We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a lovely part of Poland”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
198 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a lovely part of Poland”
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Thomson Lakes & Mountains currently offer 3 hotels in Zakopane – Czarny Potok, Litwor and Belvedere. We chose the Belvedere because it had better reviews on Trip Advisor, and also because it was the nearest to the national park. The Litwor is right in the centre of town, but we preferred the quieter area that both the Belvedere and Czarny Potok were in. When we booked, Thomson had apparently run out of their allocation of standard rooms, so we had to pay a bit extra for a room with a balcony. This turned out to be a great idea, as we spent quite a bit of our time sat reading on the balcony. We also had both a window and a balcony door, which helped keep the room nice and cool as there was no air-conditioning. Despite only paying for a double room, we ended up with a double and a single bed and therefore had a lot of space for all our stuff. The bathroom only had a shower though, but this wasn’t a problem for us. The hotel guide stated that the mini bar was not to be used for keeping personal drinks in, but no-one actually seemed to mind us using it.

We stayed on a half board basis and so had breakfast in the Wieniawa restaurant and dinner in the Ziemianska restaurant each day. We really couldn’t fault the food and service in either restaurant, but it was particularly good in the Ziemianska. We were offered a 4 course set dinner every night, with only a choice of 2 main courses. We felt that 4 courses were too much, so each night we would only pick 3 off the menu and the hotel were absolutely fine about this. The food was probably some of the best we’ve ever had in a hotel. Our rep offered us the option of swapping one dinner at the hotel for one in the nearby Czarci Jar restaurant, which is owned by the same company. This wasn’t a very good experience though as we had no choice of food and it was just plonked down in front of us. It was also cold in there and the radio was blaring in the background. We wished we had just stayed at the hotel!

We drank in the hotel bar a couple of times and found the vodka to be very reasonably priced, whereas the wine was very expensive. This seemed to be the case everywhere we went though so maybe it was due to import taxes or something. There is a small bowling alley in the U-Boot bar but it cost 60PLN (£12) for 1 hr so we didn’t bother with it. We made a lot of use of the swimming pool complex though – it includes a pool, Jacuzzi, slide, steam rooms and saunas and was very relaxing after a day of walking. The nearest National Park Entrance is only 10 mins from the hotel and the town centre is about the same distance in the opposite direction.

The hotel is very well decorated and maintained and we found the staff to be very efficient and helpful. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a good quality hotel in Zakopane.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    143
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
161
118
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I recommand this hotel. The staf is very helpful and nice. Everything is new and clean. The hotel is not cheap, but it worth to spend money. There is a very good wellness center in the hotel. But be prepared - 15 minutes walk to the city center, the parking is not free (30zl/day), there is no coffee/tea facilities in the room - that disappointed me.

  • Liked — nice staff
  • Disliked — lack of coffee/tea facilities in the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ania-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

This Hotel is simply the best Hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world and I am a regular traveller. The room was huge, clean and well decorated. There is a balcony which is also large enough for a family.
The Hotel has an excellent pool, Slide, Sauna, Steam Room, Turkish Bath, plunge pool and Jacuzzi. It also boasts a Gym, Bowling alley and pool table in the basement along with a bar that is open till late.
The breakfast is superb with a great variety and you will not have to eat for many hours if you stock up in the morning.
The location is good it is not to central but within 5-10 minutes walk from the centre where the bus station, many restraunts and bars are located. I am a novice skier so I went to the Ski school with my wife and it took approx. 15-20 mins nice stroll in the snow. There is the national park just out the back of the hotel for walkers which is an excellent walk in the winter along the streams. I hear it is just as beautiful in the summer although I am sure it looks very different compared to waling in 1 metre snow. All in all this is a fantastic get away that provides ultimate relaxation along with many activities I came back feeling so fit and healthy from the holiday but also totally relaxed.

  • Liked — The room was huge, the spa has everything, the gym, the bar, the location, the food all excellent.
  • Disliked — The staff - the receptionists were not the most helpful and seemed a miserable bunch.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hignetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleland Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2008

excellent hotel short walk from the main street The staff were very friendly and the food quite delicious. The room was large and very clean with a wonderful view of the mountains. The hotel has a terrace bar which also has wonderful views and a delightful place to have lunch.My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary during our stay. I ordered roses for our breakfast table for that morning. The roses were ther and the staff had resereved us a table.On our return to our room we also recieved a basket of fruit and wine. To top it all the hotel would not accept payment for the flowers and advised this was agift from the hotel. A wonderful place to stay and I would certainly use the hotel again. The one negative point would be that the room did not have an actual shower but with the large bath this could be overlooked.

  • Liked — The location and excellent food
  • Disliked — No shower in the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnniebhoy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Very nice hotel, good conference facilities and nice restaurants. Good but not ideal, location (15-minutes' walk from the heart of Zakopane) in a quiet part of the town. SPA facilities not impressive but safisfactory. However, it's a huge hotel so if you are looking for something that has it's charm, this one probably wouldn't be the best choice for you.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssylwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

This is a marvellous hotel in a beautiful location, not quite in the middle of Zakopane but hardly too far away and with delightful views of the Tatras. The hotel is spread out horizontally rather than vertically, so some of the rooms can be some distance away from the reception area. The rooms are very well fitted out and have a very appropriate mountain chalet feel without losing the amenities of a quality hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel other than the breakfast which was quite excellent so would have done if time had permitted.

Leisure facilities are excellent - these include a swimming pool and very well-equipped games bar and is clearly designed to minimise the need to go outside. Yet Zakopane is a delightful little town with enough to see over a few days, excellent winter sports and nice bars and restaurants. Even if you don't want to climb any of the hills, the funicular on the other side of the valley is worth it for the views.

It's not absolutely perfect. You generally expect hotels in this bracket to serve you a drink after midnight (we were on a boys' trip). Elements of the service suffer from the not-my-job-mate type of ethic which seems a little more common in Poland than elsewhere. But these are just minor quibbles. I would like to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank The_Chancellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Belvedere, and found it surpassed many 4 star hotels we have visited in the UK. The hotel's reception, lounge, bar area and Viennese café are all elegantly decorated and the array of artistic fresh flower arrangements which continually changed were a very nice touch.

We had a standard room which was clean, modern, with a very comfortable bed. It did not have air-conditioning which might have been a problem had the weather been warmer. There was a large fridge in which you could store your own drinks. Breakfast was superb and offered the usual cereal, egg, sausage, pastries and fresh fruit options as well as a variety of local delicacies and cakes.

We made the most of the pool and spa facilities, which were excellent. The pool was large and had sauna, jacuzzi, steam rooms and even a water slide and aquarium. Treatments were very well priced in comparison to UK prices. The hotel was fully covered by free wi-fi, which was handy, and there were numerous bars, including the opportunity to play pool, golf and even ten pin bowling.

The hotel is located in a quiet part of town, about 10 minutes walk from Krupowki, the main street of restaurants and shops. Only metres from the hotel (turn left out of the main entrance) is the entrance to an area of national park, offering exhilarating forest walks. Located here is also a good restaurant "Karczma Bialy Potok" which we found on our last night and where we had a hearty feast accompanied by a jovial local band - the kind of thing which is commonplace in the area. Try the house honey vodka!

We would definitely not hesitate to return to the Belvedere if visiting Zakopane again.

  • Liked — The variety of activities available
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zippymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
0.7 mi away
Aries Hotel & Spa
Aries Hotel & Spa
#1 of 67 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 67 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Nosalowy Dwor
Grand Nosalowy Dwor
#10 of 67 in Zakopane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tatra Chalet
Tatra Chalet
#6 of 67 in Zakopane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#4 of 67 in Zakopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Litwor Hotel
Litwor Hotel
#8 of 67 in Zakopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Property: Belvedere Hotel
Address: ul. Droga do Bialego 3, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zakopane
#3 Spa Hotel in Zakopane
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zakopane
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zakopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvedere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the key assets of the Belvedere Hotel is its regional restaurant, which serves delicious alpine cuisine. Beautiful, decorated as a highlander chamber place with tables and benches made from whitewood, soft cushions on the benches and hand-made figurines of angels and light blue decorations in the fireplace, make a very special atmosphere. The restaurant is connected with a large wooden observation deck which offers a unique panorama of the Tatra Mauntains. Our priority is our guests' comfort. That is why ambiance of the hotel is so important for us, which we believe it is created especially by people working there. We rely on the friendly and efficient staff - the people for whom performed work is their passion. We make every effort to continually improve the quality of our service and thereby provide you with the highest comfort of your stay. Hotel Belvedere is located in the immediate vicinity of the Tatra National Park and one of the most beautiful valleys - the Dolina Bialego Valley. At the same time it is in the center of Zakopane. From its balconies and terrace of Restauracja pod Aniolem is a magnificent panoramic view of the Tatra Mountains - Giewont, Nosal up to Gubalówka. We can say that children feel like home in our hotel and very often they convince their parents to visit the Hotel Belvedere in Zakopane. During several stays within a year, we can see them grow. We know them and they know us. With our young clients in mind, we have created a special program called Trip Kids Zone in each hotel of the Trip Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Zakopane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing