We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(yet another) dinner with friends during a business trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandragora Restaurant

Mandragora Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Lublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“(yet another) dinner with friends during a business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This restaurant is in the middle of Lublin, with a dehor on the square that is very nice. It's a Jewish restaurant that follows the rules even if it has not the certification (it is written on the menu). Waitress are dressed with typical clothes and we had the chance to have live music.
We tasted a typical Cholet (that at the end is a "spezzatino con fagioli e patate") and it was hot and very good. They have the lublin beer Perla. So even if there was nothing wonderful or special everything from the meal to the atmosphere was so good that it's maximum rate for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gga95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    122
    33
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super Jewish Restaurant in the Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Traditional Jewish restaurant in the Old Quarter of Lublin. The food was great! Try the Latke appetizer for 30 zlotys (potato pancakes covered in sour cream and raw onions). The atmosphere was nice, albeit a bit cramped. The waitresses spoke English. The wine was Israeli and was very good. The only negative was the kitsch music- the Fiddler on the Roof soundtrack. This wouldn't keep me away though. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

very atmospheric restaurant, best days to dine may be Fri or Sat when more dishes are available. I went for the potato pancakes (with sour cream and raw(!) onions), which I wouldn't really recommend. But the waitress was v. friendly

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lukegriffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We can just say Mazel Tov for this great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We felt directly welcomed when we entered the door. We had booked place in advance and maybe that was good. The food was delicious and generous and we enjoyed the place very much. You could sense that this place took responsibility for the Jewish Cuisine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Introducing tradition & history through a nice food and great music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Mandragora is a charming place. It refers to ‘old’ Lublin and the history of Jewish people who lived there before II world war. Menu introduces Jewish cuisine and a bit of family history. The food is prepared according to Jewish dietary laws, Sabbath laws, holiday rituals as well as local cooking customs and it definitely isn’t an ordinary menu. Nice selection of wine and few local beers are also on the menu. If you are interested in Jewish tradition and music - visit Mandragora during their life music sessions. The only thing which I didn’t like about the place was staff. Girls seemed totally not interested in serving tables, don’t get me wrong - when they showed up, they were lovely however we have waited way too long to order and then to get a bill. Definitely would recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandragora Restaurant also viewed

Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 
Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 
Lublin, Lublin Province
Lublin, Lublin Province
 

Been to Mandragora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing