We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully located hotel”
Review of Gotyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gotyk Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A beautifully located hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel, in the centre of Torun and close to all sites although the Old Town is quite compact. Made very welcome at reception. The hotel seems to occupy two adjacent buildings. We had to walk along a corridor from reception past the restaurant to a lift serving some of the rooms. There may not be a lift in the other section adjacent to reception but no problems accessing our room, by lift or stairs.

The room was extremely spacious with a comfortable queen bed, large table, couch, dresser and wardrobe. Full of character and a nice view from the 2 windows overlooking a quiet cobbled street. Lovely modern bathroom.

Breakfast was included and we were amazed with the selection and quality of the food. Served in a nice downstairs cellar area.

WIFI Internet was good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marakesh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
65
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
1,330 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,717 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Gotyk Hotel is ideally located for sightseeing in this wonderfully historic city. It is two blocks from the Copernicus House and Museum, two blocks from the town square and a number of restaurants, and is in walking distance of every significant place in the old town of Torun. I had the pleasure of staying across the street from the main hotel property, where I had an air conditioned suite, consisting of a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. It was more room than I needed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant served delicious menu items. In addition to the restaurant, this hotel has a meeting room that can handle 50 people and a bar. Breakfast came with the room rate. Should I return to Torun, I would certainly consider staying at the Hotel Gotyk.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite across the street from the main hotel property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Despite mixed reviews, i found this hotel to be welcoming and nicely decorated. From the old suit of armour in the reception area to the rooms themselves. Our room was a twin room and very spacious. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and very clean. There is a small roof terrace for summer evening aperitifs. Breakfast was a little disappointing though - too much meat terrine type dishes catering for the polish taste. If they added some healthier lighter options then this would be sorted! All in all though, well worth the value for 50 euros a night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed in Torun for one night. We had reserved good size apartment with very comfortable king size bed.This room cost you a bit more but is worth it. On the downside, the windows overlook on the street where early in the morning get very busy and you could hear vans and cars driving by. This was very annoying.
Bathroom, good size and very clean with massive bath.

Breakfast.... not much to write about as there was not much to eat.... Very poor choice of food.

Hotel seems ok if you are there for short period.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dariog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I came to this hotel having spent a week in Mexico where people cannot do enough for you. I arrived at this hotel and asked if there was someone to help me with my very heavy suitcase (29kilos) up the stairs - I was told no very abruptly and had to go up two flights of stairs with my case. The room was tiny with an awful single bed that needed a new mattress as it was hard and the springs had gone! There is no laundry service here, they do not clean your sink daily, the walls at paper thin.....anything good.....well torun is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eveysummer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We've stayed there only for one night. I think it is a nice hostel with good location and clean rooms. Especially location is good as this is en excellent place to start you stroll in Old Town. The staff were friendly. Room are not so special, simply they are appriopriate for this price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supergrover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

One of the worst hotel experiences in my life. Extremely bad service.The manager by the name of Lewandowska was especially malignant and unfriendly. Dont go there they dont care about guests at all. Still have a bad taste in my mouth when I think about Gotyk Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hjpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.4 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 24 in Torun
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 24 in Torun
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kopernik Hotel
Kopernik Hotel
#9 of 24 in Torun
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#8 of 24 in Torun
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotyk Hotel

Property: Gotyk Hotel
Address: ul. Piekary 20, Torun 87-100, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gotyk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Gotyk" consists of four the fourteenth century tenement houses. They are located in the Old Town near the Town Hall, the home of Nicolaus Copernicus, the Leaning Tower and other monuments of Torun. We offer our guests 42 rooms with luxury equipment - 83 places (TV, bathroom with shower, WiFi) and 2 aparmtents each with kitchen annex and balconies. We offer 1 conference room up to 30 people. Conference room is equipped with professional equipment necessary to organize professional training and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gotyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing