We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place for a Drink”

Jan Olbracht Old-Town Brewery
Ranked #7 of 172 Restaurants in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Texas
Level Contributor
1,262 reviews
822 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,705 helpful votes
“Good Place for a Drink”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

After walking around Torum's Old Town, we were directed by colleagues to stop in at Jan Olbracht Browar Staromiejski to taste the ginger beer produced there. In addition to being a restaurant and bar, this place is also a microbrewery, and the specialty is ginger beer. Sadly, we had eaten previously and thus I cannot comment on the food. The service was friendly and efficient and the beer was cold. The ginger beer is interesting, but I don't think its something I would drink regularly. I'd like to return to this place and try the food, which many patrons seemed to be enjoying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    203
    59
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great beer but abismal service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Decided to stop off here for a late lunch. Sat down outside and waited to be offered a menu, after being ignored for 5 minutes I went in and picked up a menu. Three times I was ignored by the serving staff when I wanted to place an order. Eventually I ordered and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the gingerbread beer. Our food arrived, my wife is a vegetarian and ordered a dish with no meat, she received a dish with beef and vegetables, when I raised this problem I was told that was ok she could keep it and only eat the vegetables. When the bill arrived it was was also wrong. I went inside to pay and found there 6 members of staff standing at the end of the bar doing nothing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laser8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Brewpub with good food!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having been to Torun a few times in the recent past,this brewpub is a welcome addition to this beautiful town.Waitresses and staff in this brewpub were superb despite being run off their feet,with the pub being extremely busy.All beers,a Pils,Wheat,Amber and speciality Ginger Beer were in good form,and the food was excellent value.Leave enough room for the Gingerbread ice-cream dessert too!!Fabulous!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deantheairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spoleto, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent artigianal beer”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I am a fan of artigianal beers, and here I found excellent fresh artigianal beer. They make 4 kinds of beers plus a seasonal one, the food is good, the service is fast and very friendly, I bought one big glass of the shapy of a shoe as a souvenir from this very nice brewery! I hope to came back there someday!

Helpful?
Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gingerbread beer and beautiful interior”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This mini brewery and restaurant is located in the Old Town of Torun in a really enchanting building. Next to the bar you can sit in 'barrels', in the basement by the barrels. They serve 5 house beers (gingerbread one was delicious!) and food, which was a bit pricey in comparison to other restaurants in Torun. Definitely worth going to, especially if you want to buy their beer in bottles (,33l for 1,5euro).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jan Olbracht Old-Town Brewery also viewed

Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 

Been to Jan Olbracht Old-Town Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing