We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to spend 20 minutes, learning about the history of Warsaw.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Photoplasticon

Photoplasticon
Ranked #56 of 330 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
355 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A great way to spend 20 minutes, learning about the history of Warsaw.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited Photoplasticon as it was close to our hotel and the concept intrigued me. For the price (4PLN) and 20 minutes of your time it's a wonderful snapshot into the history and times of Warsaw. When we visited the photos were all of the uprising with little captions to explain each picture. It only takes 20 minutes to see them all but I really enjoyed it and thought the idea of the eye viewer really different.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    43
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is one of those weird little places that has an odd appeal. It happened to be near our hotel, and it was our last night in Warsaw before returning home, and we figured why not? It cost a little more than one US dollar and took all of 20 minutes to enjoy. Like every other reviewer says, you part the heavy curtains and step back in time. Everybody sits in a circle and views a rotating series of old photos through sort of a binocular device. Sounds weird, right? It is. But SO interesting! The photos we saw were of Nazi-occupied Warsaw. If I lived in Warsaw, I'd keep my eye on this place and visit whenever the photos changed. A very cool experience in a surprisingly cool city. Warsaw never failed to deliver on interesting, unusual experiences.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If you like older photos (3d old school style) it is a fun quick stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Photoplasticon is a simple attraction. You sit and look through 3-d opticals in the wall and read image descriptions. It took me 2-3 images to get eyes to focus right and see 3d.

One thing of note is that exhibits are changed monthly. In August it was dedicated to the Warsaw Uprising of 1944.

Also, there is a free day every month.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SergeY-Atomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stepping back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was great to step back in time and makes a great change from those high tec museums.

Museum is hidden away in a courtyard,It was great to sit and look at old Warsaw photos with old Polish music in the background.Very quirky.Does not take up much time but a lovely experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lillesommerfugl
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Went back for more - and it was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to the Photoplasticon now several times - and I totally enjoy the experience each and every time. It is like stepping back in time - once you go through the red curtain, time has gone back about 100 years! This time we got to see the old school 3D pictures of Italy. They change out the exhibit every few months, and I am looking forward to the next one!

The whole visit will take you about 10 minutes and costs something like 4 zl per person. When we went this last time the photoplasticon was for free that day. :)

The photoplasticon is just a few minutes walk away from the train station, so even if you only have a little time to spare, you can get to see this Warsaw speciality!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lillesommerfugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Photoplasticon also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Photoplasticon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing