We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice town Torun, hotel not so much”
Review of Hotel Filmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Filmar
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Nice town Torun, hotel not so much”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

First impression is OK, hotel looks nice from outside. Inside not so good, it is just old. Reception service is very slow and almost rude when asked to speed up (we were in the evening with our baby). Room was not very small, for me ok, unfortunately my wife found hair in bathroom and in our bed. She is little crazy about it but to be honest I am not sure how they clean the bathroom or change bedding. Food really average. The worst were parties. They had wedding or something, when we were there. Guests were drunk and loud, my wife was afraid to go to the lobby in the evening. I am sorry but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    144
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
67
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
palma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend stay in the Filmar, we were there for a wedding which was held in the hotel. The service was excellent, food delicious, great location, only 10 minutes walk into the town centre (but with taxis so cheap theres not much need to walk anywhere)...We had a suite and it was beautiful and spotlessly clean (we left a tip for the cleaning ladies we were so impressed)... all the staff spoke english and were very helpfull. Our only regret is that we didnt know there was a Spa available free of charge to guests so we didnt bring any bathing suits but friends used the spa and said it was lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishtinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Pretty good vs price paid. Hotel is not a new building. I had single room, quite small, and single bed I hate .. no option. Breakfast average ... waited too long for the omelet, no enough tables. Very slow lift. Poor quality of reception service.
Quite good restaurant for the dinner but again weak service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarsawExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Filmar is close to the centre, 15-20 minutes on foot and 5 minutes by car. Location is strange, next to a cemetary and with a supermarket on the ground floor; not that it bothered us though. It seems to have many events (there was a big birthday party on the day we got there) and generally feels like a mid-market hotel catering mainly for travelling salesmen.

I generally found it to be quirky. It's really big with many rooms but I suspect they have low occupancy rate becaue it was largely empty when I stayed there. And the rooms are small and with fairly basic, even tacky furniture, a little below the class this hotel aims for. However, it also has a very good restaurant with supreb food, well above the class this hotel aims for.

Overall I feel that it offers good value for money, I paid the price of a budget hotel and got something closer to a 3-star one with an even better restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights. Conditions are very good, but some people may complaing that supermaket is nearby, which can cause some noise, for me it was not a problem. Rooms are clean and quite big. It is not very far from the center, 15 minutes walking or 5 by bus. I advice it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonards on sea
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Warm welcome on arrival. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Bar staff and staff in general very friendly. Had a marvelous and well priced meal in the restaurant. Under 10 minutes walk to the old town area which is a great place to spend some time. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here in June as part of a footie jolly to Euro 2012. Worked out at 24 quid each to share a triple room which included breakfast and 2 free Pints daily. Market Research had cerainly identified the needs of us thirsty soccer fans!
Hotel was fine although the reception area was rather soulless-several shop units in the main reception area gave an impresion of a Mall rather than a welcoming place to stay and the bar lacked warmth and character.
Rooms were fine (free WI-FI) and the staff, like all Polish people, were very welcoming to their Irish visitors.
Breakfast was fine especially the omelettes.
All in all, a good experience especially as the hotel is only a reasonable stroll away from the fantastic old town area of Torun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 24 in Torun
432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kopernik Hotel
Kopernik Hotel
#9 of 24 in Torun
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#8 of 24 in Torun
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 24 in Torun
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filmar

Property: Hotel Filmar
Address: ul. Grudziadzka 45 | Kujawsko-Pomorskie, Torun 87-100, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torun
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torun
#8 Business Hotel in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Filmar 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Filmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filmar Hotel Torun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing