We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!Friendly staff!!!”
Review of Hotel Skalny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Skalny
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Zakopane
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!Friendly staff!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Skalny in Zakopane two nights in July 2009. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the center of town and it is a haven. It's set back from the street and there was virtually no noise in the evenings. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was great!!! We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
58
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Skalny in Zakopane two nights in August 2012. We thought the "bad" news was that the hotel is not in the center of town, but that turned out to be the very good news! The hotel is in a residential/commercial area (with a few options for restaurants close by) about 20 minutes' walk from the hectic and overcrowded center of town. There are lots of people around--Zakopane is a destination for so many people that there are always people nearby--but the hotel is a haven. It's set back from the street and there was virtually no noise in the evenings. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and comfortable (if only average-sized), and the dining room offers a hearty breakfast. We also had dinner there one night and it was really quite good. The hotel offers ample free parking away from the street, too--an added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kensing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After a day of hiking and dinner around Krupowki, you do not want to hike some more. It is not really a problem since busses run quite frequently in daytime but not so at night. Otherwise Skalny is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Skalny March 2011 during a ski tip. Spacious clean room. Very good heating system, plus underfloor heating in the bathroom. Staff on reception friendly & helpfull. Breakfast has all the basics, plus you can ask them to cook you eggs of your choice. Just dont ask for a omlette, as they'll serve it like a pancake with whiped cream & tinned fruit on top - which was very odd. The spa / pool was clean & we used it several times. I would say its an averge to good 3* Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at hotel skalny for three nights in June. The hotel is some distance away from the town centre, but is situated at the base of the local mountains with stunning views from our balcony and the surrounding countryside. We asked to be moved from the first room which we were allocated because of a broken blind, and this was done very quickly with the minimum of fuss. The room itself was very comfortable, quite spacious with the interior clad in wood, ski-lodge style. Bathroom was large and clean with a power-shower cubicle. The only downside was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was a standard continental-style buffet and pretty good overall. Although we didn't use the swimming pool/sauna we had a good look at them and the they seemed well maintained and clean. The hotel is around 30 minutes walk from Krupowski Street in the town centre through some lovely countryside. We also booked a day long excursion from one of the many outlets on Krupowski Sreet doing river rafting which was v. enjoyable (river not rough- good for sightseeing) and good value at 100zl each. Taxi from the coach station to the hotel 20zl each way. Overall a nice place, would go back in summer, but a little far out from the town centre once you've had a few beers. Zakopane itself is great place to visit for 2-3 days and easy to get to by coach from Krakow- coaches run regularly even on Sundays, and cost 18zl for a single ticket. Would definitely go back to Hotel Skalny and Zakopane itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We spent the first week of March 2010 at Hotel Skalny. The purpose of the stay was a leisure connected with plans of starting to learn our 3-year daughter to ski.
As skiing hills are scatterd in whole Zakopane the location was not the most important issue. For those who do not walk I recommend to choose a place closer to Krupowki St.

Overall impression is very satisfactionary. Starting with good variety of tasty food with breakfast, followed by visits to various ski places, we usually finisghed out days at Hotel Skalny.
Nice restaurant offer, comfy lobby bar, clean and relaxing SPA
with additional kids rooms, pool table were exactly what we needed for a nice family one week stay.

One disadvantage mentioned before by somebody else : electic plugs in walls should be immediately replaced.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valkirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed in a 2 room apartment which was spacious and simply furnished in modern style. All timber is clean cut pine which gives a warm ambience to the hotel. Service was friendly and helpful. Facilities are excellent. The location is about 20 to 25 minutes walk from Zakopane centre but taxis are cheap. There are many things to do in this recreational area of southern Poland. We opted for hiking, sightseeing and cycling (nearby bike hire was cheap) in September. In winter, snow based activities abound. We travelled from Kracow to Zakopane by train - brilliant and cheap!
We liked - the hotel facilies
We disliked - nothing

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zakopane hotels
2.3 mi away
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
Mercure Kasprowy Zakopane
#6 of 67 in Zakopane
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aries Hotel & Spa
Aries Hotel & Spa
#1 of 67 in Zakopane
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Stamary
Grand Hotel Stamary
#2 of 67 in Zakopane
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Redyk Ski&Relax
Redyk Ski&Relax
#3 of 67 in Zakopane
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Nosalowy Dwor
Grand Nosalowy Dwor
#8 of 67 in Zakopane
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karolowka Hotel
Karolowka Hotel
#20 of 67 in Zakopane
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skalny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skalny

Property: Hotel Skalny
Address: ul. Pardalowka 3B, Zakopane 34-500, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Zakopane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Zakopane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skalny 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skalny Hotel *** is situated in the picturesque area of ​​Zakopane, near the National Park and hiking trails. Nearby are the professional cross-country skiing and ski slopes, ie. Nosal, Koziniec, Antalowka. The cozy ambience and family atmosphere make it the ideal place for a holiday at any time of the year. During your stay, everyone will find here your favorite form of activity. Big advantage is fenced and nicely landscaped garden with playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Skalny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing