an 8 hour tour booked we needed a lunch, so Michael recommended a small restaurant. We placed our order and Michael ordered for himself. While we were waiting for the food Michael was telling us about his family problems and the recent passing away of his father. When the time came to pay he said that he left his wallet in the car and we had to pay for him. We were never told that paying for our guide's lunch was a part of the deal and he never paid us back. After lunch there were some more pointless driving around until my husband was fed up and wanted to go back to the airport. It was too early for our flight so I said that we should go and see the Old Town. That was a good idea because this part was actually the best. There was a king's castle and some beautiful buildings and shops but there was barely any historical commentary from Michael. After that it was time to go back to the airport and we were ready to say Goodbye to Michael. The next day we received an email from Martha asking for the comments on the tour. When I told her about our experience she was very surprised and attributed it to Michael's personal problems. Apparently, it is known that he has some and he still was employed as a guide. The company did not offer us any refund for bad experience but offered us a free tour the next time we are in Warsaw. After this experience I do not think we will take them up on it.

4  Thank Inessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adventurewarsaw, Owner at Adventure Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Traveller,

We feel that your opinion is far from truth. Below find out our response:
1. If you were so much dissatisfied with our service why were you waiting ONE YEAR to put this review? ONE YEAR AFTER THE TOUR!
2. Service in our opinion was well prepared. Guide was on time at the airport with comfortable car. We arranged all the program before you arrival. We always show the City from different perspective. We usually start from Pre-War Warsaw and communist relicts to end in typical tourist spots like Old Town and Royal Route. This way you can see the real Warsaw.
3. We were not on the trip so we can only show feedback from a guide. Michael said that from the first moment you were bored and tired after the flight. Anything that he showed didn’t arise any interest in you. This is very difficult situation for a guide especially in a private tour.
4. For the last 4 years we showed Warsaw to dozens of tourist. This is our authorial program, places are not typical, but only there you can experience the real history. We are aware that there is always someone that won’t feel that atmosphere.
5. Your guide Michael is NOT WORKING with us anymore. Michael that is on our web page is a different person, so this is amazing that you even don’t remember how your guide looks like.
6. There is an unwritten rule that tourists invite a guide for a lunch if it's during the tour. I think it’s common all over the world, so we are surprised with this complain.
7. All our guests are paying after the trip, so they know what they pay for. In case you are disappointed, you are never forced to pay.
8. After the tour we always ask for feedback our guests as we care about our service. We don’t feel that we made something wrong and you didn’t ask for any refund. Complain about lack of refund is also inappropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"milk bar"
in 138 reviews
"communist era"
in 48 reviews
"great tour"
in 55 reviews
"'off the beaten"
in 7 reviews
"the beaten path"
in 8 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 34 reviews
"hour layover"
in 10 reviews
"life under communism"
in 9 reviews
"jewish ghetto"
in 24 reviews
"fascinating city"
in 7 reviews
"four hours"
in 13 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 13 reviews
"communist times"
in 7 reviews
"traditional polish"
in 9 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 8 reviews
"pre war"
in 9 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
Filter

458 - 462 of 842 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our group loved this tour! We saw spots that we would ever have found on our own. We learned so much about Polish history through our guides talks ad well as hissing questions to get us thinking about what we were seeing. We especially enjoyed our lunch at a milk bar and seeing a communist era apartment. Mariusz was an excellent guide. Take the tour!

Thank RedJacket40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adventurewarsaw, General Manager at Adventure Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion and visit in Warsaw! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just finished the off the beaten path trip with adventure Warszaw and guide mariusz. Took us to places we would otherwise not have seen, showed great knowledge of the city and it's history. Told stories behind wall-paintings, buildings and other details along the way. Very entertaining and interesting, could not have asked for more on a guided trip. Highly recommended!

Thank Njård Håkon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adventurewarsaw, General Manager at Adventure Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion and visit in Warsaw! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What an exciting adventure with an energetic and enthusiastic guide! Mariusz was extremely informative and knowledgeable. Driving in Warsaw in their vintage vans was an original way to view the history of pre-war Warsaw, Communism and the Praga district. Lunch in a Milk Bar and a shot of vodka was a superb way to end the excursion. We highly recommend this experience! Thank you Mariusz, we loved it!!!Jjohn and Mags du Toit South Africa

Thank john1947_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adventurewarsaw, General Manager at Adventure Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion and visit in Warsaw! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went there for an alternative stag-party - not with strippers etc. but rather a quirky one with role plays, history tours, getting in deep into warsaw and also some partying. Adventure Warsaw helped us in organizing the whole thing from distance and everything worked very smoothly once there.

Thank Carl-Adam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adventurewarsaw, General Manager at Adventure Warsaw, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion and visit in Warsaw! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Warsaw also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Warsaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing