We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pirogis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zapiecek

Zapiecek
Ranked #40 of 2,462 Restaurants in Warsaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
538 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Great Pirogis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Even if this is a chain of Pierogi-themed restaurants, I think it’s worthwhile for every visitor to Warsaw (or Krakow) to try one of these. The menu is full of appetizing selections and the pirogis are very, very good. We even went for the dessert pirogis and liked them, too. The prices are very reasonable and the service is fine. It was generally packed with locals, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    639
    150
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best Polskie Pierogi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Zapiecek is a chain of restaurants of traditional polish cuisine. They are mainly situated in the old town, however two of them can be found in the City.
The addresses are the following: ,ul. Podwale 1; ul. Swietojanska 13; ul.Freta 1;Ul Freta 18. And the restaurants in the town are at : Ul Nowy Swiat 64 and Al. Jerozolimskie 28.
They serve dumplings ( pierogi), soups, and meat on sizzling cast irons.
In general the restaurants are simple, however they have one which is higher end, and has a bit different menu.
I visited two of Zapiecek, during my trip to warsaw.
Must say that the food was very good, truly polish experience.
Good sigh is that in spite of the fact that the restaurants are located in the touristic area, they are popular with the locals as well.
I will defientely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Traditional flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really enjoyed the pierogi and the barscz was also vey good -excellent value for money. There are a few locations in Warsaw, we ate in the one opposite the Royal Palace.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Riki747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great authentic Polish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have visited two of the six available in Warsaw of their restaurants, the ul Nowy Swiat 64 and the ul Swietojanska 64. Both were very good although personallly I enjoyed the Nowy Swiat restaurant more as it was set out better and had a more up-to date décor. The food was both authentic and well presented, the soups were delicious especially the sour rye soup and the borscht. The pierogi - fried as I like it - though you can have them steamed, were excellent - try the ones with blueberries - mmmmmmmm! I also had some excellent golomki(stuffed cabbage) with a delicious sauce. Good value for money, served efficiently and the staff let you get on with your meal but are always nearby and attentive if you need their service. Great introduction to the basic Polish dishes without a menu that can often confuse with the array of dishes as some restaurants offer. All the staff I talked to were able to understand my English ramblings. Try it out you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyconcrete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tiny restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Arrived in a cold December evening and find the tiny restaurant extremely cosy and welcoming.
The food was great, the dumplings tastefull and the tea extremely delicious. Strongly recommended place.

Helpful?
Thank bogdansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zapiecek also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Zapiecek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing