We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Beetroot Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boleslawiec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Beetroot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boleslawiec
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

I can't really say much more than has already been said about The Blue Beetroot. MrReaves and I did an overnighter to Poland for the purpose of buying pottery. We checked out this place before we left, but we didn't make reservations. We used TomTom to get us there, and what a great little find! One thing about TomTom in particular: You must enter Boleslawiec Gmina as your city, or you'll never find the strasse listed.
Be aware--It's not located in town or within walking distance of any of the pottery places, but this didn't matter to us. It was quiet there, beautifully restored and an exceptional value. The owners were so pleasant, giving us a printed excel spreadsheet with local pottery factories, glass blowing studios (don't miss that!) and other local things like gas station information. They also provide a wonderful in-room binder filled with local attractions and outings such as mushrooming and sleigh rides that can be coordinated through the inn.
They gave us the option of being charged in dollars, Euro or zloty, which is completely unheard of in Europe.
The hospitality that everyone displayed was some of the best that we've encountered. The food in the restaurant was most excellent, both for supper and for breakfast. While enjoying dinner, we got a chance to chat with other guests there--guests who we ran into several times over while out shopping for pottery the next morning.
Our room was large but cozy with a great big bathroom with separate shower and tub. The bed was not two twins pushed together, but one large mattress (again, unheard of in a lot of places) with bathrobes for each guest and tea service in the room. Brits rejoice!
All in all, I am going to recommend this lovely place to all of my friends who will be venturing to Boleslawiec to buy pottery before they PCS. I hope that MrReaves and I can make it back there one day soon and use it as a home base for exploring more of Poland.

http://www.bluebeetroot.com/home.html

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_belle35758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    39
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
122
83
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

We were happy to find The Blue Beetroot in the country, just outside of Bolesławiec. Our room was attractive, comfortable and nice sized, with a big, modern bathroom. It was so restful and pretty that our first thought was to change our schedule to stay an extra day. The hotel is a wonderful restoration of a large building that was a barn. It is charming and interesting and everyone was so helpful, including giving us directions and maps to the various ceramic factories, including parking areas in Bolesławiec, which is helpful in Poland. We will be back, for sure, and have already told a lot of friends about it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob and Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Wonderful little Inn packed w/ many amenities. Gracious owners who are helpful with shopping/activity suggestions in the area, very friendly multi linguial staff, wonderful food and possibility of culinary classes to recreate the delicious traditional Polish foods available; spa services that include in room massage; pedicures and manicures at a bargain rate. Comfortable, clean spacious rooms in a beautifully restored stone and half timber building. Short drive to all the Polish pottery shops one could ever want or need. Already planning my next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Blue Beetroot and wish we could have stayed longer. The Inn has to be seen to be believed. A wonderful, warm and cozy place, beautifully renovated with great food and a staff that makes you feel like you are visiting family rather than staying at a hotel. John and Barbara were the most wonderful hosts and even took our children on a pony trek into the woods behind the inn. They have a small donkey that melts your heart and both our children fell in love with him. I would recommend this inn to everyone, whether you go to search for pottery in the local area or head into Wroclaw to soak in some Polish culture, the Blue Beetroot makes your stay an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WozFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Blue Beetroot in July and can't say enough good things about it. Our rooms were wonderful. We had a master bedroom and a second room that had three twin beds and a sitting area with two leather couches. This is the most comfortable place we have stayed, maybe ever. Usually you get one comfortable chair in the room; but, at the Blue Beetroot, our whole family was able to sit together and enjoy watching a movie. The room had a TV and DVD player, and there were lots of movies on the bookcase in the common area for patrons to borrow.

Another huge plus about the Blue Beetroot is the restaurant. The menu has so many choices, and we were all happy with are meals. Our waitress couldn't have been more pleasant. Breakfast is also available.

As for the staff, owners John and Barbara are the best. They really made us feel at home. Barbara even took my daughters out to the barn to feed her donkey and horse. Jarek, a staff member, was very pleasant and helped us with shopping and tourist tips. If you are headed to Boleslawiec or anywhere nearby, stay at the Blue Beetroot. You will be happy that you did, and you will want to go back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3NewEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

I must ditto all of the other reviews! I have been to Boleslawiec over 5 times for Polish pottery shopping and each time have stayed in a different place but no longer! The hotel is easy to find right off the main road. Gated parking area. Friendly staff ready to handle any request...they even gave guests a printout of all the pottery shops in the area with their recommendations. Perogies were the best!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pindawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

To say the Blue Beetroot is wonderful is an understatement. Barbara and John were the best hosts you could imagine. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The completely restored 16th century building provided comfortable beds, modern bathing facilities and many more amenities -- manicures/pedicures, massages and more. You will not find a better atmosphere anywhere!! We will definitely return!!

R and R Simmons, Heidelberg, DE

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boleslawiec
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel
Protea Hotel
#2 of 5 in Boleslawiec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#3 of 5 in Boleslawiec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Zamek Kliczkow Centrum Konferencyjno-Wypoczynkowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hotel Palac Krotoszyce
Hotel Palac Krotoszyce
#1 of 1 in Krotoszyce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ambasada Hotel
Ambasada Hotel
#1 of 11 in Boleslawiec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gospoda Kruszyna
Gospoda Kruszyna
#2 of 11 in Boleslawiec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Beetroot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Beetroot Hotel

Property: The Blue Beetroot Hotel
Address: Laziska 50, Boleslawiec 59-700, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lower Silesia Province > Boleslawiec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boleslawiec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Blue Beetroot Hotel Boleslawiec
Blue Beetroot Boleslawiec
Blue Beetroot Hotel Boleslawiec
The Blue Beetroot Hotel Poland/Boleslawiec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing