We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Sphinx, Restauracja
Order Online
Ranked #172 of 257 Restaurants in Torun
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 21, 2019

from the Visited here with a group of friends who had been to other Sphinx restaurants and had enjoyed the experience.The welcome from the staff was not the most welcoming and they took a while to take our food and drinks orders.When they did arrive my lager was flat.My starter of cheesy jalapeno balls was passable.Main courses arrived before the starters had bee cleared from the table.My kebab meat and rice were lukewarm and as I was so hungry I made an effort to eat it but found it impossible.Only 1 person out of the 8 of us seemed to enjoy their meal.Had our table of 4,including an 8 year old had a long walk back to our hotel we would have said something to the staff sure.about the meal.All in all it was very disappointing from start to finish.It seemed that all the staff just wanted to go home although it was neither late nor busy.Could have been enjoyable I am

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

A group of us visited this Sphinx and found the attitude, food and service was terrible. We have visited other Sphinx restaurants and never had a bad one until we visited this one.

I would not recommended going here.

Even a KFC was better than here.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank TopJoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

The menu is huge and this place is good for large parties and if you are dining with kids or teens. Similar to chain places in the states. The service however is a bit slow and they still need to learn that people form the Sates almost always tip -based on service of course. The servers in this place as well as many mid level places in Poland and Prague have apparently not gotten that memo or that service with a smile usually leads to getting more coin in their pockets. This type of let down is still very abundant over there. The fine dining establishments have ironed this out and the service is impeccable. It is also managements fault and this being a chain - should be improved upon to aid in the profits and overall feeling of the place. You cant carry a restaurant on food alone if the service is sub par. Just saying. The one in Krakow also had service issues. The food overall is pretty good for a chain.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We come to Torun every year and make this place our first point of call. Always excellent service and excellent food.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We visited in the evening. Our waiter Mateusz was polite and friendly.We had a mezze for 2 to start which was easily enough for 4. The main followed very quickly we had Lebanese koftas, Chicken liver salad, Chicken Satay with rice. All the dishes were well presented and very tasty. Wine was very reasonably priced. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 766betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sphinx, Restauracja also viewed

Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
Torun, Kuyavia-Pomerania Province
 

Been to Sphinx, Restauracja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing