We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see in Warsaw”

Warsaw Uprising Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.72*
and up
2.5-Hour Warsaw by Night Guided Bike Tour
More Info
$23.72*
and up
3 Hour Warsaw City Bike Tour
Ranked #4 of 360 things to do in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must-see in Warsaw”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I fervently believe it should be mandatory for everyone visiting Warsaw to visit the Uprising Museum. It really does set out and explain about this under-talked-about part of the war extremely well.
I have been before, but took my girlfriend when we visited Warsaw earlier in the month. Even she, who is not at all Polish, was highly impressed with it.
The layout is not always the easiest to follow, but if you focus on following the numbering on the walls it becomes a little easier. The 3D film is only a couple of zloty extra, but last time I went to see it I really didn't feel it added much to the overall experience unfortunately.
There is indeed a LOT of information to soak in throughout the museum, and by the end my girlfriend's feet were aching, but she said that she had learned masses about the history of the war, Poland, and Warsaw in particular, that she had never been taught in England, and had a new-found respect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank W-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,285
    1,404
    484
    107
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good museum housed in an interesting building”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is an interesting museum chronicling the Warsaw uprising during the second world war. There are some good exhibits and a wealth of information available to read (if I am being honest perhaps a bit too much for my personal taste - it would take a very long visit to read all of the text as you go around but there are free handouts available to take away to read in more comfort at home) The facilities are good with a cloakroom and lockers available. There is also a cute little 1940's themed cafe on the upper floor which is furnished in the style of that era. The museum is housed in a restored red brick building which was apparently formerly a power station. The museum is at the Muzeum Powstania Warszawakiego stop on public transport.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UKMRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lot of info...”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The museum is very high rated, so I went there. Sunday's have free entreance, and I was happy that I didn't pay. You really have to be in to WW2 to go here. There are soooo much stuff, and it was to me a bit confusing. A lot of boards with a lot of text to read just to understand some. I liked the bomber plane in the ceiling though. Not as multimedia, as I thought.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MinistryOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poland, And WArsow is beautiful. I recomend travel in summer, or Spring”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A lot of culture, monumentos in there. People is vera polite. I would llike back there in summer to vist the mountains.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Selma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A good museum but could use some direction”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have been to a lot of museums and this is typical of many.
The displays were good and informative, with most, if not all, displays also being in English. There are a number of levels incorporating different aspects of the Uprising such as art and weapons used. There is a short 3D movie and a number of black and white historical movies running that are worth seeing.

There were a few minor issues though.:

The place where you buy the tickets is not the entrance. The entrance to the museum itself is not signposted so you have to try a few doors - a simple sign would have been helpful.

We went in winter, so had to check our jackets once inside - the staff here are cheerless and throw them back at you when you return your token.

The shop attendants would rather speak with fellow staff than customers - Poland does not quite seem to have absorbed the customer focused methods generally associated with successful business (and it wasn't just here).

Beware of people outside the museum trying to sell you tickets. Stubs are torn off at different points in the museum - if you don't know how big a ticket is then you won't know they're missing. Ignore them and go to the hut where they sell the tickets. Poland overall is quite cheap - there's no need to try and save money on a museum ticket anyway.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warsaw Uprising Museum also viewed

 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Warsaw Uprising Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing