We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Wroclaw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Academus Pub & Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Wroclaw B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pros:
We really enjoyed our stay at Academus Pub and Apartments. The pub and apartments are situated quite close to the old town square and there are plently of options to eat out nearby if you choose. Alternatively, there is also a reasonable sized supermarket about 7 minutes walk away where you can stock up on your own supplies.

The apartment itself was really good value for what we paid. It was huge, clean, well equipped and furnished and could easily accommodate 4 people. However, I think it is more suited to two persons since the second bedroom faces onto a street that could get noisy with traffic. There is free satellite TV with English channels and wifi throughout the apartment, although the signal is weaker towards the back of the apartment. There is also lift access directly to the apartment, with the front door literally doubling as the door to the lift.

The pub downstairs is also really cosy and nice, with friendly barstaff and we spent quite a while here on our first night.

Cons:
We had some problems getting consistent hot water through the shower, but after fidgeting with the boiler settings we managed to sort it out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peregrine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Academus Pub & Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great apartment which takes up a whole floor of the building. It consists of 2 bedrooms (one double and one twin), a little kitchen, a bathroom and another separate toilet. It's really clean and has everything you could need (apart from a toaster but that's not a big deal), there was even a folded up camper bed so 5 people could stay in this flat (flat number 4). It's also about 2 minutes walk from the main square with all its hundreds of restaurants and bars. At the weekends it gets a little noisy in the front bedroom but you don't hear anything in the back (double) room. On Sunday morning you could hear the singing from the church opposite which was nice. The staff downstairs are all lovely and really helpful, we could leave our suitcases for a while after we checked out which was great. The Academus pub itself is really cosy and has loads of beer (the cherry beer is pretty damn good). I would recommend this to anyone visiting Wroclaw, it was only £40-something per night, absolute bargain. Wroclaw itself is well worth a visit, really beautiful and so lively. Check out Lubu Dubu, the funky little communist bar! And go to Centennial Hall to see the hourly fountain display, it's amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lady_linzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Apartment is located in the city center. Location is superb and convenient for major attractions. Apartment itself is spacious and well equiped. Apartment has private elevator to the pub located on the first floor. It is funny solution, but convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ke1con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband & I stayed 2 nights in mid-May 2012 in Apartment 4. Great location very close to Wroclaw's Rynek square (it's just around a corner & you're there!). Very clean & comfortable. Double bedroom at one end, en suite, plus a living room area with twin beds so would have been good for a group of four or a family (who are okay with sharing the shower/bath room which is off the main bedroom). Also there's an extra WC & sink only room accessible to the living room area without needing to walk through the double bedroom. Plus a kitchen. Friendly reception in the bar on the ground floor. The apartment is one entire floor of the building. It's not a fancy hotel so look elsewhere if that's your thing. But if you want a comfy clean place to stay, well located, with some self catering facilities included, for a sweet price (we paid less than sterling equivalent of £50 per night for the place) - this is the place! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrsBucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

stayed for 3 days in mid may . real friendly people at bar which also is the reception . go up to apartment(no 3) by lift from bar .real huge and clean ,twin bedroom /studio with full kitchen then double bedroom and bathroom at end of corridor.as been said the photos do not do it justice .,has a very homely feel and wish had stayed for few more days.perfect location .the bar is also excellent ,couple of minutes to the river with lots of bars or the main sqare with great resturaunts.wroclaw is amazing,very pretty ,especially on the islands and main square (food drink about half english prices).people real friendly. when we were ther entertainment was on in the main sqare during the eve.highly recomended

Room Tip: choose apartment no 3
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 15GREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here for 3 nights in Apartment 4. Great price. Wonderful location just off main square(Rynek), close to everything. pictures don't do it justice. We could check in early, nice friendly staff. Enjoyed being able to pop back and unwind in the pub or apartment before going out for the evening. Ok it's not some trendy boutique place (like next door) but if you'd rather spend your money on food, beer,sightseeing, shopping then this is the place for you. You have the whole of the floor, narrow building with bedroom and en suite at one end then a room with twin beds, table and chairs and good kitchen facilities. We loved Wroclaw and lets admit it only used the fridge and kettle. There was a tv but didnt even turn it on. Big thank you..graet place

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gailcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Academus. Excellent location a stones throw from the main square, lovely staff and great accomodation. We stayed in apartment 4 and had a double bedroom with on suite bathroom, the living room also provided 2 single beds with TV and kitchen diner with hob, fridge, microwave and there is also a seperate toilet on the landing area.
The lift from the pub downstairs takes you straight up to the entrance of your room a feature we loved.
Staff very friendly and accomodation very clean and well laid out.
Nearby pubs we liked Guinness, Globetrotter, Cafe Artzart, Spiz, Bierhalle to name a few.
Nearby restaurants the usual fast food McDonalds, Pizza Hut, KFC as well as an abundance of up market dining at amazing prices.
Only costs £10 from the airport to the Academus in a cab and for your return there are cabs at the end of the road.
Would highly recommend to couples, families and friends travelling together.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andyh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumedaca, Właściciel at Academus Pub & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wroclaw hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Wroclaw Old Town
0.0 mi away
Patio Hotel
Patio Hotel
#26 of 73 in Wroclaw
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#8 of 73 in Wroclaw
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PURO Hotel
PURO Hotel
#6 of 73 in Wroclaw
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europeum Hotel
Europeum Hotel
#5 of 73 in Wroclaw
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel - Wroclaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academus Pub & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academus Pub & Guest House

Address: ul. Kielbasnicza 23, Wroclaw 50-110, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Wroclaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Wroclaw
Price Range: $40 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academus Pub & Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Guest House and pub, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Academus Pub & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing