We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, nice hotel”
Review of Rzymski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rzymski Hotel
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Poznan
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a party of 18 visiting for the Poznan 1/2 marathon. 15 stayed at the Rzymski, 3 at the Novotel. Barb and I did not do the race, just lazy spectators this time. We had a fun time.

Arrival 5/5 - it's a quick and easy cab ride from the airport to the hotel. We picked up a cab at the rank outside the airport, as our pre-arranged one never arrived. 30zl (£6) for 4 persons and luggage. There is a bus service from the airport to Poznan's main station, but then we'd have to get from the station to the hotel, which is a good walk. Check in was fast and friendly, with good English spoken. The entrance and lobby are typical old eastern block style. Big, a bit sparse, but efficient, clean and functional - just like the hotel generally. There is a lift to all floors.

Room 3/5 - we paid £59 per night for a superior room, booked direct through the hotel's website. The room was very large for a city centre, with a high ceiling. A bit old fashioned, but clean and tidy, with everything we needed. Comfy king size bed. We had to ask housekeeping to remake the bed for us, as they had used a single sheet on a double bed, so it did not fit at all. They sorted it out quickly. Not great pillows, but good enough. Complimentary bottles of water and a few sweets. Small fridge. TV with lots international channels. Plenty of storage space. Considering the weather was cold for all of our stay, the room was very warm and we had to turn down the large cast iron radiators - wow those things throw out some heat!! Good double glazing, which kept out most of the city noise below and thick curtains. We did not hear any city noise, as from experience we always wear wax earplugs. We slept very well. Efficient housekeeping.

Bathroom 3/5 - very large. Full size bath with shower. There was a large window by the WC, which though frosted, did not have a blind or curtain. I'm sure you couldn't see in from outside, but it did feel a bit strange. Sufficient toiletries and towels etc.

Public rooms 3/5 - Up some steps from reception is a bar area with a large flat screen TV. Quite pleasant, but it tended to be very smokey. I'm not sure how Europeans get away with smoking in public buildings. Supposedly the laws banning it are pan-European, but no one seems to have told the rest of Europe. As with most EU rules - the UK follows them to the letter, the rest just shrug and ignore them.

Restaurant 4/5 - a large, pleasant but slightly sparse room, where we had dinner one night and 2 breakfasts. Breakfast was good, with a good selection of cereals, juices, cheese, meats, breads etc, and some hot food. I particularly liked the beef sausages - well I think they were beef?? Whatever, they were - very nice. Good coffee.

We had a meal for 17 on our first night. We had the set meal of excellent Polish soup with sausages (or a creamy basil soup), then a very good chicken in a pepper sauce, and a sort of ice cream Sunday to round it off. All very nice and 25zl the lot - fab value, with friendly and efficient service.

Location 5/5 - perfect. A stones throw away from the Old Town square, with tram stops outside the hotel.

Other 5/5 - they will change cash for zl in reception at then same rate as exchange shops. All of the staff we encountered were friendly, welcoming and efficient.

This is a fine hotel for a short stay in Poznan.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are very large for only a little extra. They also have a few apartments here, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is our next autumn trip flight from the UK to Poznan. This time, Rome Hotel 5 days. Great location, center of Poznan. Hotel comfortable, the breakfast was delicious :).
Staff friendly and very helpful. We recommend :).Once again, mega delicious croissants on St. Martin-PL.-Rogale Marcińkowskie:))).We November-2011, the date the option is not possible, so I wrote it here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kornel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Good location. Rooms abit dated but very clean and big. Nice helpful staff. Old market square just a 5 min walk away. the trams are also directly outside so its easy to get around.

The one concern was that one night we went out for a stroll nad we were told to be careful in certain parts near the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelMunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here twice during the euro's first time in a delux twin plus room... huge room very spacious with sofa , table and chairs, fridge, fan and tv along with a lovely bathroom. the second time we stayed in a twin room.. much smaller room so my advice is go for twin plus room.. On each visit rooms were spotless and beds were so comfortable... yes there is some noise from trams and sirens but you get that in any city center. Location is excellent less than 5 minute walk to the old square and trams stop right outside hotel. Also very close to the shops. Breakfast was lovely .. did not try for the cooked breafast instead I opted for the continental breakfast.. great selection of fruit, meats, cheeses and pastries and breads and rolls... Found man who checked us in brilliant very helpful and spoke excellent english.. Internet access available in 2 location in the recption area and at the bar along with wifi in your room... could do with stool at internet desk in reception area though... I needed to print off boarding card and they printed it off free of charge.. no complaints here for this hotel

Room Tip: go for twin plus room.. rooms are lot bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chel_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here during the Euros 2012 football tournment, brilliant spacious room, superb breakfast, courtious service, on the expensive side but then again it was The Euros and the place was packed to the rafters.
Very close to the beautiful Market Square in the Old Town,trams and buses stop right outside the door, would recommend if you are planning to stay in Poznan.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The room that I was assigned was supposed to be non smoking, on fact the smell of smoke was there. Ghe staff was kit too friendly in general. Internet was working well and breakfast was very good. The hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The location is absolutely spot-on, about 5 minutes from the Old Market, clubs, bars and all the places of interest. The staff is warm, welcoming and the service simply very good. The breakfast is OK. The rooms are dated and in my view need some refurbishment but overall I very much enjoyed the stay.
Oh, and there is a great value for money restaurant called Rzymianka.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poznan hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#26 of 74 in Poznan
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kolegiacki
Hotel Kolegiacki
#20 of 74 in Poznan
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Poznan
NH Poznan
#11 of 74 in Poznan
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Solei Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wloski
Hotel Wloski
#13 of 74 in Poznan
235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vivaldi Hotel
Vivaldi Hotel
#5 of 74 in Poznan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rzymski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rzymski Hotel

Address: ul. aleja Karola Marcinkowskiego 22, Poznan 61-827, Poland
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Greater Poland Province > Poznan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Poznan
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rzymski Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rzymski is located in the center of Poznan, next to the Old Town. We offer 140 accommodation places and 43 extra beds in 87 functional rooms for our Guests staying in Poznan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rzymski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rzymski Hotel Poznan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing