We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restauracja Oberza

Restauracja Oberza
Ranked #44 of 170 Restaurants in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a great wee place. Pick up your tray and select your food served to you. Sounds like the work canteen but is so much more, this style of serving is popular all over the East of Europe.

The food is hearty, tasty and freshly made. And such good value you'll be shocked.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissVass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible travel experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Signs advertised many types of pierogi and traditional food. Once we saw the look of the food we quickly realized our mistake. Food is terrible by any standard. Not representative of Polish food you can find elsewhere. The food here, well I have no idea what it was. To top it off, when I asked for the wifi login at the cashier which advertised "free WiFi" I was told off and then the two ladies looked at each other and laughed at me. Owners and staff YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED. Not just for the terrible food but for your horrific treatment of customers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Characterful and cheap traditional restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Well, this is a good self-service restaurant which isn't soulless like many. It's more like a milk bar, but with a fanciful decor.

Traditional Polish food is served canteen-style, but you can then go an eat it in a nook or corner decorated to look like a Polish cottage. Very cosy.

The prices are very affordable. We went early evening when it wasn't busy, and had a very pleasant time. The waitresses didn't seem to speak English, but since you can see all the food on offer, all you have to do is point at what you want!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank basiaxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You can eat a meal and feel like at your own home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I use to come to Czarna Oberza very often during my staying in Torun. I like that place for the atmosphere and very good food. It is great when you need cozy place for a meeting with your friends.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Avalarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Restaurant was crowdy and the tables looked sticky. The waitress totally ignored us and for about 5 minutes we stood there, just feeling ignored and awkward. I tried to speak with a waitress but she even avoided to look at me. Maybe they have self service. It was not possible to find out excactly. After a while we left hungry and angry.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Oberza also viewed

Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Oberza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing