We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High hopes but green way constantly let me down”
Review of Greenway

Greenway
Ranked #213 of 698 Restaurants in Wroclaw
Cuisines: European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High hopes but green way constantly let me down”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Green way near Rynek for some time had really good food. I used eat there everyday but the crissis hit the owners wallet and from half a year constantly prices are rising, porcion are getting smaller, food is getting worse and the ingredients bad quality. It is annoing also that stuff doesnt know English (stuff changes really often though because Greenway is famous for treating their workers really bad & not paying) and if you count on Menu in English you will be dissapointed. Sometimes they have some leaflets with menu in english but often they do run out of it and than you can have a problem. For all those reasons i dont reccomend greenway. If you want to step by for good soup yes but if you are looking for good quality for good price you will not find it there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sussi_sussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
801 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“2 great plates”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Brilliant!.. We follow the Greenway all over Poland, but not all of them have the same quality. This one was Excellent. We had a delicious lazagna, a great Kofta..and so on... Perfect for a little price...with smiling staff...Please

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, N.Y.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Vegetarian treasure in Wroclaw!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Delicious and creative cuisine! We came upon this restaurant by accident. The salads - fresh, crisp and well presented were outstanding. The main dishes - I had Fitness Plate that was buckwheat, layered with thin vegetables, and slight covering of cheese - were tasty and very good value. Would go there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tymichna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It's more like a bar or diner, not a restaurant - you have to order at a counter, bring your food to the table and after your meal is over return dishes. But the food is simply delicious and cheap, portions are big. They make real wonders from veggies, buckwheat and cheese. Even regular meat-eaters will find something nice to try! The food is fresh, warm and the service usually very quick.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocking_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite veggie restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Poland is not know for vegetarianism, in fact if you ask the average Pole about their national cuisine they will probably proudly tell you that it is heavy on the meat.

So it may come as a surprise that Wroclaw has a couple of great vegetarian restaurants, offering a fantastic variety of Polish and non-Polish vegetarian and vegan faire.

Greenway, situated just off the main market square is probably the best vegetarian restaurant I have been to. It is loved and frequented by veggies and carnivores alike, students and academics, working professionals, pensioners, mothers and babies, even entrepreneurs. Admittedly though, the majority of customers are students, I suppose because it is near the University.

So why is Greenway Wroclaw so good? I think for three simple reasons. Location - it is bang slap in the middle of the town, convenient and easy to find; nestled in a busy side street, it thrives on the buzz of the city.

Secondly, it is cheap. For example vegetable Enchiladas with a kind of salad (very tasty) is about 16zl (about 4 Euros). The portions are large enough so you leave repleted. And if you want the cold hard facts: The lowest price for a main dish seems to be about 11zł (about 3 Euros) and the most expensive is in the region of 20zł. (about 5 Euros)

Last but not least, the food is great. The quality is consistent; they use fresh ingredients (which is not the standard for all restaurants). There is a large vegetarian and vegan choice on the menu, always well prepared and there is an effort to present the food in an attractive way. I had a curry with tofu the other day. It came with couscous and a cabbage salad. Delicious!

Greenway Wroclaw is part of a chain. There is a restaurant in Gdansk and Kraków (perhaps other cities too). Actually, there is a Greenway in the Magnolia Shopping Centre in Wroclaw. Strangely, the food does not match the caliber of the Greenway in the centre. Their grub is slopped onto paper plates and whatever I asked for seemed to be off the menu. Best avoided I think.

The onus is on high class healthy food in the city centre Greenway. I don’t want to say “good and wholesome” because it implies a lack of sophistication, as some of their courses are very delicately and finely flavoured.

On the downside, there can be queues at lunch time at their self service style counter, but you have to wait for you food wherever you go. Sometimes it is difficult to find a table, although I have never waited long to sit down. Occasionally, there terminal doesn’t work so paying by card can be unpredictable.

Greenway are also going to have to face it! They are not going to win a Michelin star or get into Egon Ronay’s guide. It does not have the ambience and cosiness of a romantic bistro, besides it is not open for evening meals. So no candle lit suppers! However, for very very good well priced lunches in a pleasant atmosphere, amiable service, an original and sometimes exotic menu, (palatable for meat eaters); I suggest you will have to go a long way to beat Wroclaw's Greenway.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjadlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway also viewed

Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
Wroclaw, Lower Silesia Province
 

Been to Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing