We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in great location”
Review of Solaris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solaris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Torun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poznan, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice in great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Good hotel located (50m form Torun's Old Market) in old, but well renovated building. Clean room with TV and big bathroom. Good breakfast in summer garden. Noice form night club locadet in cellar can be inconvenience. Not - no care park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
32
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Excellent hotel decor lovely and staff very helpful

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volcane_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My discerning mother found this hotel to be among the most comfortable we stayed in on our tour of Poland. The pillows were excellent, the AC worked well, there was a lift, and the room was very clean, quiet, and large, if a bit tackily decorated. The breakfast buffet was very nice and is served in a lovely room. The location is excellent, just off the main square. Toruń is a lovely town worth a visit for its stunning architecture, which happily survived WWII intact, and I would recommend this hotel, which felt more four star than three star.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLJ-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed in this small Hotel in the older part of town. Nice clean rooms with bidets in the bathroom. We stayed in a lovely top floor bedroom with vaulted ceilings. Breakfast was excelent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_River_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Like most hotels in the Old Town, it is located in a converted historic building, which provides for some spatial compromises. The rooms are of varying sizes - mine was only manageable in size with a large bed occupying most of the floor, while a colleague got a rather spacious one just next door.

The rooms are comfortably equipped. They could use more chairs (though in earnest, there was no room for another chair in my room), if I were to complain about anything. Furnishings and fitouts are of reasonable quality and quite tasteful, although the bathroom had some questionable touches and the shower cabin was neither really watertight (watch out not to slip on wet floor) nor was there ANY place for your toiletries in there (bend over to pick up the soap ;) ).

That said, the bathroom was equipped with the miraculous JAPANESE TOILET SEAT ("washlet") - yeah, the one that does all the neat business and can even be heated. It's the best thing ever, but hard to come accross in Poland, so I was delighted to find it there. Needless to say, it made me an avid fan of the hotel on the spot. The bathroom also features a TV if you'd like to linger on and regal in the toilet seat a bit longer ;)

After continual pertractations with the staff starting from my telephone reservation, I have managed to get early breakfast (a concept that the Polish hospitality industry still battles to grasp) in the form of the full buffet being prepared 45 minutes earlier for me. I don't know if it was a strike of luck or extortion from the kitchen staff, but I was very happy in the end, as the breakfast buffet was MAGNIFICENT. Make sure to try a chocolate roll, they're delicious!

The staff also proved very helpful with some adhesive dressing when I hurt myself trying to climb the steep wooden staircase with exposed brick wall (I now know itt's better to wait for the hotel's singular elevator to arrive in its leisurely pace).

On the other hand, the card reader in my room's door failed, which provided for my trips up and down the stairs trying to re-code the card and finally ending up with an awkward solution involving an emergency key.

Do note there is a "Fashion Club" adjacent and sharing the courtyard, so the noise is audible.

Room Tip: Hit and miss, but you can ask for a swap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This has a superb location in the old town just off the main square.
The building was charming, the staff friendly and our room clean and well appointed. The in house restaurant was both great value and excellent.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VelezGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Solaris is in a small, ancient building at the edge of the Old Town, extensively renovated inside with a distinct artsy design sensibility. Quite a contrast, but we liked this hotel-- and Torun-- so much we stayed over an extra night. Our room was small but nicely appointed with modern furnishings-- even a high-tech Japanese toilet which got my wife thinking we should get one for our house. I was annoyed, though, by the fact that one window curtain did not close effectively, and a shaft of light from the streetlight fell right across my pillow. The receptionist on the first night was unfortunately borderline hostile-- and after we asked for her recommendation for a restaurant with authentic Polish food, she sent us to a noisy chain with hamburgers and pizza. But otherwise the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ample, and the restaurant looked like it might be quite good, though we chose to go out for dinner. The location, while very convenient to the Old Town, was on a quiet side street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torun hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Torun Centrum
0.4 mi away
1231 Hotel
1231 Hotel
#1 of 24 in Torun
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Torun
Ibis Budget Torun
#2 of 24 in Torun
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copernicus Torun Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bulwar
Hotel Bulwar
#8 of 24 in Torun
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gotyk Hotel
Gotyk Hotel
#11 of 24 in Torun
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Hotel

Property: Solaris Hotel
Address: Ul. Panny Marii 9/11, Torun 87-100, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Torun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Torun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solaris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Solaris Hotel, located in the heart of the old town of Torun's.Exceptional location and style of the hotel boutque make the guests from all over the world are found in the seventeenth century the historic walls of a place to relax as well as business meetings and conferences.Relax and let us take care of the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Solaris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing