We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed views of the hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Bydgoszcz
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed views of the hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for one night in early October, upon arrival I was pleasantly suprised by the modern decor of the hotel reception/ lobby/ bar area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including when rather embarassingly my friend and I were unable to open the door of our room, they sent someone up with us as it seems there was a knack to it which we didn't know! The room was pleasant enough and we had everything we needed. Althought I must admit that it was a slight shame that the rest of the hotel had not been furnished to such a high level as the entrance area.
We had decided that we didn't wish to venture into the city centre so we ate at the hotel bar, the food was pleasant and delivered quite quickly, however during the course of the afternoon/ evening there was one american gentleman and his friend who drank far too much, and I was disappointed to see that despite that fact that he was being rather loud in comparison to everyone else using the area, he was still being served more alcohol by staff, at one point in the evening i got up to make my way to the bar and rather loudly the american man in question made a sexual remark about me and then another comment about my friend, it was quite clear to hear and whilst I was incredibly shocked and angry I decided that I did not want to confront him and cause a scene and I wasn't going to be forced to retreat to my room because of one guest. I was disappointed that no member of staff even had a word with him, even if they just asked him to keep it down it would have been a start and they still continued to serve him alcohol until he eventually left the area of his own accord.
My nights sleep was constantly being interrupted by noise of people talking, machines humming and people walking up and down, maybe it was the location of our room or the place just carries sound, i'm not sure but I was less than refreshed the following day. Breakfast was pleasant and there was a decent variety on offer.
Overall I would say that my experience in this hotel was mixed, would i stay here again? yes possibly, but I would be slightly dubious after this experience and I would not wish to pay as much per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jotrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelRM, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Sir for posting your opinion. We will try to encourage the staff to react more efficient to this kind of situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    84
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
20
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

the hotel is in the center of the city, not new but fresh renovated, free internet - depend which part of the hotel you get- it will be wi-fi or cable net, good breakfast with pleanty of choice, tea and coffee facilities in the room, ecellent staff - very friendly and helpful, speaking good English, we have a lots of fun talking and joking with them - MANY THANKS again;)
We reccommend room no 354 - very spacious, with small jacuzzi in the bath
Also unusual thing - they have possibility to rent a bike! very good idea in rush hour;)

Room Tip: room no 354 - higher standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelRM, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Sir for the nice review. We are really glad to know your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina, Italia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from city center. The room is big and clean with a very good bathroom. Staff is excellent, very helpfull. The breakfast includes sweet and savory. In the Hotel is present also a pub (very slow in preparing food) and a restaurant (better than the pub). It also has a club in the underground, and it works on the week-end.Laundry service is very fast and excellent.
- Internet is not fast and every 30 min you have to reconnect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelRM, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Sir for posting your review. It's very important for us to know your opinion.
Concerning internet connection - we are trying to improve that item.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very clean hotel with good location and walking distance to tourist attractions and shopping center. The staff was very helpfull. Good breakfast. There is a hairdryer and electric kettle in the room. The hotel is quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ania-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a night, and the room was clean and decently sized if somewhat depressingly done up, and bathrooms spacious enough. There was no wifi in the room, but it worked in the breakfast room.
Breakfast was definitely very good- huge selection of hot and cold food, and eggs to order.
The hotel is quite standard for Europe really, if you're on business then it's adequate, but if you want somewhere with a little more character then perhaps you can stay elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank revti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I don't usually post reviews but I have to in this case. I found this a fantastic hotel, the rooms were very clean and spacious, the choice of food at any time of the day or night was amazing. The staff were so friendly courteous and extremely helpful. I was there wth a mixed group including children and everyone just felt so welcome and relaxed. Well done to all the staff there

Room Tip: I had a great room but some were near the night club just ask for a room away from the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annab955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotelRM, Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Madam for posting your review. It will be a pleasure to see you again in The City Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very good value for money, fantastic location. Rooms and about the hotel are spotless clean airy and roomy, everything required for your visit is at hand in your room. The staff could not be any more helpful and friendly, We had food both from the bar menu and restaurant menu and both were top class.It was a home from home experience. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to everything, bus, train, underpass etc. A little downfall was the nightclub beside the hotel, we were on the third floor over the nightclub and the vibration was unreal, but sure enough one word to the hotel and the music was turned down immediately. No further problems, looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms over the nightclub..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrazyKaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bydgoszcz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bohema
Hotel Bohema
#2 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
Holiday Inn Bydgoszcz
#4 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
Mercure Bydgoszcz Sepia
#1 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
Hotel Sloneczny Mlyn
#6 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pod Orlem
Hotel Pod Orlem
#3 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ikar
Hotel Ikar
#8 of 27 in Bydgoszcz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: ul. 3 Maja Nr 6, Bydgoszcz 85-016, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Central Poland > Kuyavia-Pomerania Province > Bydgoszcz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bydgoszcz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bydgoszcz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bydgoszcz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing