We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weird mix of pro's and con's”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Restauracja Polska

Restauracja Polska
Ranked #30 of 340 Restaurants in Lodz
Cuisines: Polish, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A weird mix of pro's and con's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place was recommended by many and - from what I heard - used to be one of the top 3 restaurants in this city. Those times are long gone...
The first impression was fine - the decor refers to early 20th century and the wooden deco seems pretty cosy and stylish. The first unpleasent surprise - when being seated by the table, we noticed awfully dirty tablecloth. Top notch restaurant? Definitely not... Second try - same thing... Disgusting... Third table - clean enough to seat.... Unbelievable! Fortunately, my business partners did not notice. What really surprised was that the restaurant was not busy at all - two waiters could easily spot the spots and have time to change the tableware!
Allright, now the food. Plates nicely decorated, the dishes tasted good, but - again - it was not the "Top 3 in town" quality. Spinach dumplings: some of them were too dry/overcooked and floating in the sea of oily sauce. Meat dumplings: quite ok, but why the meat inside was mashed into single cells, so that the filling reminded more of a sponge?
The desserts were much better, both the "Opium" poppy seed cake and the apple pie.
The service was disappointing - our (quite small) table was filled with wine glasses that we were not using, there were no napkins (we had to "steal" them from another table) and the waiting for the check was too long.
In summary - perhaps a while ago it might have been a fancy restaurant, now it reminded us more of a bar with "ok" food, but not a top notch place for good quality meal during business talks. Sadly, the prices remained high....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Polish cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have eaten here for the last couple of days - sadly quiet at the beginning of the week but excellent service and great food - can recommend the stroganoff and pancakes with mushrooms and proper Polish cheesecake

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrenaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leave the correct money, you will not have the cange back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a late lunch. The food was a litle bit too expensive for what you got. Only one flavour, no vegetables and no bread. When we had payed they realy ignored us. Have to after several tries to be notice (the restaurant was not busy) ask for our change. I realy like to leave what I want to leave for tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miaseamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The decor is top notch. The food is good. The waiter included something on our bill that we did not have, he removed it when we pointed it out. My big complaint with this restaurant is that they have two drinks on their menu with EXACTLY the same name, kir royal, one for 18 zl the other is 58 zl. We ate there twice. During our first visit at lunch, I ordered a kir royal and was charged 18 zl. That's what I expected when I ordered the same thing two days later in the evening. no, that was 58 zl. When we pointed this out to the waiter and other staff, they refused to change the price. As seems to be typical in Poland (we've lived here three years), if you're not happy, managers are nowhere to
be found.

First of all, two prices for things with the same name is sloppy work, and I think the staff should know the menu well enough the clear this up when they take your order.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrakhan, Russia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“High food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place is used to be visited with Polish celebrities, and you can find thepictures inside. The interior is good, The service is excellent.
But what can I say about food? It is rather good. But this is so called "high food" like they give you big plates with small pieces of meat. Servings are not included in the price of the dish. The portions of soups are little as well. So actually when paid rather sufficient amount of money (actualy it was the bigest bill I had in Poland) I left this place a bit hungry ))

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Polska also viewed

 
Lodz, Lodz Province
 

Been to Restauracja Polska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing